tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

GAETS (THE INSIGHT)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

Gaets from the French post-punk band 'The Insight' is another musician who wants to share with us those precious ten albums that changed his life.

1. JOY DIVISION - Closer
This is the album that had the most influence on me. When poetry meets post-punk music. Always on the razor's edge, precarious balance, emotions and rage. This is what I want to hear from a band.

2. THE CURE- Pornography
Another album in which you feel all the rage and it is like the band has reached the point of no return. I was 15 when I heard this for the first time.

3. THE CURE - Carnage Visors
This is not an album, but as this track is running above 28 minutes, I must mention it as something that really changed my music life. Everything in this track is brilliant. Robert Smith's guitar and Simon Gallup 's bass are awesome. A very great atmosphere from start to finish.

4. PINK FLOYD - The Dark Side of the Moon
I like to lie on my sofa, close my eyes and listen to this album.

5. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Another dark album I used to listen to when I was young. What surprised me was Robin Guthrie's guitar and Elisabeth Frazer 's voice. The track "blind dumb deaf" at the "BBC sessions" is very well played.

6. INTERPOL - Turn on the Bright Light.
I was driving to work when I heard Untitled on a local radio station. I remember saying OMG, isn't this band very much inspired by Joy Division?? A few month after, I saw them, before their gig in Rennes. Awesome gig.

7. MASSIVE ATTACK - Mezzanine
This is one of my favorites from the band. Dark ambiance. Hypnotic electronics beats are a very good "source of inspiration".

8. EDITORS - The Weight of Your Love
I particularly like this album for the production. All the songs are very well recorded and the sound is absolutly amazing. Saw them during their tour... very amazing on stage.

9. RIDE - Nowhere
It is a discovery of my best friend. We were young and this shoegaze sound is amazing. I remember listening to this album at night in the garden of my parent's house.

10. A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS - Exploding Heads
This one is a discovery of my brother (the drummer of The Insight). I was not awared that this band was playing so loud on stage. Massive bass and exploding guitares...

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/08/2015


29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell