tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : GENERAL LEE - Knives Out Everybody!

GENERAL LEE

Knives Out Everybody!

MusicCD
HardcoreMetalcore

[55/100]   

Basement Apes Industry
10/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover of this release has some ugly bright red drawings that immediately catch the eyes. Ugly sometimes can be beautiful, and it can even be art, but I have my doubts here.

Musically, you hear a bunch of wild guys who are making music. A solid rhythm section and some squealing guitar licks produce some nice moments in The Conqueror Worm or Sergio Leone Built My Hotrod. The vocals however are rather substandard and can’t match the musical violence. Probably, they are just too much in the back of the mix. Secondly, the hoarse shouts are a bit too monotonous. Despite the musical violence, the songs can’t convince me and apart from a few exceptions, they don’t linger in your musical brain.

A sad thing, because there are indeed some strong moments on this album, that demonstrate that this French band has more to offer. So there’s a lot to do before we can speak of a great release. For those who are interested: Knives Out Everybody! is available on CD and red vinyl via Basement Apes Industry and Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


NL

De cover van deze release, met zijn felrode en lelijke tekeningen, valt meteen op. Lelijk kan soms mooi zijn, en zelfs kunst, maar hier heb ik toch mijn twijfels.

Muzikaal hoort je een bende wild musicerende kerels. Een ferme ritmesectie, piepende gitaarlicks met nu en dan een moment waarop ze wat gas terugnemen. Soms levert dat aardige momenten op zoals in The Conqueror Worm of Sergio Leone Built my Hotrod. De vocals vind ik eerder ondermaats. Vooreerstl kan de zang niet op tegen het muzikale geweld. Waarschijnlijk zitten ze te veel achteraan in de mix. Ten tweede is het hese geschreeuw nogal eentonig. Ondanks het muzikale geweld, overtuigen de nummers niet, en op een paar uitzonderingen na blijven ze niet hangen.

Een jammere zaak, want er zitten wel degelijk sterke momenten in dit album die aantonen dat deze Franse band meer in zijn mars heeft. Er moet dus nog heel wat gesleuteld worden vooraleer we van een geslaagde release kunnen spreken. Voor de liefhebbers: Knives Out Everybody! is verkrijgbaar op cd en rood vinyl via Basement Apes Industry en Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
08
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
25
08
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN