tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : GARCONS COIFFEURS - The Early Years 2005-2010

GARCONS COIFFEURS

The Early Years 2005-2010

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Infrastition
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This quartet obviously has to blame itself, because if you decide to name your musical project Garçons Coiffeurs, then automatically many eyebrows frown. It does indeed sound a little bit silly, even a bit like Partenaire Particulier or Début de Soirée. Do not worry though, it's just the group's name, the eleven tracks by this foursome from Nice are delicious synthpop with a nod to the cold wave and the best from the 80s.

Also the title of the CD will mislead the listener, because it gives him the illusion that these tracks are lost recordings or so. This is just the first CD of Garçons Coiffeurs with songs that have been recorded between 2005 and 2010. That's all. Or maybe not, because the eleven songs you hear on this album all sound irresistible.

Only the second song Sequelles might make you think that these French will bring you some post punk (with a label like Infrastition that is quite possible), but no, Garçons Coiffeurs creates sublime synthpop that can be situated somewhere in the line of Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, the early years of Indochine and A Flock Of Seagulls (during their gig, they play Messages, so this comparison is not so out of place).

Sometimes you hear something of The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur has these typical Cure synths from the mid 80s) and Spectateur is punky, so you start muttering the name of Berurier Noir.

No, it's not the kind of music that you normally would associate with a male hairdresser (what can you associate it with anyway?), but The Early Years 2005-2010 is a very nice CD, full of sublime 80s sounds.

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Dit viertal heeft het natuurlijk grotendeels aan zichzelf te danken, want een band die ooit beslist om als Garçons Coiffeurs door het leven te gaan, zorgt er automatisch voor dat menig wenkbrauwen fronsen. Het klinkt inderdaad een beetje lullig, zelfs een beetje zoals Partenaire Particulier of Début de Soirée. Geen nood echter, het is alleen maar de groepsnaam, want de elf tracks die dit viertal uit Nice brengt, zijn overheerlijke synthpop met een knipoog naar de coldwave en het leukste uit de jaren 80.

Ook de titel van de cd zet de luisteraar op het verkeerde been, want het geeft hem de illusie dat het om verloren opnames gaat of zo, maar neen hoor, dit is gewoon de eerste plaat van Garçons Coiffeurs met nummers die zijn opgenomen in de tijdspanne tussen 2005 en 2010. Dat is alles. Of toch niet, want de elf nummers die je op dit schijfje hoort hebben allemaal iets onweerstaanbaars.

Alleen het tweede nummer Sequelles laat je denken dat deze Fransen punkachtige postpunk zullen brengen (met een label als Infrastition is dat immers goed mogelijk), maar neen hoor, Garçons Coiffeurs maken sublieme synthpop die ergens in de lijn ligt van Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, de beginjaren van Indochine en A Flock Of Seagulls (de heren coveren tijdens hun optredens Messages, dus deze vergelijking is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen).

Soms hoor je ook wat van The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur bezit de typische Cure-synths uit het midden van de jaren 80) of krijgt Spectateur een punkjasje waardoor je binnensmonds de naam Bérurier Noir begint te prevelen.

Neen, het is niet het soort muziek dat je normaal met een herenkapper associeert (waarmee kan je dat trouwens wel associëren?), maar The Early Years 2005-2010 is een zeer fijn plaatje vol sublieme 80s-klanken. Zet de titel maar in je brief aan de heilige man die geschenken in je schoorsteen gooit!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design