tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

GARY NUMAN

Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

Concert
Electro Rock

[100/100]   
27/10/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

On October, 24th ,we made a trip from Belgium to the grey and rainy Manchester to see the godfather of electro rock. The days before, Numan performed his 3 classic albums: Replicas ( with Tubeway Army in 1979), The Pleasure Principle (also 1979) and Telekon from 1980. Gary promised to do a compilation from these concerts, and even some tracks from the early Tubeway Army days.

The venue was completely sold out, and hours before the gig started, hundreds of numanoids were waiting to get in. For the mainstream music fan, the name Gary Numan is a synonym for Cars: the electronic N°1 hit that steered pop music away from rock and disco into a new wave of music, and with a huge, innovative influence.

So 37 years after his first record, Gary Numan presented his best of the classics. He opened with the theme of Replicas. The atmosphere in the sold out Manchester Academy was fantastic, I am not really a fan of nostalgia, but when I saw the 57 year old Numan performing these old songs, I felt proud to be a Numanoid. Gary moved on stage like a madman, played guitar, synthesizer and even danced. He had more live presence than ever before, and these days, he is no longer the cold android that he was in the beginning of his career.

Gary’s vivid metallic vocals are still as strong as they were in the late 70s and early 80s. Some tracks evolved over the years, Metal becomes Metal on steroids and a place where the thought of destruction is more satisfying than the promise of a soothing synth line. It all became a little heavier and more powerful, some subtle instrumental embellishments were added, but you always could hear and feel the original glory.

It was very nice to hear the 1978 tracks like Do You Need The Service and My Shadow In Vain, the punky guitar riffs combined with some early raw synths made me realize how it all started, and the electronics of I Dream Of Wires and Complex still stand today. The nostalgia, the crowd and the fantastic lightshow gave me goosebumps. Of course, the venue went crazy with Cars and Are Friends Electric?, and Gary once again proved that he is the real godfather of electro rock. It was all celebratory and surprisingly timeless.

The encores started with one of my all time favorites: Every Day I Die, the brilliant synth lines combined with the special cold lyrics, is one of the reasons this guy changed forever my musical life. Of course the ending song was Jo The Waiter.

This man still understands how to make electronic music in an unforgettable way. So, dear youngsters, take notes, this man was a genius and although I think the average age of the crowd was around 50, there is still magic in our elders.

Below you can find a compilation video I made.

Setlist:
Replicas / Metal / Remind Me To Smile / Me I Disconnect From You / Films / This Wreckage / We Are So Fragile / M.E. / I Dreal Of Wires / Down In The Park / Tracks / I m An Agent / Do You Need The Service / Compex / We Are Glass / Are Friends Electric / Cars / I Die : You Die / Every Day I Die / My Shadow In Vain / Jo The Waiter

Peter HESELMANS
27/10/2015


NL

Op 24 oktober trokken we van België naar het grijze en regenachtige Manchester om de peetvader van de electro aan het werk te zien. De voorbije dagen had Numan reeds 3 klassieke albums op het podium gebracht: Replicas (met Tubeway Army uit 1979), The Pleasure Principle (ook uit 1979) en Telekon uit 1980. Gary had beloofd om een ​​compilatie te maken van deze concerten, en als bonus zelfs een paar nummers uit de vroege Tubeway Army-dagen aan de set toe te voegen.

De zaal was volledig uitverkocht en uren voordat het optreden begon, stonden honderden numanoids te wachten om binnen te geraken. Voor de modale muziekliefhebber blijft zijn naam synoniem met Cars: de elektronische nummer 1-hit die de popmuziek weghaalde van de rock en disco en voor een nieuwe golf in de muziek zorgde, en een grote invloed had op andere artiesten.

37 jaar na zijn eerste plaat, bracht Gary Numan het beste uit zijn klassiekers. Hij opende de set met het thema van Replicas. De sfeer in de uitverkochte Manchester Academy was fantastisch, ik ben geen fan van nostalgie, maar toen ik zag hoe de 57-jarige Numan deze oude nummers bracht, voelde ik me trots om een ​​Numanoid te zijn. Gary bewoog op het podium als een gek, hij speelde gitaar, synthesizer en danste zelfs. Hij was meer op het podium aanwezig dan ooit te voren, en deze dagen is hij al lang niet meer de ijskoude androïde die hij in het begin van zijn carrière was.

Gary's metaalachtige stem is nog steeds zo sterk als in de late jaren 70 en de vroege jaren 80. Sommige nummers zijn in de loop der jaren wel veranderd (zoals bijv. Metal), maar je kon nog altijd de oorspronkelijke glorie ervan horen.

Het was erg leuk om een track als Do You Need The Service uit 1978 of My Shadow In Vain te horen, de punky gitaarriffs die gecombineerd werden met de rauwe synths deden me beseffen hoe het allemaal begon, en de elektronica van I Dream Of Wires en vooral Complex staat vandaag nog steeds als een huis. De nostalgie, het publiek en de fantastische lichtshow gaven me kippenvel. Natuurlijk werd de zaal helemaal gek toen Cars en Are Friends Electric? begon, en Gary bewees nog maar eens dat hij de enige echte peetvader van electrorock is.

De bisronde begon met een van mijn favoriete nummers aller tijden: Every Day I Die, de briljante synthlijnen in combinatie met de koude teksten, zijn nog altijd een van de redenen waarom deze man voor altijd mijn muzikale leven veranderde. Natuurlijk eindigde de set met Jo The Waiter. Deze muzikant begrijpt nog steeds hoe je elektronische muziek op een onvergetelijke manier dient te maken. Zo beste jongeren, hou daar rekening mee, deze man is een genie en hoewel de gemiddelde leeftijd van het publiek ongeveer 50 was, was er nog volop sprake van magie

Hieronder kun je een compilatievideo bekijken die ik tijdens het optreden heb gemaakt.

Setlist:
Replicas / Metal / Remind Me To Smile / Me I Disconnect From You / Films / This Wreckage / We Are So Fragile / M.E. / I Dreal Of Wires / Down In The Park / Tracks / I m An Agent / Do You Need The Service / Compex / We Are Glass / Are Friends Electric / Cars / I Die : You Die / Every Day I Die / My Shadow In Vain / Jo The Waiter

Peter HESELMANS
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey