tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GARY NUMAN - Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

GARY NUMAN

Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro Rock

[95/100]   


10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Three years after the release of his last studio album Splinter, and probably because diehards always want more, the live CD / DVD Here In The Black, Live At Hollywood Forever Cemetery, recorded during the Splinter Live Tour in 2013, is out now.

Opener I Am Dust shows what the 58-year-old musician is still capable of. The combination of older songs with new tracks of Splinter is perfect. Metal has been upgraded, only the magnificent howling synths remind us of the colder original version. We must admit that the influence of Nine Inch Nails on Numan’s recent work is enormous. The musical adoration and collaboration with Trent Reznor never was a secret.

Also remarkable on this live release, is the lower amount of used "overdubs": it makes it all more pure and raw, but it never restricts the musical perfectionism of this fantastic artist. Numan is not that cold motionless android from the early days. His performances burst of energy. The world hit Cars is pushed back into the background and has evolved into a rock song over the years. The 'older' tracks on this live album are darker and more mature, especially the already 38 year old Down In The Park: slowly built up, until the cold synthesizers and futuristic lyrics strike you. This man was ahead of his time and had an incredible impact on electro pop.

Of course Are Friends Electric? has to be included, a song about robot prostitution and a breakthrough for Tubeway Army in 1979. Meanwhile, Numan had a lot of ups-and-downs and he evolved from pop to rock. We hear decent heavy guitar riffs and combined with the high lyrical intensity, the live dark wave versions of The Fall, Love Hurt Bleed and All In The Black get an extra value. In the beautiful atmospheric The Calling we hear the musical battle between synths and bass, both pleading for our attention and affection. But Numan is Numan. The dark, sometimes depressed and anxious lyrics penetrate deep into your body and create a sense of powerlessness, but also one of inner beauty, as in Dead Sun Rising.

During every live performance, the motion reaches a climax, as in A Prayer For The Unborn, the musical story of his personal tragedy about the loss of his unborn child. This Splinter Live Tour CD ends with My Last Day, a brilliant song about a seriously ill friend, a magical moment with a wonderfully electronic end. This man still knows how to create fabulous music, after more downs than ups in the last 40 years. A must for every Numanoid and we are curious about the new work of the godfather of electro rock, which will be released in a year!

TRACKLIST: I Am Dust, Metal, Everything Comes Down To This, The Fall, Here In The Black, Films, The Calling, Down In The Park, Splinter, Dead Sun Rising, A Shadow Falls On Me, Lost, When The Sky Bleeds, We’re The Unforgiven, Love Hurt Bleed, A Prayer For The Unborn, Cars, I Die You Die, Are ‘Friends’ Electric?, My Last Day.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar na de release van zijn laatste studio cd Splinter, en waarschijnlijk om de diehards het wachten wat draaglijker te maken, is er nu de live-cd/dvd Here In The Black, Live At Hollywood Forever Cemetery, opgenomen tijdens de Splinter Live Tour in 2013, uitgegebracht in eigen beheer.

Opener is I Am Dust biedt een mooi beeld van wat deze ondertussen 58- jarige nog in zijn mars heeft.. De combinatie van oudere songs met de Splinter-tracks verloopt vloeiend. Metal heeft ondertussen een flinke upgrade gekregen, alleen de eindfaze met de prachtig jankende synthesizers herinnert nog aan de koudere originele versie. We moeten eerlijk bekennen dat de invloed van Nine Inch Nails op Numans recentere werk zeer frappant is. De muzikale adoratie en de samenwerking met Trent Reznor is ook nooit onder stoelen of banken gestoken.

Opvallend op deze liverelease is het lager aantal ‘overdubs’: het mag allemaal wat puurder en rauwer zijn, echter zonder het muzikaal perfectionisme van deze fantastische artiest te beknotten. Numan is ook niet meer die koude bewegingsloze androïde uit de beginperiode. Zijn optredens bruisen van energie. De wereldhit Cars is in de loop der jaren geëvolueerd tot een rocksong en de elektronica is naar de achtergrond teruggedrongen. Ook de ‘oudere’ tracks op dit livealbum zijn wat donkerder en meer gerijpt, zeker het al 38 jaar oude Down In The Park: langzaam opgebouwd tot de koude synthesizers genadeloos toeslaan en een futuristische ontzielde tekst, waarmee deze man zijn tijd ver vooruit was en een waanzinnige invloed had op de electropopwereld.

Ook Are Friends Electric mag natuurlijk niet ontbreken, een song die eigenlijk over robotprostitutie gaat en die aan de wieg stond bij zijn Tubeway Army-doorbraak in 1979. Ondertussen waren er veel ups en downs voor deze artiest, die evolueerde van pop naar rock. Behoorlijke heftige gitaarriffs kruiden deze release en samen met een hoge tekstuele intensiteit bloeien de darkwaveliveversies van The Fall, Love Hurt Bleed en Here In The Black helemaal open. In het prachtige atmosferische The Calling horen we de muzikale strijd tussen synths en bas, allebei smekend om aandacht en affectie.

Maar Numan blijft Numan. De donkere, soms depressieve en angstige teksten dringen diep naar binnen en creëren een gevoel van machteloosheid en toch innerlijke pracht, zoals in Dead Sun Rising, en we geven het toe: Gary zou nooit door de selectie van The Voice geraken, maar zijn kille metaalachtige tenor past perfect bij deze songs. De emotie gaat tijdens ieder live-optreden naar een hoogtepunt, zoals in A Prayer For The Unborn, het muzikaal verhaal over zijn persoonlijke tragedie wegens het verlies van zijn ongeboren kind. Deze Splinter Live Tour-cd eindigt met My Last Day, een briljante en diepe song over een ernstig zieke vriendin, een kippenvelmoment met een heerlijk uitgesponnen elektronisch einde.

Deze man heeft het nog steeds en dit na meer downs dan ups in de voorbije 40 jaar. Een must voor elke ‘numanoid’ en nu nog een jaartje wachten op nieuw studiowerk van deze Godfather of electro rock.

TRACKLIST: I Am Dust, Metal, Everything Comes Down To This, The Fall, Here In The Black, Films, The Calling, Down In The Park, Splinter, Dead Sun Rising, A Shadow Falls On Me, Lost, When The Sky Bleeds, We’re The Unforgiven, Love Hurt Bleed, A Prayer For The Unborn, Cars, I Die You Die, Are ‘Friends’ Electric?, My Last Day.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall

 

Other reviews from GARY NUMAN
GARY NUMAN • Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
GARY NUMAN • Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (14/11/2013)
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRO ROCK
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUCHESTATTE SCHWARS • Dark Wave Sex Zombies
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
LIFE IN SODOM • The World I View
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons
FETISCH:MENSCH • Kinderlieder EP

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland

Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue