tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/06/2011 : GIFTS FROM ENOLA - Gifts from Enola

GIFTS FROM ENOLA

Gifts from Enola

MusicCD
Post Rock

[70/100]   
05/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

‘Gifts From Enola’ is an instrumental post-rock band from Harrisonburg, Virginia. The band consists of the foursome Andrew Barnes, Nathaniel ‘Nate’l Dominy, CJ DeLuca and Jud Mason. In July 2010 they released their third full length and self-titled album. They were one of the first bands to get signed by the Indie record label ‘The Mylene Sheath’.

I should probably start with a confession. Personally, I rarely listen to instrumental music. And so ‘Gifts From Enola’ turned out to be a treat for my ears and an education for my music taste. Even though there are only 5 tracks on the album, all 5 of them flow into each other so naturally that you kind of forget where one ends and the next begins.

Half way through ‘Lionized’ I get the feeling they remind me something I heard before. And by the fade-out of ‘Rearview’ I remember… This reminds me very much of that night I went crazy at an ‘Explosions in the Sky’ concert. Guess there is no use anymore saying that I generally dislike comparing bands, but this just had to be said.

Hopefully they will do us all a favour for the next album and treat us to more than 5 songs. Because honestly, there is no doubt ‘Gifts From Enola’ could blow the roof of any dark basement, or any tent at Pukkelpop, for that matter.

Melissa BAUWENS
05/06/2011


NL

‘Gifts From Enola’ is een instrumentale post-rock band uit Harrisonburg, Virginia. De band bestaat uit het viertal Andrew Barnes, Nathaniel ‘Nate’l Dominy, CJ DeLuca en Jud Mason. In juli 2010 verscheen hun derde, zelfgetiteld album. Ze waren ook een van de eerste bands die een contract tekenden bij het Indie platenlabel ‘The Mylene Sheath’.

Ik moet eerlijkheidshalve eerst opbiechten dat ik persoonlijk zelden naar instrumentale muziek luister. ‘Gifts From Enola’ bleek dan ook een heropvoeding van mijn muzikale smaakpapillen.Er staan slechts 5 nummers op het album, maar ze vloeien zo vlot in elkaar over dat je nauwelijks merkt waar het ene nummer stopt en het volgende begint.

Halverwege ‘Lionized’ krijg ik het gevoel dat dit mij heel sterk herinnert aan iets dat ik eerder gehoord heb. En zodra de laatste noot van ‘Rearview’ weerklinkt weet ik het weer. Ik was heel even terug op het ‘Explosions in the Sky’ concert waar ik een paar maand eerder uit mijn dak gegaan was. Beetje nutteloos om nu nog te beweren dat ik een broertje dood heb aan bands vergelijken, maar dit moest gewoon even.

Hopelijk doen ze ons voor het volgende album een plezier en krijgen we meer dan 5 nummers. Want het staat als een paal boven water, ‘Gifts From Enola’ kan het dak van om het even welke donkere kelder er af blazen. Of van een tent op Pukkelpop misschien?

Melissa BAUWENS
05/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines