tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : GENERAL LEE - Knives Out Everybody!

GENERAL LEE

Knives Out Everybody!

MusicCD
HardcoreMetalcore

[55/100]   

Basement Apes Industry
10/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover of this release has some ugly bright red drawings that immediately catch the eyes. Ugly sometimes can be beautiful, and it can even be art, but I have my doubts here.

Musically, you hear a bunch of wild guys who are making music. A solid rhythm section and some squealing guitar licks produce some nice moments in The Conqueror Worm or Sergio Leone Built My Hotrod. The vocals however are rather substandard and can’t match the musical violence. Probably, they are just too much in the back of the mix. Secondly, the hoarse shouts are a bit too monotonous. Despite the musical violence, the songs can’t convince me and apart from a few exceptions, they don’t linger in your musical brain.

A sad thing, because there are indeed some strong moments on this album, that demonstrate that this French band has more to offer. So there’s a lot to do before we can speak of a great release. For those who are interested: Knives Out Everybody! is available on CD and red vinyl via Basement Apes Industry and Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


NL

De cover van deze release, met zijn felrode en lelijke tekeningen, valt meteen op. Lelijk kan soms mooi zijn, en zelfs kunst, maar hier heb ik toch mijn twijfels.

Muzikaal hoort je een bende wild musicerende kerels. Een ferme ritmesectie, piepende gitaarlicks met nu en dan een moment waarop ze wat gas terugnemen. Soms levert dat aardige momenten op zoals in The Conqueror Worm of Sergio Leone Built my Hotrod. De vocals vind ik eerder ondermaats. Vooreerstl kan de zang niet op tegen het muzikale geweld. Waarschijnlijk zitten ze te veel achteraan in de mix. Ten tweede is het hese geschreeuw nogal eentonig. Ondanks het muzikale geweld, overtuigen de nummers niet, en op een paar uitzonderingen na blijven ze niet hangen.

Een jammere zaak, want er zitten wel degelijk sterke momenten in dit album die aantonen dat deze Franse band meer in zijn mars heeft. Er moet dus nog heel wat gesleuteld worden vooraleer we van een geslaagde release kunnen spreken. Voor de liefhebbers: Knives Out Everybody! is verkrijgbaar op cd en rood vinyl via Basement Apes Industry en Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death