tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2014 : GOD MACCABRE - THE WINTERLONG (reissue)

GOD MACCABRE

THE WINTERLONG (reissue)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoomMetal

[75/100]   

Relapse Records
06/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This one has its origins in 1991! After listening I can say that it's now almost impossible to say that it's really older than 2014! The only trouble I have is more of a personal matter: it has not enough variation in the game play! I'm pretty sure that fans of the band and fans of this genre will be delighted by their great power play!

It all starts with 'Into nowhere': a brutal sound, with a monster on the mic, heavy drums, loud roaring guitars... now and then it gets speeded up. 'Lost' is a bit more speeded up. And however the sound is pretty much ok it's in the end too much of the same. Ok, I was able to listen to it until the very end, but I was counting off the tracks. It's great for a few tracks, but then I start looking if I can do something else in the meantime. Once again: you really have to be a fan of this band or of this genre.

'Lamentation' is a soft interlude and captivated my attention again. Love the peace and the acoustic guitars, finally something else! I even hear clearly a synth and a flute!

'In Grief' throws us a bomb with aggressive power play and energetic vocals. Sadly the tempo softly fades away, it seems like they are running out of energy... 'Life's verge' is a bit better. After that: almost all of the same. Dying softly...

Sorry guys, but I think I have stated my point...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/06/2014


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void