tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/06/2011 : GIFTS FROM ENOLA - Gifts from Enola

GIFTS FROM ENOLA

Gifts from Enola

MusicCD
Post Rock

[70/100]   
05/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

‘Gifts From Enola’ is an instrumental post-rock band from Harrisonburg, Virginia. The band consists of the foursome Andrew Barnes, Nathaniel ‘Nate’l Dominy, CJ DeLuca and Jud Mason. In July 2010 they released their third full length and self-titled album. They were one of the first bands to get signed by the Indie record label ‘The Mylene Sheath’.

I should probably start with a confession. Personally, I rarely listen to instrumental music. And so ‘Gifts From Enola’ turned out to be a treat for my ears and an education for my music taste. Even though there are only 5 tracks on the album, all 5 of them flow into each other so naturally that you kind of forget where one ends and the next begins.

Half way through ‘Lionized’ I get the feeling they remind me something I heard before. And by the fade-out of ‘Rearview’ I remember… This reminds me very much of that night I went crazy at an ‘Explosions in the Sky’ concert. Guess there is no use anymore saying that I generally dislike comparing bands, but this just had to be said.

Hopefully they will do us all a favour for the next album and treat us to more than 5 songs. Because honestly, there is no doubt ‘Gifts From Enola’ could blow the roof of any dark basement, or any tent at Pukkelpop, for that matter.

Melissa BAUWENS
05/06/2011


NL

‘Gifts From Enola’ is een instrumentale post-rock band uit Harrisonburg, Virginia. De band bestaat uit het viertal Andrew Barnes, Nathaniel ‘Nate’l Dominy, CJ DeLuca en Jud Mason. In juli 2010 verscheen hun derde, zelfgetiteld album. Ze waren ook een van de eerste bands die een contract tekenden bij het Indie platenlabel ‘The Mylene Sheath’.

Ik moet eerlijkheidshalve eerst opbiechten dat ik persoonlijk zelden naar instrumentale muziek luister. ‘Gifts From Enola’ bleek dan ook een heropvoeding van mijn muzikale smaakpapillen.Er staan slechts 5 nummers op het album, maar ze vloeien zo vlot in elkaar over dat je nauwelijks merkt waar het ene nummer stopt en het volgende begint.

Halverwege ‘Lionized’ krijg ik het gevoel dat dit mij heel sterk herinnert aan iets dat ik eerder gehoord heb. En zodra de laatste noot van ‘Rearview’ weerklinkt weet ik het weer. Ik was heel even terug op het ‘Explosions in the Sky’ concert waar ik een paar maand eerder uit mijn dak gegaan was. Beetje nutteloos om nu nog te beweren dat ik een broertje dood heb aan bands vergelijken, maar dit moest gewoon even.

Hopelijk doen ze ons voor het volgende album een plezier en krijgen we meer dan 5 nummers. Want het staat als een paal boven water, ‘Gifts From Enola’ kan het dak van om het even welke donkere kelder er af blazen. Of van een tent op Pukkelpop misschien?

Melissa BAUWENS
05/06/2011


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)