tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/07/2011 : GRAURAUM - Shades

GRAURAUM

Shades

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[77/100]   

Raumklang Music
19/07/2011, Didier BECU

One of the strangest names in music must be IDM as Intelligence Dance Music contains a superiority-feel that indicates that they're somewhat superior to the others?

Mind you, over the years, this genre spawned as much crap as any other genre simply because there are too many copyists and bands without imagination around.

One of the artists who has always followed his own path must be Dirk Geiger, a man who is so love in with music that he set up his own label: Raumklang Music.

Those familiar Dirk's work are aware that he is the kind of artist who doesn't believe in pigeonholing and therefore makes his music as varied as possible. An attitude we absolutely foster and it seems like he seeks those widely thoughts in artists that land on his label as well,

Grauraum for instance, which is the alter ego of German artist Simon Schikora.

If you don't count the remixes by LPF12 and Millipede, there are eight songs on here that are, just to make it more easier, categorized as IDM but where each track is still searching for other territories.

"Through the children eyes" flirts with the spacey sounds from You or Tangerine Dream, while "I say I am not" is more minimal techno, and there's even an experimental side when Milipede is involved.

Lots of ambient-atmospheres are added here as well which makes tracks "Underneath it all" perfect soundtracks for dreaming away in your chair.

And dreaming is something you can do on here as with a bit of imagination, you can form some pictures in your head that fits with this cinematographic music.

Of course, we know that we can offer you every day releases like these as they’re will always be artists around who transform their dreams into electronic sounds.

But then again, sweet dreams are all we have in this cruel world…

Didier BECU
19/07/2011


 

Next reviews
ACHENAR • Super Death Explosion Kittens
MINERVE • Please
HYCOSCYAMUS NIGER • Czas
SOLOLUST • Total Loss 7' Single
LAS KELLIES • LAS KELLIES
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!
JOHN FOXX AND HAROLD BUDD • Nighthawks (featuring Ruben Garcia)/Translucence and Drift Music
THE SUBS • Decontrol
SHARRON KRAUS • The Woody Nightshade
SILENT LOVE OF DEATH • Donde Habite El Olvido

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)