tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/07/2011 : GRAURAUM - Shades

GRAURAUM

Shades

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[77/100]   

Raumklang Music
19/07/2011, Didier BECU

One of the strangest names in music must be IDM as Intelligence Dance Music contains a superiority-feel that indicates that they're somewhat superior to the others?

Mind you, over the years, this genre spawned as much crap as any other genre simply because there are too many copyists and bands without imagination around.

One of the artists who has always followed his own path must be Dirk Geiger, a man who is so love in with music that he set up his own label: Raumklang Music.

Those familiar Dirk's work are aware that he is the kind of artist who doesn't believe in pigeonholing and therefore makes his music as varied as possible. An attitude we absolutely foster and it seems like he seeks those widely thoughts in artists that land on his label as well,

Grauraum for instance, which is the alter ego of German artist Simon Schikora.

If you don't count the remixes by LPF12 and Millipede, there are eight songs on here that are, just to make it more easier, categorized as IDM but where each track is still searching for other territories.

"Through the children eyes" flirts with the spacey sounds from You or Tangerine Dream, while "I say I am not" is more minimal techno, and there's even an experimental side when Milipede is involved.

Lots of ambient-atmospheres are added here as well which makes tracks "Underneath it all" perfect soundtracks for dreaming away in your chair.

And dreaming is something you can do on here as with a bit of imagination, you can form some pictures in your head that fits with this cinematographic music.

Of course, we know that we can offer you every day releases like these as they’re will always be artists around who transform their dreams into electronic sounds.

But then again, sweet dreams are all we have in this cruel world…

Didier BECU
19/07/2011


 

Next reviews
ACHENAR • Super Death Explosion Kittens
MINERVE • Please
HYCOSCYAMUS NIGER • Czas
SOLOLUST • Total Loss 7' Single
LAS KELLIES • LAS KELLIES
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!
JOHN FOXX AND HAROLD BUDD • Nighthawks (featuring Ruben Garcia)/Translucence and Drift Music
THE SUBS • Decontrol
SHARRON KRAUS • The Woody Nightshade
SILENT LOVE OF DEATH • Donde Habite El Olvido

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm