tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : GENERAL LEE - Knives Out Everybody!

GENERAL LEE

Knives Out Everybody!

MusicCD
HardcoreMetalcore

[55/100]   

Basement Apes Industry
10/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover of this release has some ugly bright red drawings that immediately catch the eyes. Ugly sometimes can be beautiful, and it can even be art, but I have my doubts here.

Musically, you hear a bunch of wild guys who are making music. A solid rhythm section and some squealing guitar licks produce some nice moments in The Conqueror Worm or Sergio Leone Built My Hotrod. The vocals however are rather substandard and can’t match the musical violence. Probably, they are just too much in the back of the mix. Secondly, the hoarse shouts are a bit too monotonous. Despite the musical violence, the songs can’t convince me and apart from a few exceptions, they don’t linger in your musical brain.

A sad thing, because there are indeed some strong moments on this album, that demonstrate that this French band has more to offer. So there’s a lot to do before we can speak of a great release. For those who are interested: Knives Out Everybody! is available on CD and red vinyl via Basement Apes Industry and Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


NL

De cover van deze release, met zijn felrode en lelijke tekeningen, valt meteen op. Lelijk kan soms mooi zijn, en zelfs kunst, maar hier heb ik toch mijn twijfels.

Muzikaal hoort je een bende wild musicerende kerels. Een ferme ritmesectie, piepende gitaarlicks met nu en dan een moment waarop ze wat gas terugnemen. Soms levert dat aardige momenten op zoals in The Conqueror Worm of Sergio Leone Built my Hotrod. De vocals vind ik eerder ondermaats. Vooreerstl kan de zang niet op tegen het muzikale geweld. Waarschijnlijk zitten ze te veel achteraan in de mix. Ten tweede is het hese geschreeuw nogal eentonig. Ondanks het muzikale geweld, overtuigen de nummers niet, en op een paar uitzonderingen na blijven ze niet hangen.

Een jammere zaak, want er zitten wel degelijk sterke momenten in dit album die aantonen dat deze Franse band meer in zijn mars heeft. Er moet dus nog heel wat gesleuteld worden vooraleer we van een geslaagde release kunnen spreken. Voor de liefhebbers: Knives Out Everybody! is verkrijgbaar op cd en rood vinyl via Basement Apes Industry en Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now
05
11
DIVE
Far Away (Live)