tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GREG LAKE - Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

GREG LAKE

Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

MusicCD
FM Rock

[75/100]   

Rock Candy Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Perhaps the name Greg Lake does not mean much to you, but if I tell you that he was part of King Crimson (he was involved in the making of legendary album In the Court of the Crimson King) and Emerson, Lake and Palmer, then a bell will ring. This multi-instrumentalist plays bass and guitar, sings and composes. When ELP stopped at the end of the seventies, he had a brief solo career and two albums: Greg Lake (1981) and Manoeuvres (1983) on which he got help from great names such as Bob Dylan, Gary Moore or Toto.

These two albums, and also Ride The Tiger which he made together with Geoff Downes, have been reissued with bonus tracks. What can you expect from these two albums? Very solid music that does not reach the level of his work with King Krimson or Emerson, Lake and Palmer, but surely worth listening too.

The album Greg Lake includes the FM rock anthem Nuclear Attack which is written by Gary Moore and which has similarities with Jake E Lee’s guitar work on Ozzy's album The Ultimate Sin. Love You Too Much (written by Lake, Dylan and Springs) is better than the rest. Once again he got help from Gary Moore, which you hear in the songs and the guitar compositions sometimes. Manoeuvres is a nice FM rock album in terms of production and it is a typical 80's product. Justen listen to the title song Too Young For Love, A Woman Like You, I Do not Why or I Do not wanna Lose Your Love.

Greg Lake fans will be satisfied with this re-release, but we don’t know what others will think of it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Misschien zegt de naam Greg Lake je niet meteen wat, maar als ik zeg dat hij deel uitmaakte van o.a. King Crimson ( hij was betrokken bij het legendarische album In The Court Of The Crimson King) en Emerson, Lake and Palmer, dan zal er ongetwijfeld een bel rinkelen. Deze multi-instrumentalist speelt bas en gitaar, zingt en componeert. Toen ELP eind de jaren zeventig ophield te bestaan, begon hij aan een korte solocarrière met als resultaat twee albums: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983) waarvoor hij hulp kreeg van grootheden zoals Bob Dylan, Gary Moore of Toto.

Deze twee albums, alsook het album Ride The Tiger dat hij samen met Geoff Downes maakte, zijn opnieuw uitgebracht en bevatten ook de nodige bonustracks. Wat mag je verwachten van deze twee opgepoetste albums? Heel degelijke en vakkundig gemaakte tracks die wel net niet het niveau halen van zijn werk met King Krimson of Emerson, Lake and Palmer, maar dat wil niet zeggen dat je zomaar moet passeren langs deze remasters.

Het album Greg Lake bevat de snedige FM-rocker Nuclear Attack dat door Gary Moore werd geschreven en die wat gelijkenissen vertoont met het gitaarwerk van Jake E Lee op Ozzy’s album The Ultimate Sin. Ook Love You Too Much (geschreven door Lake, Dylan en Springs) steekt er boven uit. Voor de rest is het album wat braafjes, waar Manoeuvres minder last van heeft. Het album is wat snediger en de composities hebben meer een eigen gezicht. Ook hier kreeg hij meermaals de hulp van Gary Moore en dat hoor je soms in de composities en aan het gitaarspel. Manoeuvres is daardoor een aangenaam FM-rockalbum dat qua productie en songarrangement als een typisch jarentachtigproduct klinkt met fijne tracks zoals titeltrack Too Young For Love, A Woman Like You, I Don’t Why of I Don’t Wanna Lose Your Love.

Fans van Greg Lake, die toe zijn aan een nieuw exemplaar van hun lp of cd, zullen tevreden zijn met deze heruitgave. Voor de rest is het wat koffiedik kijken of er hiervoor veel liefhebbers te vinden zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : GREG LAKE - Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983) 09/12/2016 : GREG LAKE - Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem