tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/07/2011 : GRAURAUM - Shades

GRAURAUM

Shades

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[77/100]   

Raumklang Music
19/07/2011, Didier BECU

One of the strangest names in music must be IDM as Intelligence Dance Music contains a superiority-feel that indicates that they're somewhat superior to the others?

Mind you, over the years, this genre spawned as much crap as any other genre simply because there are too many copyists and bands without imagination around.

One of the artists who has always followed his own path must be Dirk Geiger, a man who is so love in with music that he set up his own label: Raumklang Music.

Those familiar Dirk's work are aware that he is the kind of artist who doesn't believe in pigeonholing and therefore makes his music as varied as possible. An attitude we absolutely foster and it seems like he seeks those widely thoughts in artists that land on his label as well,

Grauraum for instance, which is the alter ego of German artist Simon Schikora.

If you don't count the remixes by LPF12 and Millipede, there are eight songs on here that are, just to make it more easier, categorized as IDM but where each track is still searching for other territories.

"Through the children eyes" flirts with the spacey sounds from You or Tangerine Dream, while "I say I am not" is more minimal techno, and there's even an experimental side when Milipede is involved.

Lots of ambient-atmospheres are added here as well which makes tracks "Underneath it all" perfect soundtracks for dreaming away in your chair.

And dreaming is something you can do on here as with a bit of imagination, you can form some pictures in your head that fits with this cinematographic music.

Of course, we know that we can offer you every day releases like these as they’re will always be artists around who transform their dreams into electronic sounds.

But then again, sweet dreams are all we have in this cruel world…

Didier BECU
19/07/2011


 

Next reviews
ACHENAR • Super Death Explosion Kittens
MINERVE • Please
HYCOSCYAMUS NIGER • Czas
SOLOLUST • Total Loss 7' Single
LAS KELLIES • LAS KELLIES
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!
JOHN FOXX AND HAROLD BUDD • Nighthawks (featuring Ruben Garcia)/Translucence and Drift Music
THE SUBS • Decontrol
SHARRON KRAUS • The Woody Nightshade
SILENT LOVE OF DEATH • Donde Habite El Olvido

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination