tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

GAETS (THE INSIGHT)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

Gaets from the French post-punk band 'The Insight' is another musician who wants to share with us those precious ten albums that changed his life.

1. JOY DIVISION - Closer
This is the album that had the most influence on me. When poetry meets post-punk music. Always on the razor's edge, precarious balance, emotions and rage. This is what I want to hear from a band.

2. THE CURE- Pornography
Another album in which you feel all the rage and it is like the band has reached the point of no return. I was 15 when I heard this for the first time.

3. THE CURE - Carnage Visors
This is not an album, but as this track is running above 28 minutes, I must mention it as something that really changed my music life. Everything in this track is brilliant. Robert Smith's guitar and Simon Gallup 's bass are awesome. A very great atmosphere from start to finish.

4. PINK FLOYD - The Dark Side of the Moon
I like to lie on my sofa, close my eyes and listen to this album.

5. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Another dark album I used to listen to when I was young. What surprised me was Robin Guthrie's guitar and Elisabeth Frazer 's voice. The track "blind dumb deaf" at the "BBC sessions" is very well played.

6. INTERPOL - Turn on the Bright Light.
I was driving to work when I heard Untitled on a local radio station. I remember saying OMG, isn't this band very much inspired by Joy Division?? A few month after, I saw them, before their gig in Rennes. Awesome gig.

7. MASSIVE ATTACK - Mezzanine
This is one of my favorites from the band. Dark ambiance. Hypnotic electronics beats are a very good "source of inspiration".

8. EDITORS - The Weight of Your Love
I particularly like this album for the production. All the songs are very well recorded and the sound is absolutly amazing. Saw them during their tour... very amazing on stage.

9. RIDE - Nowhere
It is a discovery of my best friend. We were young and this shoegaze sound is amazing. I remember listening to this album at night in the garden of my parent's house.

10. A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS - Exploding Heads
This one is a discovery of my brother (the drummer of The Insight). I was not awared that this band was playing so loud on stage. Massive bass and exploding guitares...

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/08/2015


29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT
18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!