tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

12/10/2018 : GOO MUNDAY - Goo Munday

GOO MUNDAY

Goo Munday

MusicCD / Digital
Electro

[85/100]   

Negative Gain Productions
12/10/2018, Kevin BURKE

On Goo Mundays self-titled debut release the Australian throws her very soul into the mix, building a fearless soundscape of Electro-Punk, she is neither afraid to over-reach or offend across the five tracks that make up this fresh slice of electronic magic.

The skill of multi-instrumentalist and producer is matched by the creativity of her lyrics and themes which she conjures almost effortlessly, from the opener “Where Did You Go” which feels like a soundtrack opener to a European film-noir, with a very catchy vocal line, ethereal and deep at the same time very accessible.

With the urban bombast of “I Found You” Munday’s shifting vocal trying to find a comfort zone between the style of Taylor Swift and Siouxsie Sioux, a punk attitude beneath electronic beats you can still find a melodic deliverery.

For a weak moment “Keys” seems repetitive to the point of submerging the direction of the song, whilst the playful “Think For Yourself” is Goo Munday gliding along, a combination of her talents hitting the right mark at the right moments and again displaying her vocal range in an obscure tale of heartache.

The closer “F**k Your Fear” is transcendent, soft vocal against steady beats, although the name of the track may put you off the menacing beauty of it. Overall this artist is one to watch given this depth of talent on display and perhaps we can look forward to more dark, driven quality music.

Kevin BURKE
12/10/2018


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)