tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus

GOLDEN APES

Malus

MusicCD
Gothic RockPsych Rock

[78/100]   

afmusic
18/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the very beginning (1998) this band got a speical place in the alternative gothic & wave scene in Germany and Europe. The bands name is inspired by Friedrich Nietzsche, it is therefore not surprising that the tonal variety, endless and reckless dialogue with and between different styles and influences is evident in the music. O the one hand the music shows the resolute roughness of the early Psychedelic Furs, on the other hand the melancholic and nostalgic feelings of The Cure, or the claustrophobic isolation of the music of Joy Division and the epic horizonlessness of Fields of the Nephilim. With their 8th studio album Malus, Golden Apes has again widened its horizons by extending the scope of the sonic language and by adding a new layer to the music.

Cedars Of Salt opens the album. We recognize the psychedelic drawn-out sound, consisting of sad vocals and spellbinding guitars. The song builds up nicely and the solo guitars sound good. In Halving Moons and Drown, we recognize influences of The Cure and even David Bowie's ghost wanders around in Drown. The drums are pretty straight, a bass guitar cuts through the song and gives it a pretty bold dark edge. The tempo of the song is quieter. Verity contains some elements of post-punk, but also solid rock passages.

Grinding Mills is a more classic eighties goth rock song. The balance in the instrumental part of this album will surprise you. Each sound has its place, each instrument gets the space that it needs and deserves. It sounds solid, but also nicely finished: a drop of milk blending with coffee. Missing is very psychedelic, with very very claiming guitars and and extra vocal piece with a feminine voice of The Frozen Autumn's Froxeanne. Correlation is a very nice acoustic song.

The strongest song is Malady. It has a combination of influences from all the other songs: dark wave, post-punk, cold wave, a psychedelic atmosphere, yet a fairly tight pace, although the lingering feeling remains. The guitar work makes me think of the glory days of U2, the straightforward guitars without frills. The track hurtles towards the end on a solid bass line, and then just before the end it breaks loose. Sermon In The Vale and the title song Malus complete the album. The latter completely instrumental, chaotic, majestic, poignant and captivating.

Golden Apes made this album without interference from anyone. Songs that stand. Its it a superb album? A questionable case. The variety in styles, blended together on this album, shows versatility. A good album, but not a superb one. At WGT (2016) I saw them perform live on stage, and I was pleasantly surprised by the performance. I therefore think that the songs on stage are better than on this album. Time for the guys to prove it....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2016


NL

Golden Apes zag het levenslicht in 1998 en kreeg vanaf het begin een speciaal plaatsje in de gothic- & wavescène in Duitsland en Europa. De band haalde zijn naam bij Nietsche en het is dan ook niet verwonderlijk dat de tonale verscheidenheid, de eindeloze en roekeloze dialoog met en tussen verschillende stijlen en invloeden waarneembaar is in de muziek. Enerzijds gaat het in de richting van de resolute ruwheid van de beginperiode van de Psychedelic Furs, aan de andezijds in de melancholische richting van The Cure op basis van nostalgische gevoelens of het claustrofobische isolement van de muziek van Joy Division en de epische uitvoerigheid van bv. Fields of the Nephilim. Met hun achtste studioalbum Malus gaat Golden Apes op dit elan door.

Cedars Of Salt opent het album. We herkennen meteen de psychedelisch sound, bestaand uit treurnis doordrenkte vocalen en bezwerende gitaren.De track wordt mooi opgebouwd en de sologitaren krijgen een plaatsje. In Halving Moons en Drown zijn duidelijke vleugjes The Cure te horen, zelfs David Bowies geest dwaalt in Drown rond. De drums roffelen, een basgitaar snijdt doorheen de song en geeft die een vrij vet en donker randje. Het tempo van deze song is rustiger. Verity bevat dan weer elementen van postpunk evenals stevig rockende passages.

In Grinding Mills is dan weer de meer klassieke eightiesgothrocksong. Wat opvalt op dit album is het evenwicht in het instrumentale gedeelte. Elke sound heeft zijn plaats, elk instrument de ruimte die het nodig heeft en verdient. Het klinkt solide, maar evenzeer mooi afgewerkt: een wolkje melk dat zich perfect met koffie mengt. Missing is psychedelica ten top, met wel heel heftige gitaren en versterking met de vrouwelijke stem van The Frozen Autumn ́s Froxeanne in het vocale deel. En er is ook een rustige akoestische track: Correlation.

De track die er voor mij uitspringt is Malady, een combinatie van invloeden uit alle andere songs: darkwave, postpunk, coldwave, een psychedelische atmosfeer en toch een vrij strak tempo, hoewel het als slepend aanvoelt. Het gitaarwerk doet me denken aan de gloriedagen van U2, de rechttoe rechtaan gitaren zonder franje. De song raast naar het einde op een stevige baslijn, om dan net voor het einde open te bloeien.

Sermon In The Vale en de titelsong Malus ronden het album af. Het laatste volledig instrumentaal, chaotisch, majestueus, aangrijpend en beklijvend.

Dit album heeft Golden Apes gemaakt zonder inmenging van wie dan ook. Songs die staan. Om nu echt te zeggen dat het een wereldplaat is, daar twijfel ik aan. De band staat er wel, dat hoor je, dat voel je. De verscheidenheid in stijlen die met elkaar worden vermeng, getuigt van veelzijdigheid. Een goed album zonder meer. Ik was op WGT (2016) heel aangenaam verrast door de prestaties van de band. Ik denk dan ook dat de songs live meer doorleef zijn dan ze op dit album klinken. Ik ben benieuwd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2016


18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus 18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus 18/12/2016 : GOLDEN APES - Malus

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On