tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

GAETS (THE INSIGHT)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

Gaets from the French post-punk band 'The Insight' is another musician who wants to share with us those precious ten albums that changed his life.

1. JOY DIVISION - Closer
This is the album that had the most influence on me. When poetry meets post-punk music. Always on the razor's edge, precarious balance, emotions and rage. This is what I want to hear from a band.

2. THE CURE- Pornography
Another album in which you feel all the rage and it is like the band has reached the point of no return. I was 15 when I heard this for the first time.

3. THE CURE - Carnage Visors
This is not an album, but as this track is running above 28 minutes, I must mention it as something that really changed my music life. Everything in this track is brilliant. Robert Smith's guitar and Simon Gallup 's bass are awesome. A very great atmosphere from start to finish.

4. PINK FLOYD - The Dark Side of the Moon
I like to lie on my sofa, close my eyes and listen to this album.

5. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Another dark album I used to listen to when I was young. What surprised me was Robin Guthrie's guitar and Elisabeth Frazer 's voice. The track "blind dumb deaf" at the "BBC sessions" is very well played.

6. INTERPOL - Turn on the Bright Light.
I was driving to work when I heard Untitled on a local radio station. I remember saying OMG, isn't this band very much inspired by Joy Division?? A few month after, I saw them, before their gig in Rennes. Awesome gig.

7. MASSIVE ATTACK - Mezzanine
This is one of my favorites from the band. Dark ambiance. Hypnotic electronics beats are a very good "source of inspiration".

8. EDITORS - The Weight of Your Love
I particularly like this album for the production. All the songs are very well recorded and the sound is absolutly amazing. Saw them during their tour... very amazing on stage.

9. RIDE - Nowhere
It is a discovery of my best friend. We were young and this shoegaze sound is amazing. I remember listening to this album at night in the garden of my parent's house.

10. A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS - Exploding Heads
This one is a discovery of my brother (the drummer of The Insight). I was not awared that this band was playing so loud on stage. Massive bass and exploding guitares...

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/08/2015


29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer