tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard

GREGG ARAKI

White Bird In A Blizzard

MusicCD
Drama
Lumire
26/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A reviewer better not reveals his heroes, I know. But a reviewer is also a fan and I just can’t get enough of people who influenced my life. My list of heroes is extremely long (Truffaut, Rohmer, Refn, Zulawski, De Palma, Scorsese, Schrader or Michael Mann), and Gregg Araki also belongs to it. Indeed, the enfant terrible of Los Angeles, who always manages to cast big Hollywood names for his controversial productions.

Araki has some quirky soundtrack. He was the man who made a crime film with shoegaze music (The Doom Generation) and his other films also show a good taste in music. White Bird In A Blizzard made it worldwide in the tabloids because teen star Shailene Woodley of The Fault in Our Stars and Divergent did something pecial. Click on Google and you know what we mean! But our interest goes beyond Woodley’s boobs, mind you!. No, a film that begins with Cocteau Twins, in which the main character wears a T-shirt of This Mortal Coil, and a protagonist dances on Dazzle by Siouxsie & The Banshees, that can only be a picture by Gregg Araki!

Cat (Shailene Woodley so) is an eighteen year old girl who has not a good relationship with her parents. Her father is a whiner and her mother Eve (Eva Green) is hopeless addicted to pills. She does not worry, because she goes to parties and knows everything better. One day her mother disappears without a trace. Has she just walked away, did she commit suicide or is she, like the neighbours claim, killed by her husband?

As in his other films, Araki doesn’t opt for a ready-made script. The scenario is based on the novel by Laura Kasischke and contains thriller elements, but nihilism prevails and it can easily be compared with the work of that other prodigy, Sofia Coppola. Araki also opts for an unusual directing style, although it is never difficult to follow the story. The performances are more than okay, especially the almost genius Eva Green who looks like she’s coming out of a Pedro Almodóvar film. And then there is, as I said, the music that makes it an unforgettable trip. The soundtrack was composed by Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd. Furthermore, you can also hear The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode and many other great tunes of the wave scene. This pearl is now out on DVD at Lumière.

Didier BECU
26/03/2015


NL

Bij het bespreken van een film mag een recensent het misschien niet al te luidop zeggen, maar ook hij heeft helden. Filmmakers van wie hij maar geen genoeg kan krijgen, mensen die zijn leven hebben beïnvloed. Mijn lijstje is ellenlang (Truffaut, Rohmer, Refn, Zulawski, De Palma, Scorsese, Schrader of Michael Mann), maar ook Gregg Araki hoort daarbij. Het enfant terrible uit Los Angeles, dat er steeds maar in slaagt om met zeer controversiële producties grote Hollywoodnamen te strikken, heeft namelijk iets met eigenzinnige soundtracks. Hij was de man die een misdaadfilm maakte met shoegazetracks (The Doom Generation) en ook zijn andere films getuigen van goede smaak. Zo ook White Bird In A Blizzard,dat wereldwijd de roddelpers haalde omdat tienerster Shailene Woodley uit The Fault In Our Stars en Divergent op een nogal ophefmakkende wijze de hoofdrol speelt. Klik op Google en je weet meteen waarom! Maar onze interesse reikt verder dan Woodleys balkon. Neen, een film die begint met een nummer van de Cocteau Twins, waarin de hoofdrolspeelster een T-shirt van This Mortal Coil draagt en men op de tonen van Dazzle van Siouxsie & The Banshees danst: dat kan inderdaad alleen maar een prent van Gregg Araki zijn!

Kat (Shailene Woodley dus) is een achttienjarig meisje dat geen al te beste relatie heeft met haar ouders. Vader is een zeurpiet en moeder Eve (Eva Green) zit hopeloos aan de pillen. Geen nood, want met haar hippe vriendjes trekt zij naar fuiven en weet alles beter. Op een dag verdwijnt haar moeder spoorloos. Is ze er gewoon vandoor gegaan, heeft ze zelfmoord gepleegd of is ze zoals de buren beweren door haar echtgenoot omgebracht?

Zoals in zijn andere films opteert Araki ook deze keer niet voor een kant-en-klaar script. Het scenario, dat is gebaseerd op de roman van Laura Kasischke, bevat thrillerelementen, maar vooral het nihilisme zegeviert en kan gemakkelijk met het werk van dat andere wonderkind, Sofia Coppola, worden vergeleken. Araki kiest ook voor een wat ongewone regiestijl, toch is het nooit moeilijk om te volgen. De acteerprestaties zijn meer dan verdienstelijk, met vooral een bijna geniale Eva Green, die zo uit een Pedro Almodóvar-film lijkt te stappen. En dan is er zoals gezegd de muziek die van White Bird In A Blizzard een onvergetelijke trip maakt. De soundtrack werd gecomponeerd door Robin Guthrie en Harold Budd. Voorts hoor je ook The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode en tal van andere grootheden uit de wavescene. Deze parel is vanaf nu uit bij Lumière op dvd.

Didier BECU
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia