tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : GARCONS COIFFEURS - The Early Years 2005-2010

GARCONS COIFFEURS

The Early Years 2005-2010

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Infrastition
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This quartet obviously has to blame itself, because if you decide to name your musical project Garçons Coiffeurs, then automatically many eyebrows frown. It does indeed sound a little bit silly, even a bit like Partenaire Particulier or Début de Soirée. Do not worry though, it's just the group's name, the eleven tracks by this foursome from Nice are delicious synthpop with a nod to the cold wave and the best from the 80s.

Also the title of the CD will mislead the listener, because it gives him the illusion that these tracks are lost recordings or so. This is just the first CD of Garçons Coiffeurs with songs that have been recorded between 2005 and 2010. That's all. Or maybe not, because the eleven songs you hear on this album all sound irresistible.

Only the second song Sequelles might make you think that these French will bring you some post punk (with a label like Infrastition that is quite possible), but no, Garçons Coiffeurs creates sublime synthpop that can be situated somewhere in the line of Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, the early years of Indochine and A Flock Of Seagulls (during their gig, they play Messages, so this comparison is not so out of place).

Sometimes you hear something of The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur has these typical Cure synths from the mid 80s) and Spectateur is punky, so you start muttering the name of Berurier Noir.

No, it's not the kind of music that you normally would associate with a male hairdresser (what can you associate it with anyway?), but The Early Years 2005-2010 is a very nice CD, full of sublime 80s sounds.

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Dit viertal heeft het natuurlijk grotendeels aan zichzelf te danken, want een band die ooit beslist om als Garçons Coiffeurs door het leven te gaan, zorgt er automatisch voor dat menig wenkbrauwen fronsen. Het klinkt inderdaad een beetje lullig, zelfs een beetje zoals Partenaire Particulier of Début de Soirée. Geen nood echter, het is alleen maar de groepsnaam, want de elf tracks die dit viertal uit Nice brengt, zijn overheerlijke synthpop met een knipoog naar de coldwave en het leukste uit de jaren 80.

Ook de titel van de cd zet de luisteraar op het verkeerde been, want het geeft hem de illusie dat het om verloren opnames gaat of zo, maar neen hoor, dit is gewoon de eerste plaat van Garçons Coiffeurs met nummers die zijn opgenomen in de tijdspanne tussen 2005 en 2010. Dat is alles. Of toch niet, want de elf nummers die je op dit schijfje hoort hebben allemaal iets onweerstaanbaars.

Alleen het tweede nummer Sequelles laat je denken dat deze Fransen punkachtige postpunk zullen brengen (met een label als Infrastition is dat immers goed mogelijk), maar neen hoor, Garçons Coiffeurs maken sublieme synthpop die ergens in de lijn ligt van Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, de beginjaren van Indochine en A Flock Of Seagulls (de heren coveren tijdens hun optredens Messages, dus deze vergelijking is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen).

Soms hoor je ook wat van The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur bezit de typische Cure-synths uit het midden van de jaren 80) of krijgt Spectateur een punkjasje waardoor je binnensmonds de naam Bérurier Noir begint te prevelen.

Neen, het is niet het soort muziek dat je normaal met een herenkapper associeert (waarmee kan je dat trouwens wel associëren?), maar The Early Years 2005-2010 is een zeer fijn plaatje vol sublieme 80s-klanken. Zet de titel maar in je brief aan de heilige man die geschenken in je schoorsteen gooit!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life