tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : GARCONS COIFFEURS - The Early Years 2005-2010

GARCONS COIFFEURS

The Early Years 2005-2010

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Infrastition
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This quartet obviously has to blame itself, because if you decide to name your musical project Garçons Coiffeurs, then automatically many eyebrows frown. It does indeed sound a little bit silly, even a bit like Partenaire Particulier or Début de Soirée. Do not worry though, it's just the group's name, the eleven tracks by this foursome from Nice are delicious synthpop with a nod to the cold wave and the best from the 80s.

Also the title of the CD will mislead the listener, because it gives him the illusion that these tracks are lost recordings or so. This is just the first CD of Garçons Coiffeurs with songs that have been recorded between 2005 and 2010. That's all. Or maybe not, because the eleven songs you hear on this album all sound irresistible.

Only the second song Sequelles might make you think that these French will bring you some post punk (with a label like Infrastition that is quite possible), but no, Garçons Coiffeurs creates sublime synthpop that can be situated somewhere in the line of Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, the early years of Indochine and A Flock Of Seagulls (during their gig, they play Messages, so this comparison is not so out of place).

Sometimes you hear something of The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur has these typical Cure synths from the mid 80s) and Spectateur is punky, so you start muttering the name of Berurier Noir.

No, it's not the kind of music that you normally would associate with a male hairdresser (what can you associate it with anyway?), but The Early Years 2005-2010 is a very nice CD, full of sublime 80s sounds.

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Dit viertal heeft het natuurlijk grotendeels aan zichzelf te danken, want een band die ooit beslist om als Garçons Coiffeurs door het leven te gaan, zorgt er automatisch voor dat menig wenkbrauwen fronsen. Het klinkt inderdaad een beetje lullig, zelfs een beetje zoals Partenaire Particulier of Début de Soirée. Geen nood echter, het is alleen maar de groepsnaam, want de elf tracks die dit viertal uit Nice brengt, zijn overheerlijke synthpop met een knipoog naar de coldwave en het leukste uit de jaren 80.

Ook de titel van de cd zet de luisteraar op het verkeerde been, want het geeft hem de illusie dat het om verloren opnames gaat of zo, maar neen hoor, dit is gewoon de eerste plaat van Garçons Coiffeurs met nummers die zijn opgenomen in de tijdspanne tussen 2005 en 2010. Dat is alles. Of toch niet, want de elf nummers die je op dit schijfje hoort hebben allemaal iets onweerstaanbaars.

Alleen het tweede nummer Sequelles laat je denken dat deze Fransen punkachtige postpunk zullen brengen (met een label als Infrastition is dat immers goed mogelijk), maar neen hoor, Garçons Coiffeurs maken sublieme synthpop die ergens in de lijn ligt van Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, de beginjaren van Indochine en A Flock Of Seagulls (de heren coveren tijdens hun optredens Messages, dus deze vergelijking is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen).

Soms hoor je ook wat van The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur bezit de typische Cure-synths uit het midden van de jaren 80) of krijgt Spectateur een punkjasje waardoor je binnensmonds de naam Bérurier Noir begint te prevelen.

Neen, het is niet het soort muziek dat je normaal met een herenkapper associeert (waarmee kan je dat trouwens wel associëren?), maar The Early Years 2005-2010 is een zeer fijn plaatje vol sublieme 80s-klanken. Zet de titel maar in je brief aan de heilige man die geschenken in je schoorsteen gooit!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me