tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi

GODFREY REGGIO

Powaqqatsi

MovieMovie classics
Documentary

[85/100]   

Arrow
16/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some days ago we have reviewed the first part of this box: Koyaanisqatsi. With the sequel, we are 6 years further in time and lots of things have changed. The Berlin Wall was smashed to pieces and evoked a false optimism. It looked like our civilisation was no longer under Russian threat. False thinking! I mean, people were still producing nuclear missiles and the environment problems were certainly not solved, but people were living in a sort of trance. They believed that for once in their life they were doing things good and had no message in a documentary like Powaqqatsi that reminded them they better would change things on Planet Earth. But good, you don't only have to blame the audience as director Reggio never reached the brilliance of his former film.


It sounds odd, but maybe you can blame Philip Glass in a way. Nah, let us be clear about it: his score is still phenomenal, but the composer chooses for African beats that are similar to the later work of Dead Can Dance. Impressive, but it doesn't have the effect from the first one. Reggio is also the guilty one. Every shot is impressive, but there's a lack of a real script. It's like you're having a looking in a photo album from someone who knows how to take pictures, but once the book is closed, you tend to forget it all. But as said, some scenes are just incredible, especially the opening shot in where you can see hundreds of people from the Brazilian Rainforest who are climbing hills with a sack of sand as they're in search of gold dust. Another problem is the moral undertone that dominates this picture. You don't hear a word, but the images speak for themselves. In a way Reggio wants us to believe that the people from the Third World are happier than us. Is that really so? Would a Nigerian not be happier if he actually knew the delights (or if you prefer, the Satanic tricks) of our Western civilisation? I wouldn't bet my money on it!


Powaqqatsi is now out on Blu-ray, along with Koyaanisqatsi in a super nice box on Arrow.

Didier BECU
16/05/2014


NL

In de jaren 80 was het helemaal niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat de filmkijker een kaartje kocht om in de bioscoop een documentaire te bekijken. Tot ieders verbazing werd Koyaanisqatsi een gigantisch succes, toch duurde het zes jaar vooraleer de opvolger klaar was. Ondertussen was er al heel wat veranderd. De Berlijnse muur lag plat en het angstgevoel dat typisch was voor de jaren 80 was verdwenen. Er werden nog evenveel kernraketten als vroeger geproduceerd en de mens was nog altijd een even smerig beest, alleen leefde hij in de jaren 90 in een roes. Dat zal wellicht de hoofdreden zijn waarom de opvolger niet zo'n impact maakte. Koyaanisqatsi was een uiting van angst, na afloop werd je er aan herinnerd dat de mensheid helemaal niet goed bezig is. Bij Powaqqatsi voel je dat niet. Meer zelfs, ofschoon de film net zoals zijn voorganger een collage is van adembenemende cinematografie, raakt Powaqqatsi nooit de juiste snaar.

Misschien is Philip Glass één van de schuldigen. Neen, begrijp ons niet verkeerd: zijn score is fenomenaal, alleen koos de componist voor opzwepende Afrikaanse beats zoals we die van het latere Dead Can Dance-werk kennen en dat heeft niet hetzelfde effect als bij de eersteling. Ook Reggio gaat niet vrijuit. Ieder shot is fenomenaal en de eerste beelden die je ziet van honderden arbeiders uit het Braziliaanse Amazonewoud die zakjes slijk naar boven sjouwen laat indruk na. Het probleem is wel dat er geen structuur zit in Powaqqatsi. Je krijgt het gevoel dat je naar een fotoalbum zit te staren van iemand die weet hoe hij moet fotograferen, maar eens je het boek dichtklapt ben je alle kiekjes vergeten. Een ander probleem is het moraliserende vingertje van Reggio. Hij zegt geen woord, maar het is zonneklaar dat hij ons wil doen geloven dat onze medemens uit de Derde Wereld ondanks zijn miserie gelukkiger is dan de westerlingen. Is dat zo? Zou het niet kunnen dat de lach van een Nigeriaan breder wordt als hij de geneugten (of zo je het wil de duivelse verleidingen) van onze Westerse maatschappij heeft leren kennen? Wat niet weet, niet deert.

De box met Koyaanisqatsi en Powaqqatsi is nu uit op Blu-ray via Arrow.
 

Didier BECU
16/05/2014


16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine