tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GLACIS - Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now

GLACIS

Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now

MusicCD
AmbientNeoclassical

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Glacis is the latest project of the Scottish musician Euan McMeeken. He is a former member of The Graveyard Tapes (dark experimental pop) and The Kays Lavelle (indie pop). Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now is his new mini-CD, which can be situated in the twilight zone between ambient and neoclassical. The album contains six compositions in which the piano takes the lead.

In 2015, we introduced the latest albums of Bruno Sanfilippo and Bruno Bavota on PAB, contemporary composers/musicians who try to combine minimal piano and electronics and/or contemporary technologies, resulting in a sound that is very similar to classical music. Glacis belongs to this new generation of composers, because he makes fragile piano music that is sometimes supplemented by minimalistic synth sounds, while he focuses on the sound of the piano and the symbiosis with the electronics, and much less on rhythm or all-consuming melodies.

Quiet, understated and minimalist. That's how piano music sounds in 2016. The Early Piano Works by Erik Satie (Gnossiennes) and the melodic passages from The Sonatas and Interludes for Prepared Piano by John Cage are certainly sources of inspiration for the minimalist approach of these young pianists. Maybe it all sounds less virtuosic than the compositions by Franz Liszt and Frédéric Chopin, but this new approach ensures the piano a place in the musical experience of the young generation, similar to the efforts of artists like Jo Quail and Underwood and their colleagues for the cello.

No One Can Reach Us Now, or Ever is the first song on the CD, a quiet piano track with barely audible electronics like soft noise or a short reverberation at the end of the piano sound. Seen Through a Doorway begins with careful electronics, drowned out by the piano shortly afterwards. It is a minimalist composition, quite repetitive, with an emphatic tone. Then, a nagging synthesizer penetrates gently through the soundscape, but it never comes to the fore. Short wood-likey clicks seem to be added to Love, if You Love Me, another simple and melancholic composition in which the piano notes sound as falling raindrops.

For Your Fear I Would Give You Silver gets a background of abrasive and humming electronics, with an emphatic piano at the fore. No more silent passages here, but melodic and industrial sounds. The piano is manipulated In Under the Arc of the Sky, because it shifts from left to right and vice versa in the headphones. The background noise returns, but that may be the result of the (almost complete) absence of electronic sounds. However, there is no complete silence, but what we hear is barely audible. In the final composition There is Nothing, Yet I am Here, the piano is joined by William Ryan Fritch’s cello. The sound of the stringed instrument is blown up via multi-tracking, making it sound like a one-man orchestra and an impressive finale, although the piano gets the last word...

Gorgeous! Don’t miss this album!

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Glacis is het nieuwste project van de Schotse muzikant Euan McKeenen. Eerder was hij lid van The Graveyard Tapes (donkere experimentele pop) en The Kays Lavelle (indiepop), waarmee hij resp. in 2014 en 2010 materiaal uitbracht. Nu probeert hij het alleen met deze mini-cd die we situeren in het schemergebied tussen ambient en neoklassiek. Op Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now staan zes composities waarin de piano het voortouw neemt.

In 2015 stelden we u op deze site de recente albums van Bruno Sanfilippo en Bruno Bavota voor, eigentijdse componisten/muzikanten die minimale pianomuziek op de één of andere manier combineren met elektronica en/of hedendaagse technologieën, en die een geluid voortbrengen dat verwant is aan klassieke muziek. Glacis kunnen we probleemloos aan het lijstje toevoegen, want ook hier wordt gegrossierd in verstilde pianoklanken die soms worden aangevuld met minimalistisch synthesizergeluid, waarbij de nadruk op de klank van de piano en de symbiose met de elektronica ligt, en veel minder op ritme of alles verzwelgende melodieën.

Verstild, ingetogen en minimalistisch, zo klinkt pianomuziek anno 2016. We durven de vroege pianowerken van Erik Satie (Gnossiennes) als voorlopers suggereren, of de Sonatas & Interludes for Prepared Piano van John Cage als inspiratiebron voor de minimalistische aanpak van deze jonge pianisten, naast ander invloeden. Wellicht klinkt het allemaal minder virtuoos dan de composities van Franz Liszt en Frédéric Chopin, maar het verzekert de piano een plaatsje in de muziekbeleving van een jonge generatie, net zoals artiesten als Jo Quail en Innerwoud en hun collega’s dat doen voor de cello.

No One Can Reach Us Now, or Ever is de eerste track op de cd, een rustige pianotrack met nauwelijks hoorbare elektronica als een zachte ruis en af en toe een korte nagalm op het einde van de pianoklank. In de intro van Seen Through a Doorway valt de elektronica iets meer op, maar vervolgens wordt die overstemd door de piano. De compositie is minimalistisch, eerder repetitief van aard en nadrukkelijk, met na verloop van tijd een zeurende synthesizer die voorzichtig door het soundscape dringt, maar nooit op de voorgrond treedt. Aan Love, if You Love Me lijken korte houtachtige clicks te zijn toegevoegd. Het is opnieuw een eenvoudige en melancholische compositie waarin de klanken als bevroren regendruppels neervallen.

For Your Fear I Would Give You Silver krijgt een achtergrond van schurende en zoemende elektronische geluiden waartegen de piano de strijd aanbindt. Het pianogeluid blijft altijd op de voorgrond, maar de stilte uit de eerdere tracks wordt hier helemaal, zij het nooit nadrukkelijk opgevuld met melodische en industrial geluidjes. Het geluid van de piano in Under the Arc of the Sky is aanvankelijk gemanipuleerd, want in de hoofdtelefoon gaat het van links naar rechts en omgekeerd. De achtergrondruis is terug, maar dat heeft wellicht veel te maken met de (bijna) afwezigheid van de elektronica. Toch is de achtergrond niet helemaal stil, maar wat je hoort is nauwelijks hoorbaar. In de slotcompositie There is Nothing, Yet I am Here krijgt de piano het gezelschap van de cello van William Ryan Fritch. Het geluid van het snaarinstrument is via multitracking opgeblazen tot een eenmansorkest, waardoor deze cd net geen indrukwekkende finale krijgt, want het laatste woord is aan de piano die rustig wegkabbelt.

Bloedmooi. Zo horen we het graag!

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift