tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2014 : GOD MACCABRE - THE WINTERLONG (reissue)

GOD MACCABRE

THE WINTERLONG (reissue)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoomMetal

[75/100]   

Relapse Records
06/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This one has its origins in 1991! After listening I can say that it's now almost impossible to say that it's really older than 2014! The only trouble I have is more of a personal matter: it has not enough variation in the game play! I'm pretty sure that fans of the band and fans of this genre will be delighted by their great power play!

It all starts with 'Into nowhere': a brutal sound, with a monster on the mic, heavy drums, loud roaring guitars... now and then it gets speeded up. 'Lost' is a bit more speeded up. And however the sound is pretty much ok it's in the end too much of the same. Ok, I was able to listen to it until the very end, but I was counting off the tracks. It's great for a few tracks, but then I start looking if I can do something else in the meantime. Once again: you really have to be a fan of this band or of this genre.

'Lamentation' is a soft interlude and captivated my attention again. Love the peace and the acoustic guitars, finally something else! I even hear clearly a synth and a flute!

'In Grief' throws us a bomb with aggressive power play and energetic vocals. Sadly the tempo softly fades away, it seems like they are running out of energy... 'Life's verge' is a bit better. After that: almost all of the same. Dying softly...

Sorry guys, but I think I have stated my point...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/06/2014


Music reviews

27
09
JOSH WERNER
Mode For Titan
26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Slow Down
27
09
A CERTAIN RATIO
Always In Love
26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra