tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : GENERAL LEE - Knives Out Everybody!

GENERAL LEE

Knives Out Everybody!

MusicCD
HardcoreMetalcore

[55/100]   

Basement Apes Industry
10/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover of this release has some ugly bright red drawings that immediately catch the eyes. Ugly sometimes can be beautiful, and it can even be art, but I have my doubts here.

Musically, you hear a bunch of wild guys who are making music. A solid rhythm section and some squealing guitar licks produce some nice moments in The Conqueror Worm or Sergio Leone Built My Hotrod. The vocals however are rather substandard and can’t match the musical violence. Probably, they are just too much in the back of the mix. Secondly, the hoarse shouts are a bit too monotonous. Despite the musical violence, the songs can’t convince me and apart from a few exceptions, they don’t linger in your musical brain.

A sad thing, because there are indeed some strong moments on this album, that demonstrate that this French band has more to offer. So there’s a lot to do before we can speak of a great release. For those who are interested: Knives Out Everybody! is available on CD and red vinyl via Basement Apes Industry and Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


NL

De cover van deze release, met zijn felrode en lelijke tekeningen, valt meteen op. Lelijk kan soms mooi zijn, en zelfs kunst, maar hier heb ik toch mijn twijfels.

Muzikaal hoort je een bende wild musicerende kerels. Een ferme ritmesectie, piepende gitaarlicks met nu en dan een moment waarop ze wat gas terugnemen. Soms levert dat aardige momenten op zoals in The Conqueror Worm of Sergio Leone Built my Hotrod. De vocals vind ik eerder ondermaats. Vooreerstl kan de zang niet op tegen het muzikale geweld. Waarschijnlijk zitten ze te veel achteraan in de mix. Ten tweede is het hese geschreeuw nogal eentonig. Ondanks het muzikale geweld, overtuigen de nummers niet, en op een paar uitzonderingen na blijven ze niet hangen.

Een jammere zaak, want er zitten wel degelijk sterke momenten in dit album die aantonen dat deze Franse band meer in zijn mars heeft. Er moet dus nog heel wat gesleuteld worden vooraleer we van een geslaagde release kunnen spreken. Voor de liefhebbers: Knives Out Everybody! is verkrijgbaar op cd en rood vinyl via Basement Apes Industry en Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets