tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GARY NUMAN - Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

GARY NUMAN

Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro Rock

[95/100]   


10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Three years after the release of his last studio album Splinter, and probably because diehards always want more, the live CD / DVD Here In The Black, Live At Hollywood Forever Cemetery, recorded during the Splinter Live Tour in 2013, is out now.

Opener I Am Dust shows what the 58-year-old musician is still capable of. The combination of older songs with new tracks of Splinter is perfect. Metal has been upgraded, only the magnificent howling synths remind us of the colder original version. We must admit that the influence of Nine Inch Nails on Numan’s recent work is enormous. The musical adoration and collaboration with Trent Reznor never was a secret.

Also remarkable on this live release, is the lower amount of used "overdubs": it makes it all more pure and raw, but it never restricts the musical perfectionism of this fantastic artist. Numan is not that cold motionless android from the early days. His performances burst of energy. The world hit Cars is pushed back into the background and has evolved into a rock song over the years. The 'older' tracks on this live album are darker and more mature, especially the already 38 year old Down In The Park: slowly built up, until the cold synthesizers and futuristic lyrics strike you. This man was ahead of his time and had an incredible impact on electro pop.

Of course Are Friends Electric? has to be included, a song about robot prostitution and a breakthrough for Tubeway Army in 1979. Meanwhile, Numan had a lot of ups-and-downs and he evolved from pop to rock. We hear decent heavy guitar riffs and combined with the high lyrical intensity, the live dark wave versions of The Fall, Love Hurt Bleed and All In The Black get an extra value. In the beautiful atmospheric The Calling we hear the musical battle between synths and bass, both pleading for our attention and affection. But Numan is Numan. The dark, sometimes depressed and anxious lyrics penetrate deep into your body and create a sense of powerlessness, but also one of inner beauty, as in Dead Sun Rising.

During every live performance, the motion reaches a climax, as in A Prayer For The Unborn, the musical story of his personal tragedy about the loss of his unborn child. This Splinter Live Tour CD ends with My Last Day, a brilliant song about a seriously ill friend, a magical moment with a wonderfully electronic end. This man still knows how to create fabulous music, after more downs than ups in the last 40 years. A must for every Numanoid and we are curious about the new work of the godfather of electro rock, which will be released in a year!

TRACKLIST: I Am Dust, Metal, Everything Comes Down To This, The Fall, Here In The Black, Films, The Calling, Down In The Park, Splinter, Dead Sun Rising, A Shadow Falls On Me, Lost, When The Sky Bleeds, We’re The Unforgiven, Love Hurt Bleed, A Prayer For The Unborn, Cars, I Die You Die, Are ‘Friends’ Electric?, My Last Day.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar na de release van zijn laatste studio cd Splinter, en waarschijnlijk om de diehards het wachten wat draaglijker te maken, is er nu de live-cd/dvd Here In The Black, Live At Hollywood Forever Cemetery, opgenomen tijdens de Splinter Live Tour in 2013, uitgegebracht in eigen beheer.

Opener is I Am Dust biedt een mooi beeld van wat deze ondertussen 58- jarige nog in zijn mars heeft.. De combinatie van oudere songs met de Splinter-tracks verloopt vloeiend. Metal heeft ondertussen een flinke upgrade gekregen, alleen de eindfaze met de prachtig jankende synthesizers herinnert nog aan de koudere originele versie. We moeten eerlijk bekennen dat de invloed van Nine Inch Nails op Numans recentere werk zeer frappant is. De muzikale adoratie en de samenwerking met Trent Reznor is ook nooit onder stoelen of banken gestoken.

Opvallend op deze liverelease is het lager aantal ‘overdubs’: het mag allemaal wat puurder en rauwer zijn, echter zonder het muzikaal perfectionisme van deze fantastische artiest te beknotten. Numan is ook niet meer die koude bewegingsloze androïde uit de beginperiode. Zijn optredens bruisen van energie. De wereldhit Cars is in de loop der jaren geëvolueerd tot een rocksong en de elektronica is naar de achtergrond teruggedrongen. Ook de ‘oudere’ tracks op dit livealbum zijn wat donkerder en meer gerijpt, zeker het al 38 jaar oude Down In The Park: langzaam opgebouwd tot de koude synthesizers genadeloos toeslaan en een futuristische ontzielde tekst, waarmee deze man zijn tijd ver vooruit was en een waanzinnige invloed had op de electropopwereld.

Ook Are Friends Electric mag natuurlijk niet ontbreken, een song die eigenlijk over robotprostitutie gaat en die aan de wieg stond bij zijn Tubeway Army-doorbraak in 1979. Ondertussen waren er veel ups en downs voor deze artiest, die evolueerde van pop naar rock. Behoorlijke heftige gitaarriffs kruiden deze release en samen met een hoge tekstuele intensiteit bloeien de darkwaveliveversies van The Fall, Love Hurt Bleed en Here In The Black helemaal open. In het prachtige atmosferische The Calling horen we de muzikale strijd tussen synths en bas, allebei smekend om aandacht en affectie.

Maar Numan blijft Numan. De donkere, soms depressieve en angstige teksten dringen diep naar binnen en creëren een gevoel van machteloosheid en toch innerlijke pracht, zoals in Dead Sun Rising, en we geven het toe: Gary zou nooit door de selectie van The Voice geraken, maar zijn kille metaalachtige tenor past perfect bij deze songs. De emotie gaat tijdens ieder live-optreden naar een hoogtepunt, zoals in A Prayer For The Unborn, het muzikaal verhaal over zijn persoonlijke tragedie wegens het verlies van zijn ongeboren kind. Deze Splinter Live Tour-cd eindigt met My Last Day, een briljante en diepe song over een ernstig zieke vriendin, een kippenvelmoment met een heerlijk uitgesponnen elektronisch einde.

Deze man heeft het nog steeds en dit na meer downs dan ups in de voorbije 40 jaar. Een must voor elke ‘numanoid’ en nu nog een jaartje wachten op nieuw studiowerk van deze Godfather of electro rock.

TRACKLIST: I Am Dust, Metal, Everything Comes Down To This, The Fall, Here In The Black, Films, The Calling, Down In The Park, Splinter, Dead Sun Rising, A Shadow Falls On Me, Lost, When The Sky Bleeds, We’re The Unforgiven, Love Hurt Bleed, A Prayer For The Unborn, Cars, I Die You Die, Are ‘Friends’ Electric?, My Last Day.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall

 

Other reviews from GARY NUMAN
GARY NUMAN • Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
GARY NUMAN • Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (14/11/2013)
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRO ROCK
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUCHESTATTE SCHWARS • Dark Wave Sex Zombies
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
LIFE IN SODOM • The World I View
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons
FETISCH:MENSCH • Kinderlieder EP

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day