tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

GARY NUMAN

Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

Concert
Electro Rock

[100/100]   
27/10/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

On October, 24th ,we made a trip from Belgium to the grey and rainy Manchester to see the godfather of electro rock. The days before, Numan performed his 3 classic albums: Replicas ( with Tubeway Army in 1979), The Pleasure Principle (also 1979) and Telekon from 1980. Gary promised to do a compilation from these concerts, and even some tracks from the early Tubeway Army days.

The venue was completely sold out, and hours before the gig started, hundreds of numanoids were waiting to get in. For the mainstream music fan, the name Gary Numan is a synonym for Cars: the electronic N°1 hit that steered pop music away from rock and disco into a new wave of music, and with a huge, innovative influence.

So 37 years after his first record, Gary Numan presented his best of the classics. He opened with the theme of Replicas. The atmosphere in the sold out Manchester Academy was fantastic, I am not really a fan of nostalgia, but when I saw the 57 year old Numan performing these old songs, I felt proud to be a Numanoid. Gary moved on stage like a madman, played guitar, synthesizer and even danced. He had more live presence than ever before, and these days, he is no longer the cold android that he was in the beginning of his career.

Gary’s vivid metallic vocals are still as strong as they were in the late 70s and early 80s. Some tracks evolved over the years, Metal becomes Metal on steroids and a place where the thought of destruction is more satisfying than the promise of a soothing synth line. It all became a little heavier and more powerful, some subtle instrumental embellishments were added, but you always could hear and feel the original glory.

It was very nice to hear the 1978 tracks like Do You Need The Service and My Shadow In Vain, the punky guitar riffs combined with some early raw synths made me realize how it all started, and the electronics of I Dream Of Wires and Complex still stand today. The nostalgia, the crowd and the fantastic lightshow gave me goosebumps. Of course, the venue went crazy with Cars and Are Friends Electric?, and Gary once again proved that he is the real godfather of electro rock. It was all celebratory and surprisingly timeless.

The encores started with one of my all time favorites: Every Day I Die, the brilliant synth lines combined with the special cold lyrics, is one of the reasons this guy changed forever my musical life. Of course the ending song was Jo The Waiter.

This man still understands how to make electronic music in an unforgettable way. So, dear youngsters, take notes, this man was a genius and although I think the average age of the crowd was around 50, there is still magic in our elders.

Below you can find a compilation video I made.

Setlist:
Replicas / Metal / Remind Me To Smile / Me I Disconnect From You / Films / This Wreckage / We Are So Fragile / M.E. / I Dreal Of Wires / Down In The Park / Tracks / I m An Agent / Do You Need The Service / Compex / We Are Glass / Are Friends Electric / Cars / I Die : You Die / Every Day I Die / My Shadow In Vain / Jo The Waiter

Peter HESELMANS
27/10/2015


NL

Op 24 oktober trokken we van België naar het grijze en regenachtige Manchester om de peetvader van de electro aan het werk te zien. De voorbije dagen had Numan reeds 3 klassieke albums op het podium gebracht: Replicas (met Tubeway Army uit 1979), The Pleasure Principle (ook uit 1979) en Telekon uit 1980. Gary had beloofd om een ​​compilatie te maken van deze concerten, en als bonus zelfs een paar nummers uit de vroege Tubeway Army-dagen aan de set toe te voegen.

De zaal was volledig uitverkocht en uren voordat het optreden begon, stonden honderden numanoids te wachten om binnen te geraken. Voor de modale muziekliefhebber blijft zijn naam synoniem met Cars: de elektronische nummer 1-hit die de popmuziek weghaalde van de rock en disco en voor een nieuwe golf in de muziek zorgde, en een grote invloed had op andere artiesten.

37 jaar na zijn eerste plaat, bracht Gary Numan het beste uit zijn klassiekers. Hij opende de set met het thema van Replicas. De sfeer in de uitverkochte Manchester Academy was fantastisch, ik ben geen fan van nostalgie, maar toen ik zag hoe de 57-jarige Numan deze oude nummers bracht, voelde ik me trots om een ​​Numanoid te zijn. Gary bewoog op het podium als een gek, hij speelde gitaar, synthesizer en danste zelfs. Hij was meer op het podium aanwezig dan ooit te voren, en deze dagen is hij al lang niet meer de ijskoude androïde die hij in het begin van zijn carrière was.

Gary's metaalachtige stem is nog steeds zo sterk als in de late jaren 70 en de vroege jaren 80. Sommige nummers zijn in de loop der jaren wel veranderd (zoals bijv. Metal), maar je kon nog altijd de oorspronkelijke glorie ervan horen.

Het was erg leuk om een track als Do You Need The Service uit 1978 of My Shadow In Vain te horen, de punky gitaarriffs die gecombineerd werden met de rauwe synths deden me beseffen hoe het allemaal begon, en de elektronica van I Dream Of Wires en vooral Complex staat vandaag nog steeds als een huis. De nostalgie, het publiek en de fantastische lichtshow gaven me kippenvel. Natuurlijk werd de zaal helemaal gek toen Cars en Are Friends Electric? begon, en Gary bewees nog maar eens dat hij de enige echte peetvader van electrorock is.

De bisronde begon met een van mijn favoriete nummers aller tijden: Every Day I Die, de briljante synthlijnen in combinatie met de koude teksten, zijn nog altijd een van de redenen waarom deze man voor altijd mijn muzikale leven veranderde. Natuurlijk eindigde de set met Jo The Waiter. Deze muzikant begrijpt nog steeds hoe je elektronische muziek op een onvergetelijke manier dient te maken. Zo beste jongeren, hou daar rekening mee, deze man is een genie en hoewel de gemiddelde leeftijd van het publiek ongeveer 50 was, was er nog volop sprake van magie

Hieronder kun je een compilatievideo bekijken die ik tijdens het optreden heb gemaakt.

Setlist:
Replicas / Metal / Remind Me To Smile / Me I Disconnect From You / Films / This Wreckage / We Are So Fragile / M.E. / I Dreal Of Wires / Down In The Park / Tracks / I m An Agent / Do You Need The Service / Compex / We Are Glass / Are Friends Electric / Cars / I Die : You Die / Every Day I Die / My Shadow In Vain / Jo The Waiter

Peter HESELMANS
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015) 27/10/2015 : GARY NUMAN - Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

Music reviews

20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
19
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
First And Last And Always
18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
Dark Entity | In The Flat Field At Thirty-Eight
20
11
Artificial Adolescents | The X-Ray Spex Masterpiece Turns 40
19
11
New PALAIS IDEAL single and video clip with unique choreography by Burning Bridges!
19
11
'Write When You Get Work' in theaters this weekend!
18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
20
11
JO QUAIL
Gold
19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission