tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

08/11/2015 : GARCONS COIFFEURS - The Early Years 2005-2010

GARCONS COIFFEURS

The Early Years 2005-2010

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Infrastition
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This quartet obviously has to blame itself, because if you decide to name your musical project Garçons Coiffeurs, then automatically many eyebrows frown. It does indeed sound a little bit silly, even a bit like Partenaire Particulier or Début de Soirée. Do not worry though, it's just the group's name, the eleven tracks by this foursome from Nice are delicious synthpop with a nod to the cold wave and the best from the 80s.

Also the title of the CD will mislead the listener, because it gives him the illusion that these tracks are lost recordings or so. This is just the first CD of Garçons Coiffeurs with songs that have been recorded between 2005 and 2010. That's all. Or maybe not, because the eleven songs you hear on this album all sound irresistible.

Only the second song Sequelles might make you think that these French will bring you some post punk (with a label like Infrastition that is quite possible), but no, Garçons Coiffeurs creates sublime synthpop that can be situated somewhere in the line of Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, the early years of Indochine and A Flock Of Seagulls (during their gig, they play Messages, so this comparison is not so out of place).

Sometimes you hear something of The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur has these typical Cure synths from the mid 80s) and Spectateur is punky, so you start muttering the name of Berurier Noir.

No, it's not the kind of music that you normally would associate with a male hairdresser (what can you associate it with anyway?), but The Early Years 2005-2010 is a very nice CD, full of sublime 80s sounds.

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Dit viertal heeft het natuurlijk grotendeels aan zichzelf te danken, want een band die ooit beslist om als Garçons Coiffeurs door het leven te gaan, zorgt er automatisch voor dat menig wenkbrauwen fronsen. Het klinkt inderdaad een beetje lullig, zelfs een beetje zoals Partenaire Particulier of Début de Soirée. Geen nood echter, het is alleen maar de groepsnaam, want de elf tracks die dit viertal uit Nice brengt, zijn overheerlijke synthpop met een knipoog naar de coldwave en het leukste uit de jaren 80.

Ook de titel van de cd zet de luisteraar op het verkeerde been, want het geeft hem de illusie dat het om verloren opnames gaat of zo, maar neen hoor, dit is gewoon de eerste plaat van Garçons Coiffeurs met nummers die zijn opgenomen in de tijdspanne tussen 2005 en 2010. Dat is alles. Of toch niet, want de elf nummers die je op dit schijfje hoort hebben allemaal iets onweerstaanbaars.

Alleen het tweede nummer Sequelles laat je denken dat deze Fransen punkachtige postpunk zullen brengen (met een label als Infrastition is dat immers goed mogelijk), maar neen hoor, Garçons Coiffeurs maken sublieme synthpop die ergens in de lijn ligt van Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, de beginjaren van Indochine en A Flock Of Seagulls (de heren coveren tijdens hun optredens Messages, dus deze vergelijking is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen).

Soms hoor je ook wat van The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur bezit de typische Cure-synths uit het midden van de jaren 80) of krijgt Spectateur een punkjasje waardoor je binnensmonds de naam Bérurier Noir begint te prevelen.

Neen, het is niet het soort muziek dat je normaal met een herenkapper associeert (waarmee kan je dat trouwens wel associëren?), maar The Early Years 2005-2010 is een zeer fijn plaatje vol sublieme 80s-klanken. Zet de titel maar in je brief aan de heilige man die geschenken in je schoorsteen gooit!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)