tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GREG LAKE - Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

GREG LAKE

Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

MusicCD
FM Rock

[75/100]   

Rock Candy Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Perhaps the name Greg Lake does not mean much to you, but if I tell you that he was part of King Crimson (he was involved in the making of legendary album In the Court of the Crimson King) and Emerson, Lake and Palmer, then a bell will ring. This multi-instrumentalist plays bass and guitar, sings and composes. When ELP stopped at the end of the seventies, he had a brief solo career and two albums: Greg Lake (1981) and Manoeuvres (1983) on which he got help from great names such as Bob Dylan, Gary Moore or Toto.

These two albums, and also Ride The Tiger which he made together with Geoff Downes, have been reissued with bonus tracks. What can you expect from these two albums? Very solid music that does not reach the level of his work with King Krimson or Emerson, Lake and Palmer, but surely worth listening too.

The album Greg Lake includes the FM rock anthem Nuclear Attack which is written by Gary Moore and which has similarities with Jake E Lee’s guitar work on Ozzy's album The Ultimate Sin. Love You Too Much (written by Lake, Dylan and Springs) is better than the rest. Once again he got help from Gary Moore, which you hear in the songs and the guitar compositions sometimes. Manoeuvres is a nice FM rock album in terms of production and it is a typical 80's product. Justen listen to the title song Too Young For Love, A Woman Like You, I Do not Why or I Do not wanna Lose Your Love.

Greg Lake fans will be satisfied with this re-release, but we don’t know what others will think of it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Greg Lake je niet meteen wat, maar als ik zeg dat hij deel uitmaakte van o.a. King Crimson ( hij was betrokken bij het legendarische album In The Court Of The Crimson King) en Emerson, Lake and Palmer, dan zal er ongetwijfeld een bel rinkelen. Deze multi-instrumentalist speelt bas en gitaar, zingt en componeert. Toen ELP eind de jaren zeventig ophield te bestaan, begon hij aan een korte solocarrière met als resultaat twee albums: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983) waarvoor hij hulp kreeg van grootheden zoals Bob Dylan, Gary Moore of Toto.

Deze twee albums, alsook het album Ride The Tiger dat hij samen met Geoff Downes maakte, zijn opnieuw uitgebracht en bevatten ook de nodige bonustracks. Wat mag je verwachten van deze twee opgepoetste albums? Heel degelijke en vakkundig gemaakte tracks die wel net niet het niveau halen van zijn werk met King Krimson of Emerson, Lake and Palmer, maar dat wil niet zeggen dat je zomaar moet passeren langs deze remasters.

Het album Greg Lake bevat de snedige FM-rocker Nuclear Attack dat door Gary Moore werd geschreven en die wat gelijkenissen vertoont met het gitaarwerk van Jake E Lee op Ozzy’s album The Ultimate Sin. Ook Love You Too Much (geschreven door Lake, Dylan en Springs) steekt er boven uit. Voor de rest is het album wat braafjes, waar Manoeuvres minder last van heeft. Het album is wat snediger en de composities hebben meer een eigen gezicht. Ook hier kreeg hij meermaals de hulp van Gary Moore en dat hoor je soms in de composities en aan het gitaarspel. Manoeuvres is daardoor een aangenaam FM-rockalbum dat qua productie en songarrangement als een typisch jarentachtigproduct klinkt met fijne tracks zoals titeltrack Too Young For Love, A Woman Like You, I Don’t Why of I Don’t Wanna Lose Your Love.

Fans van Greg Lake, die toe zijn aan een nieuw exemplaar van hun lp of cd, zullen tevreden zijn met deze heruitgave. Voor de rest is het wat koffiedik kijken of er hiervoor veel liefhebbers te vinden zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : GREG LAKE - Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983) 09/12/2016 : GREG LAKE - Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)