tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard

GREGG ARAKI

White Bird In A Blizzard

MusicCD
Drama
Lumire
26/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A reviewer better not reveals his heroes, I know. But a reviewer is also a fan and I just can’t get enough of people who influenced my life. My list of heroes is extremely long (Truffaut, Rohmer, Refn, Zulawski, De Palma, Scorsese, Schrader or Michael Mann), and Gregg Araki also belongs to it. Indeed, the enfant terrible of Los Angeles, who always manages to cast big Hollywood names for his controversial productions.

Araki has some quirky soundtrack. He was the man who made a crime film with shoegaze music (The Doom Generation) and his other films also show a good taste in music. White Bird In A Blizzard made it worldwide in the tabloids because teen star Shailene Woodley of The Fault in Our Stars and Divergent did something pecial. Click on Google and you know what we mean! But our interest goes beyond Woodley’s boobs, mind you!. No, a film that begins with Cocteau Twins, in which the main character wears a T-shirt of This Mortal Coil, and a protagonist dances on Dazzle by Siouxsie & The Banshees, that can only be a picture by Gregg Araki!

Cat (Shailene Woodley so) is an eighteen year old girl who has not a good relationship with her parents. Her father is a whiner and her mother Eve (Eva Green) is hopeless addicted to pills. She does not worry, because she goes to parties and knows everything better. One day her mother disappears without a trace. Has she just walked away, did she commit suicide or is she, like the neighbours claim, killed by her husband?

As in his other films, Araki doesn’t opt for a ready-made script. The scenario is based on the novel by Laura Kasischke and contains thriller elements, but nihilism prevails and it can easily be compared with the work of that other prodigy, Sofia Coppola. Araki also opts for an unusual directing style, although it is never difficult to follow the story. The performances are more than okay, especially the almost genius Eva Green who looks like she’s coming out of a Pedro Almodóvar film. And then there is, as I said, the music that makes it an unforgettable trip. The soundtrack was composed by Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd. Furthermore, you can also hear The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode and many other great tunes of the wave scene. This pearl is now out on DVD at Lumière.

Didier BECU
26/03/2015


NL

Bij het bespreken van een film mag een recensent het misschien niet al te luidop zeggen, maar ook hij heeft helden. Filmmakers van wie hij maar geen genoeg kan krijgen, mensen die zijn leven hebben beïnvloed. Mijn lijstje is ellenlang (Truffaut, Rohmer, Refn, Zulawski, De Palma, Scorsese, Schrader of Michael Mann), maar ook Gregg Araki hoort daarbij. Het enfant terrible uit Los Angeles, dat er steeds maar in slaagt om met zeer controversiële producties grote Hollywoodnamen te strikken, heeft namelijk iets met eigenzinnige soundtracks. Hij was de man die een misdaadfilm maakte met shoegazetracks (The Doom Generation) en ook zijn andere films getuigen van goede smaak. Zo ook White Bird In A Blizzard,dat wereldwijd de roddelpers haalde omdat tienerster Shailene Woodley uit The Fault In Our Stars en Divergent op een nogal ophefmakkende wijze de hoofdrol speelt. Klik op Google en je weet meteen waarom! Maar onze interesse reikt verder dan Woodleys balkon. Neen, een film die begint met een nummer van de Cocteau Twins, waarin de hoofdrolspeelster een T-shirt van This Mortal Coil draagt en men op de tonen van Dazzle van Siouxsie & The Banshees danst: dat kan inderdaad alleen maar een prent van Gregg Araki zijn!

Kat (Shailene Woodley dus) is een achttienjarig meisje dat geen al te beste relatie heeft met haar ouders. Vader is een zeurpiet en moeder Eve (Eva Green) zit hopeloos aan de pillen. Geen nood, want met haar hippe vriendjes trekt zij naar fuiven en weet alles beter. Op een dag verdwijnt haar moeder spoorloos. Is ze er gewoon vandoor gegaan, heeft ze zelfmoord gepleegd of is ze zoals de buren beweren door haar echtgenoot omgebracht?

Zoals in zijn andere films opteert Araki ook deze keer niet voor een kant-en-klaar script. Het scenario, dat is gebaseerd op de roman van Laura Kasischke, bevat thrillerelementen, maar vooral het nihilisme zegeviert en kan gemakkelijk met het werk van dat andere wonderkind, Sofia Coppola, worden vergeleken. Araki kiest ook voor een wat ongewone regiestijl, toch is het nooit moeilijk om te volgen. De acteerprestaties zijn meer dan verdienstelijk, met vooral een bijna geniale Eva Green, die zo uit een Pedro Almodóvar-film lijkt te stappen. En dan is er zoals gezegd de muziek die van White Bird In A Blizzard een onvergetelijke trip maakt. De soundtrack werd gecomponeerd door Robin Guthrie en Harold Budd. Voorts hoor je ook The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode en tal van andere grootheden uit de wavescene. Deze parel is vanaf nu uit bij Lumière op dvd.

Didier BECU
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline