tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2013 : GODFATHERS, THE - Jukebox Fury

GODFATHERS, THE

Jukebox Fury

MusicCD
GaragerockPunk

[85/100]   

Godfathers Recordings
18/10/2013, Chris KONINGS

Another legend that rises again, The Godfathers are a seminal band from the UK that added a bit of 50's, 60's and even early 70's panache to the punk movement. They called it a quit in the nineties but now they are back with "Jukebox Fury", a well chosen title since these songs could well be all on a jukebox! They grew up with older sisters and brothers, avid listeners of 50's and 60's rock 'n roll so that's how they made their own peculiar punk style.

Or to say it differently, they manage to go from Cash, Elvis, The Beatles, Iggy, Ramones or even Morricone and boil it all in a punk stew to make it even tastier then a burger in Arnold's from Happy Days. I love the beat driven rock 'n roll and spoken word ranting about alpha males that are still as primitive as the cavemen. Biting criticism, that's what they are best at! Hilarious lyrics too:

Now this alpha male meat-eater. He ain’t no book reader

With a club in his hand. He’s a primitive man!

He's so neanderthal, a neolitic psychopatic primitive man!

Primitive man, you're so wild and free, we're not so different you and me."

Another biting song is "The Outsider" with spitted lyrics and sharp guitars. Just check it out on the Youtube-clip!

Also available on red vinyl, only 500 copies! Recommended for anyone who likes good old fashion rock 'n roll and old school punk!

Chris KONINGS
18/10/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain