tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

GAETS (THE INSIGHT)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

Gaets from the French post-punk band 'The Insight' is another musician who wants to share with us those precious ten albums that changed his life.

1. JOY DIVISION - Closer
This is the album that had the most influence on me. When poetry meets post-punk music. Always on the razor's edge, precarious balance, emotions and rage. This is what I want to hear from a band.

2. THE CURE- Pornography
Another album in which you feel all the rage and it is like the band has reached the point of no return. I was 15 when I heard this for the first time.

3. THE CURE - Carnage Visors
This is not an album, but as this track is running above 28 minutes, I must mention it as something that really changed my music life. Everything in this track is brilliant. Robert Smith's guitar and Simon Gallup 's bass are awesome. A very great atmosphere from start to finish.

4. PINK FLOYD - The Dark Side of the Moon
I like to lie on my sofa, close my eyes and listen to this album.

5. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Another dark album I used to listen to when I was young. What surprised me was Robin Guthrie's guitar and Elisabeth Frazer 's voice. The track "blind dumb deaf" at the "BBC sessions" is very well played.

6. INTERPOL - Turn on the Bright Light.
I was driving to work when I heard Untitled on a local radio station. I remember saying OMG, isn't this band very much inspired by Joy Division?? A few month after, I saw them, before their gig in Rennes. Awesome gig.

7. MASSIVE ATTACK - Mezzanine
This is one of my favorites from the band. Dark ambiance. Hypnotic electronics beats are a very good "source of inspiration".

8. EDITORS - The Weight of Your Love
I particularly like this album for the production. All the songs are very well recorded and the sound is absolutly amazing. Saw them during their tour... very amazing on stage.

9. RIDE - Nowhere
It is a discovery of my best friend. We were young and this shoegaze sound is amazing. I remember listening to this album at night in the garden of my parent's house.

10. A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS - Exploding Heads
This one is a discovery of my brother (the drummer of The Insight). I was not awared that this band was playing so loud on stage. Massive bass and exploding guitares...

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/08/2015


29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House