tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus

GOLDEN APES

Malus

MusicCD
Gothic RockPsych Rock

[78/100]   

afmusic
18/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the very beginning (1998) this band got a speical place in the alternative gothic & wave scene in Germany and Europe. The bands name is inspired by Friedrich Nietzsche, it is therefore not surprising that the tonal variety, endless and reckless dialogue with and between different styles and influences is evident in the music. O the one hand the music shows the resolute roughness of the early Psychedelic Furs, on the other hand the melancholic and nostalgic feelings of The Cure, or the claustrophobic isolation of the music of Joy Division and the epic horizonlessness of Fields of the Nephilim. With their 8th studio album Malus, Golden Apes has again widened its horizons by extending the scope of the sonic language and by adding a new layer to the music.

Cedars Of Salt opens the album. We recognize the psychedelic drawn-out sound, consisting of sad vocals and spellbinding guitars. The song builds up nicely and the solo guitars sound good. In Halving Moons and Drown, we recognize influences of The Cure and even David Bowie's ghost wanders around in Drown. The drums are pretty straight, a bass guitar cuts through the song and gives it a pretty bold dark edge. The tempo of the song is quieter. Verity contains some elements of post-punk, but also solid rock passages.

Grinding Mills is a more classic eighties goth rock song. The balance in the instrumental part of this album will surprise you. Each sound has its place, each instrument gets the space that it needs and deserves. It sounds solid, but also nicely finished: a drop of milk blending with coffee. Missing is very psychedelic, with very very claiming guitars and and extra vocal piece with a feminine voice of The Frozen Autumn's Froxeanne. Correlation is a very nice acoustic song.

The strongest song is Malady. It has a combination of influences from all the other songs: dark wave, post-punk, cold wave, a psychedelic atmosphere, yet a fairly tight pace, although the lingering feeling remains. The guitar work makes me think of the glory days of U2, the straightforward guitars without frills. The track hurtles towards the end on a solid bass line, and then just before the end it breaks loose. Sermon In The Vale and the title song Malus complete the album. The latter completely instrumental, chaotic, majestic, poignant and captivating.

Golden Apes made this album without interference from anyone. Songs that stand. Its it a superb album? A questionable case. The variety in styles, blended together on this album, shows versatility. A good album, but not a superb one. At WGT (2016) I saw them perform live on stage, and I was pleasantly surprised by the performance. I therefore think that the songs on stage are better than on this album. Time for the guys to prove it....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2016


NL

Golden Apes zag het levenslicht in 1998 en kreeg vanaf het begin een speciaal plaatsje in de gothic- & wavescène in Duitsland en Europa. De band haalde zijn naam bij Nietsche en het is dan ook niet verwonderlijk dat de tonale verscheidenheid, de eindeloze en roekeloze dialoog met en tussen verschillende stijlen en invloeden waarneembaar is in de muziek. Enerzijds gaat het in de richting van de resolute ruwheid van de beginperiode van de Psychedelic Furs, aan de andezijds in de melancholische richting van The Cure op basis van nostalgische gevoelens of het claustrofobische isolement van de muziek van Joy Division en de epische uitvoerigheid van bv. Fields of the Nephilim. Met hun achtste studioalbum Malus gaat Golden Apes op dit elan door.

Cedars Of Salt opent het album. We herkennen meteen de psychedelisch sound, bestaand uit treurnis doordrenkte vocalen en bezwerende gitaren.De track wordt mooi opgebouwd en de sologitaren krijgen een plaatsje. In Halving Moons en Drown zijn duidelijke vleugjes The Cure te horen, zelfs David Bowies geest dwaalt in Drown rond. De drums roffelen, een basgitaar snijdt doorheen de song en geeft die een vrij vet en donker randje. Het tempo van deze song is rustiger. Verity bevat dan weer elementen van postpunk evenals stevig rockende passages.

In Grinding Mills is dan weer de meer klassieke eightiesgothrocksong. Wat opvalt op dit album is het evenwicht in het instrumentale gedeelte. Elke sound heeft zijn plaats, elk instrument de ruimte die het nodig heeft en verdient. Het klinkt solide, maar evenzeer mooi afgewerkt: een wolkje melk dat zich perfect met koffie mengt. Missing is psychedelica ten top, met wel heel heftige gitaren en versterking met de vrouwelijke stem van The Frozen Autumn ́s Froxeanne in het vocale deel. En er is ook een rustige akoestische track: Correlation.

De track die er voor mij uitspringt is Malady, een combinatie van invloeden uit alle andere songs: darkwave, postpunk, coldwave, een psychedelische atmosfeer en toch een vrij strak tempo, hoewel het als slepend aanvoelt. Het gitaarwerk doet me denken aan de gloriedagen van U2, de rechttoe rechtaan gitaren zonder franje. De song raast naar het einde op een stevige baslijn, om dan net voor het einde open te bloeien.

Sermon In The Vale en de titelsong Malus ronden het album af. Het laatste volledig instrumentaal, chaotisch, majestueus, aangrijpend en beklijvend.

Dit album heeft Golden Apes gemaakt zonder inmenging van wie dan ook. Songs die staan. Om nu echt te zeggen dat het een wereldplaat is, daar twijfel ik aan. De band staat er wel, dat hoor je, dat voel je. De verscheidenheid in stijlen die met elkaar worden vermeng, getuigt van veelzijdigheid. Een goed album zonder meer. Ik was op WGT (2016) heel aangenaam verrast door de prestaties van de band. Ik denk dan ook dat de songs live meer doorleef zijn dan ze op dit album klinken. Ik ben benieuwd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2016


18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus 18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus 18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus

Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn