tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation

GREGG ARAKI

The Doom Generation

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseComing Of AgeCrimeDrama

[81/100]   

Lumire
29/10/2013, Didier BECU

EN

“A timebomb that explodes right in the face of the viewer”, that’s how Patrick Duynschlaegher (artistic director from the Filmfestival from Ghent) describes The Doom Generation by Gregg Araki. Just another picture which is only hailed by journos? Not really, as the well respected and currently deceased filmcritic Roger Ebert slashed down this roadmovie. According to his writings this picture has nothing to do with the art of filmmaking.

It's easy to see why someone doesn't like this, as in a way you can compare The Doom Generation with a melancholic song: whether you get it or you don't, It just depends on the kind of person you are.

The Doom Generation is the second part of The Teenage Apocalypse Trilogy. The title explains enough as we’re dealing with protagonists who haven’t the slightest change for a better future. They live in an empty dream and can’t even claim a happy end. When Jordan White (James Duval) and Amy Blue (Rose McGowan) drive away at the end of the movie on the tones by a Slowdive-tune, everyone knows that everything’s lost.

During a concert Jordan and Amy met the insane punk Xavier Red (Johnahton Schaech). Against their will, they’re taking the rebel on a crazy trip which brings them from one city to another. They’re not only involved in a threesome, they also end up in lots of violent situations.

The movie got compared with Natural Born Killers and that’s probably because of its violent atmosphere. A fine example is for example the sign from some cornershop that reads like “Shoplifters will be executed”. It’s indeed that type of violence. The conversations deal about nothing, just because there’s nothing to tell. The only thing that’s left for those kids is sex and useless violence. There’s no one around who ever wants to know their opinion.

Gregg Araki is using a very direct style in where sex is sex and violence is just violence. If he upsets the viewer than it’s like that, and who knows it’s even that what he’s after! Whatever you might think of this movie, you can be sure that The Doom Generation stays for a while inside your head.

And then there’s of course the music. Do you know one movie that features music by Front 242, Slowdive, Cocteau Twins, Ride, Lush, Nine Inch Nails of Meat Beat Manifesto? We guess not, but this one does!

For a long time, The Doom Generation was only available on videotape (or expensive import), but since shortly this cultmovie is out on dvd through Lumière.

A must for both music and filmfans.

Didier BECU
29/10/2013


NL

"Een filmische tijdbom die recht in het gezicht van de kijker explodeert", dat zijn de woorden die Patrick Duynschlaegher (artistiek directeur van het Filmfestival van Gent) gebruikt wanneer hij het over The Doom Generation van Gregg Araki heeft. Is dit dan weeral zo’n prent die alleen maar door critici wordt opgehemeld? Neen, niet bepaald, want de onlangs overleden en alom bejubelde filmcriticus Roger Ebert maakte deze roadmovie met de grond gelijk. Eigenlijk is het normaal dat sommige mensen deze film niet vatten. The Doom Generation is net zoals intense melancholische muziek: ofwel voel je het ofwel laat het je allemaal steenkoud.

 The Doom Generation is het tweede deel uit de trilogie van de Teenage Apocalypse Trilogy. Een titel die boekdelen spreekt. Arakis visie is nihilistisch tot op het bot en de hoofdrolspelers hebben geen schijntje kans op een beter bestaan. Araki gunt hun zelfs geen happy end. Als op het einde van de 80 minuten helse filmrit Jordan White (James Duval) en Amy Blue (Rose McGowan) met hun auto weg razen op de tonen van een Slowdive-nummer besef je als kijker dat deze twee mensen verloren zijn.

Tijdens een concert ontmoeten Jordan en Amy de krankzinnige punk Xavier Red (Johnahton Schaech). Tegen hun wil in vervoegt deze zonderling het duo in een rondreis die hen van de ene stad naar de andere brengt. Ze beginnen niet alleen een driehoeksrelatie, ook raken ze verwikkeld in een heleboel bizarre (en vooral gewelddadige) situaties.

De film werd in het verleden vaak vergeleken met Natural Born Killers en dat komt wellicht door zijn brutale karakter. Zo'n mooi voorbeeld daarvan is een ophangbordje van een winkel waarop de slogan “Shoplifters will be executed” prijkt, daarmee weet je meteen over wat soort geweld het hier gaat. De gespreken van de jongeren gaan vaak over niks, gewoon omdat er niets te vertellen valt. Het enige waarmee ze zich kunnen bezighouden is uitzinnige seks en nutteloos geweld, hun mening wordt nooit gevraagd.

Gregg Araki gebruikt een zeer directe filmstijl. Bij hem is seks gewoon seks en geweld puur geweld. Choqueert hij daarmee de kijker dan is dat maar zo, en wie weet is dat ook zijn bedoeling. Wat ook je mening over deze bizarre filmtrip is, toch kan je er niet omheen dat The Doom Generation een film is die lang blijft nazinderen.

Ook de soundtrack is om de vingers bij af te likken. Want zeg nu zelf, kun je ook maar één prent verzinnen waarin muziek wordt gespeeld van Front 242, Slowdive, Cocteau Twins, Ride, Lush, Nine Inch Nails of Meat Beat Manifesto? Neen, dus. Maar in deze is dat wel het geval.

The Doom Generation was lange tijd alleen maar op videotape (of via dure import) beschikbaar, maar sinds kort is deze cultfilm via Lumière ook op dvd verkrijgbaar. Een must, zowel voor de cinefiel als voor de muziekliefhebber.

Didier BECU
29/10/2013


29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation 29/10/2013 : GREGG ARAKI - The Doom Generation

 

Next reviews
LINEA ASPERA • II
KRAFTWERK • Eindhoven, Evoluon (18/10/2013)
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove
NIGHT
AVIATORS • Mirrors (Deluxe version)
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP

 

Other reviews from GREGG ARAKI
GREGG ARAKI • Mysterious Skin
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Same genre: COMING OF AGE
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best
LONE SCHERFIG • THe Riot Club
RICHARD BENJAMIN • Mermaids
DANIEL BORGMAN • The Weight Of Elephants
FERNANDO EIMBCKE • Club Sandwich

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design