tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

12/10/2018 : GOO MUNDAY - Goo Munday

GOO MUNDAY

Goo Munday

MusicCD / Digital
Electro

[85/100]   

Negative Gain Productions
12/10/2018, Kevin BURKE

On Goo Mundays self-titled debut release the Australian throws her very soul into the mix, building a fearless soundscape of Electro-Punk, she is neither afraid to over-reach or offend across the five tracks that make up this fresh slice of electronic magic.

The skill of multi-instrumentalist and producer is matched by the creativity of her lyrics and themes which she conjures almost effortlessly, from the opener “Where Did You Go” which feels like a soundtrack opener to a European film-noir, with a very catchy vocal line, ethereal and deep at the same time very accessible.

With the urban bombast of “I Found You” Munday’s shifting vocal trying to find a comfort zone between the style of Taylor Swift and Siouxsie Sioux, a punk attitude beneath electronic beats you can still find a melodic deliverery.

For a weak moment “Keys” seems repetitive to the point of submerging the direction of the song, whilst the playful “Think For Yourself” is Goo Munday gliding along, a combination of her talents hitting the right mark at the right moments and again displaying her vocal range in an obscure tale of heartache.

The closer “F**k Your Fear” is transcendent, soft vocal against steady beats, although the name of the track may put you off the menacing beauty of it. Overall this artist is one to watch given this depth of talent on display and perhaps we can look forward to more dark, driven quality music.

Kevin BURKE
12/10/2018


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu