tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi

GODFREY REGGIO

Powaqqatsi

MovieMovie classics
Documentary

[85/100]   

Arrow
16/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some days ago we have reviewed the first part of this box: Koyaanisqatsi. With the sequel, we are 6 years further in time and lots of things have changed. The Berlin Wall was smashed to pieces and evoked a false optimism. It looked like our civilisation was no longer under Russian threat. False thinking! I mean, people were still producing nuclear missiles and the environment problems were certainly not solved, but people were living in a sort of trance. They believed that for once in their life they were doing things good and had no message in a documentary like Powaqqatsi that reminded them they better would change things on Planet Earth. But good, you don't only have to blame the audience as director Reggio never reached the brilliance of his former film.


It sounds odd, but maybe you can blame Philip Glass in a way. Nah, let us be clear about it: his score is still phenomenal, but the composer chooses for African beats that are similar to the later work of Dead Can Dance. Impressive, but it doesn't have the effect from the first one. Reggio is also the guilty one. Every shot is impressive, but there's a lack of a real script. It's like you're having a looking in a photo album from someone who knows how to take pictures, but once the book is closed, you tend to forget it all. But as said, some scenes are just incredible, especially the opening shot in where you can see hundreds of people from the Brazilian Rainforest who are climbing hills with a sack of sand as they're in search of gold dust. Another problem is the moral undertone that dominates this picture. You don't hear a word, but the images speak for themselves. In a way Reggio wants us to believe that the people from the Third World are happier than us. Is that really so? Would a Nigerian not be happier if he actually knew the delights (or if you prefer, the Satanic tricks) of our Western civilisation? I wouldn't bet my money on it!


Powaqqatsi is now out on Blu-ray, along with Koyaanisqatsi in a super nice box on Arrow.

Didier BECU
16/05/2014


NL

In de jaren 80 was het helemaal niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat de filmkijker een kaartje kocht om in de bioscoop een documentaire te bekijken. Tot ieders verbazing werd Koyaanisqatsi een gigantisch succes, toch duurde het zes jaar vooraleer de opvolger klaar was. Ondertussen was er al heel wat veranderd. De Berlijnse muur lag plat en het angstgevoel dat typisch was voor de jaren 80 was verdwenen. Er werden nog evenveel kernraketten als vroeger geproduceerd en de mens was nog altijd een even smerig beest, alleen leefde hij in de jaren 90 in een roes. Dat zal wellicht de hoofdreden zijn waarom de opvolger niet zo'n impact maakte. Koyaanisqatsi was een uiting van angst, na afloop werd je er aan herinnerd dat de mensheid helemaal niet goed bezig is. Bij Powaqqatsi voel je dat niet. Meer zelfs, ofschoon de film net zoals zijn voorganger een collage is van adembenemende cinematografie, raakt Powaqqatsi nooit de juiste snaar.

Misschien is Philip Glass één van de schuldigen. Neen, begrijp ons niet verkeerd: zijn score is fenomenaal, alleen koos de componist voor opzwepende Afrikaanse beats zoals we die van het latere Dead Can Dance-werk kennen en dat heeft niet hetzelfde effect als bij de eersteling. Ook Reggio gaat niet vrijuit. Ieder shot is fenomenaal en de eerste beelden die je ziet van honderden arbeiders uit het Braziliaanse Amazonewoud die zakjes slijk naar boven sjouwen laat indruk na. Het probleem is wel dat er geen structuur zit in Powaqqatsi. Je krijgt het gevoel dat je naar een fotoalbum zit te staren van iemand die weet hoe hij moet fotograferen, maar eens je het boek dichtklapt ben je alle kiekjes vergeten. Een ander probleem is het moraliserende vingertje van Reggio. Hij zegt geen woord, maar het is zonneklaar dat hij ons wil doen geloven dat onze medemens uit de Derde Wereld ondanks zijn miserie gelukkiger is dan de westerlingen. Is dat zo? Zou het niet kunnen dat de lach van een Nigeriaan breder wordt als hij de geneugten (of zo je het wil de duivelse verleidingen) van onze Westerse maatschappij heeft leren kennen? Wat niet weet, niet deert.

De box met Koyaanisqatsi en Powaqqatsi is nu uit op Blu-ray via Arrow.
 

Didier BECU
16/05/2014


16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi 16/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Powaqqatsi

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)