tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : GENERAL LEE - Knives Out Everybody!

GENERAL LEE

Knives Out Everybody!

MusicCD
HardcoreMetalcore

[55/100]   

Basement Apes Industry
10/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover of this release has some ugly bright red drawings that immediately catch the eyes. Ugly sometimes can be beautiful, and it can even be art, but I have my doubts here.

Musically, you hear a bunch of wild guys who are making music. A solid rhythm section and some squealing guitar licks produce some nice moments in The Conqueror Worm or Sergio Leone Built My Hotrod. The vocals however are rather substandard and can’t match the musical violence. Probably, they are just too much in the back of the mix. Secondly, the hoarse shouts are a bit too monotonous. Despite the musical violence, the songs can’t convince me and apart from a few exceptions, they don’t linger in your musical brain.

A sad thing, because there are indeed some strong moments on this album, that demonstrate that this French band has more to offer. So there’s a lot to do before we can speak of a great release. For those who are interested: Knives Out Everybody! is available on CD and red vinyl via Basement Apes Industry and Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


NL

De cover van deze release, met zijn felrode en lelijke tekeningen, valt meteen op. Lelijk kan soms mooi zijn, en zelfs kunst, maar hier heb ik toch mijn twijfels.

Muzikaal hoort je een bende wild musicerende kerels. Een ferme ritmesectie, piepende gitaarlicks met nu en dan een moment waarop ze wat gas terugnemen. Soms levert dat aardige momenten op zoals in The Conqueror Worm of Sergio Leone Built my Hotrod. De vocals vind ik eerder ondermaats. Vooreerstl kan de zang niet op tegen het muzikale geweld. Waarschijnlijk zitten ze te veel achteraan in de mix. Ten tweede is het hese geschreeuw nogal eentonig. Ondanks het muzikale geweld, overtuigen de nummers niet, en op een paar uitzonderingen na blijven ze niet hangen.

Een jammere zaak, want er zitten wel degelijk sterke momenten in dit album die aantonen dat deze Franse band meer in zijn mars heeft. Er moet dus nog heel wat gesleuteld worden vooraleer we van een geslaagde release kunnen spreken. Voor de liefhebbers: Knives Out Everybody! is verkrijgbaar op cd en rood vinyl via Basement Apes Industry en Grains Sand Records

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete