tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg

GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN

Halfweg

Movie
Dark Comedy

[59/100]   

SONY SPHE
16/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

The circumstances couldn’t be any worse for Geoffrey Enthoven when he presented his newest film: Halfweg (Half Way). During the week of its premiere the whole Flemish media was focused on one thing only: will The Broken Circle Breakdown by Felix Van Groeningen win an Oscar or not? So, the picture missed the needed media attention and disappeared in short time out of the theatres. The question arises if you really can blame Van Groeningen for this, because Halfweg is funny, but with that, everything’s been said. A shame if you know that it is the same crew who made Hasta La Vista: a movie that even had a successful foreign release as Come As You Are.

Halfweg lasts two hours and is set in a gigantic house. Architect Stef (Koen De Graeve) found this place for a cheap price, but in no time it seems like a poisoned gift. In the bathroom the former owner Theo (Jurgen Delnaet) committed suicide. He decides to chase Stef out of his new house as a ghost!

Yeah, there might be a ghost in their house, but anyone who has expected this to be a Flemish version from The Conjuring will be disappointed. We’ll probably see that later this year with Welp by Jonas Govaerts. No, Halfweg is meant to be a dark comedy, but the makers forgot to add jokes.

The first hour is a boring power play between Koen De Graeve and Jurgen Delnaet. Both top actors do their best, but the stupid dialogues destroy all their efforts. We haven’t even mentioned the finale that is as silly as the one from Het Varken Van Madonna (another Flemish crap movie). The only light we notice in this very dark tunnel is the performance from Veerle Baetens who is always good. But nah, her short performance can’t save the day!

Despite many raving articles in the Flemish press that our cinema is in good health, we can only conclude that Halfweg is another proof that Flemish commercial cinema is simply in a very deep crisis. Those who have talent seem to move to Hollywood, even if it also seems that they better should have stayed at home!

Halfweg is on out DVD on Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


NL

De omstandigheden konden niet slechter toen de opvolger van het bejubelde Hasta La Vista in de zalen kwam. De volledige aandacht ging immers uit naar de Oscar-kansen van The Broken Circle Breakdown waardoor de nieuwe film van Antwerpenaar Geoffrey Enthoven nauwelijks in de Vlaamse media kwam. Eens je de film hebt bekeken vraag je je wel af Felix Van Groeningen daar voor iets tussen zit, want Halfweg is wel leuk, maar daarmee is dan ook alles gezegd.

De film speelt zich ruim twee uur in een royaal huis ergens in Ronse af. Architect Stef (Koen De Graeve) heeft het landgoed voor een prikje op de kop kunnen tikken, maar er schuilt wel een ader onder het gras. De vorige eigenaar Theo (Jurgen Delnaet, en jawel, dat is Johnny Camione uit Aanrijding in Moscou) is uit het leven gestapt en komt in zijn vroegere huis spoken met de bedoeling de nieuwe eigenaar eruit te jagen.

Neen hoor, dit is niet de Vlaamse versie van The Conjuring (dat krijg je wellicht later dit jaar met Welp van Jonas Govaerts), wel een tragikomedie waarmee maar weinig lachen te valt. In het begin van de film ontstaat er een onevenwichtig machtspel tussen Koen De Graeve en Jurgen Delnaet, maar beide (top)acteurs krijgen dialogen in de mond gegooid waarin ze nauwelijks zelf geloven. Het verhaal gaat van kwaad naar erger, met op het einde een idiote finale die alleen maar in Het Varken Van Madonna (nog zo’n Vlaams onding) kan. Het enige lichtpuntje uit deze film is de altijd fantastische Veerle Baetens, maar de tien minuten dat zij in beeld komt kunnen deze prent niet redden.

Het is jammer om het te zeggen, maar Halfweg is het zoveelste bewijs dat de huidige Vlaamse cinema ondanks de torenhoge hype mank loopt. Er zijn uitzonderingen, maar blijkbaar verhuizen die allemaal naar Hollywood om daar in geen tijd te verzuipen.

Halfweg is uit op dvd, via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg 16/10/2014 : GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN - Halfweg

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang