tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

14/12/2014 : GIRLS AT OUR BEST - Pleasure

GIRLS AT OUR BEST

Pleasure

MusicAlbum Classics
Post PunkPunkRiot Grrrl

[90/100]   

Optic Nerve Recordings:
14/12/2014, Paul PLEDGER

There are reissues and then there are Optic Nerve reissues. Following on from the recent Wolfhounds and Cud releases, the mainly vinyl imprint has spied a gap in the market with a serious contender - the oft-overlooked sole album by the rather jangle-tastic Girls At our Best.

They hailed from Leeds, were fronted by the photogenic Jude Jo Evans and became a Peel favourite with a string of memorable singles and this one foray into full-length nirvana. One particular single, Getting Nowhere Fast, earned some kudos with a new generation in the late '80s after getting respectfully covered by The Wedding Present (twice the speed of the original, natch) but little else about Pleasure has been documented to any great degree - until now.

The original vinyl appeared on the Thomas Dolby-affiliated Happy Birthday Records in 1980 and contained a 'Pleasure' bag, beautifully recreated and upgraded here as two colour-splattered slices of wax (the original was a single album). As post-punk albums go, Pleasure is likeable enough and contains all the shambolic energy and songwriting prowess of The Raincoats, Orange Juice and, at a pinch, early Blondie. Check out the title-track or another single Fast Boyfriends for proof that Getting Nowhere Fast was no fluke, merely one of many top songs written by the band.

The second disc rounds up the various singles, including the spunky debut Politics and the swan-song Go For Gold. The latter track could very well have acted as a template for '90s girl-powered Brit-poppers Echobelly, Lush or Sleeper and might have been a hit in another time and place, such is its fresh-faced allure.

Copies come numbered in a gatefold-sleeve, wrapped in a protective clear bag. A great job all round.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
14/12/2014


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets