tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard

GREGG ARAKI

White Bird In A Blizzard

MusicCD
Drama
Lumire
26/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A reviewer better not reveals his heroes, I know. But a reviewer is also a fan and I just can’t get enough of people who influenced my life. My list of heroes is extremely long (Truffaut, Rohmer, Refn, Zulawski, De Palma, Scorsese, Schrader or Michael Mann), and Gregg Araki also belongs to it. Indeed, the enfant terrible of Los Angeles, who always manages to cast big Hollywood names for his controversial productions.

Araki has some quirky soundtrack. He was the man who made a crime film with shoegaze music (The Doom Generation) and his other films also show a good taste in music. White Bird In A Blizzard made it worldwide in the tabloids because teen star Shailene Woodley of The Fault in Our Stars and Divergent did something pecial. Click on Google and you know what we mean! But our interest goes beyond Woodley’s boobs, mind you!. No, a film that begins with Cocteau Twins, in which the main character wears a T-shirt of This Mortal Coil, and a protagonist dances on Dazzle by Siouxsie & The Banshees, that can only be a picture by Gregg Araki!

Cat (Shailene Woodley so) is an eighteen year old girl who has not a good relationship with her parents. Her father is a whiner and her mother Eve (Eva Green) is hopeless addicted to pills. She does not worry, because she goes to parties and knows everything better. One day her mother disappears without a trace. Has she just walked away, did she commit suicide or is she, like the neighbours claim, killed by her husband?

As in his other films, Araki doesn’t opt for a ready-made script. The scenario is based on the novel by Laura Kasischke and contains thriller elements, but nihilism prevails and it can easily be compared with the work of that other prodigy, Sofia Coppola. Araki also opts for an unusual directing style, although it is never difficult to follow the story. The performances are more than okay, especially the almost genius Eva Green who looks like she’s coming out of a Pedro Almodóvar film. And then there is, as I said, the music that makes it an unforgettable trip. The soundtrack was composed by Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd. Furthermore, you can also hear The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode and many other great tunes of the wave scene. This pearl is now out on DVD at Lumière.

Didier BECU
26/03/2015


NL

Bij het bespreken van een film mag een recensent het misschien niet al te luidop zeggen, maar ook hij heeft helden. Filmmakers van wie hij maar geen genoeg kan krijgen, mensen die zijn leven hebben beïnvloed. Mijn lijstje is ellenlang (Truffaut, Rohmer, Refn, Zulawski, De Palma, Scorsese, Schrader of Michael Mann), maar ook Gregg Araki hoort daarbij. Het enfant terrible uit Los Angeles, dat er steeds maar in slaagt om met zeer controversiële producties grote Hollywoodnamen te strikken, heeft namelijk iets met eigenzinnige soundtracks. Hij was de man die een misdaadfilm maakte met shoegazetracks (The Doom Generation) en ook zijn andere films getuigen van goede smaak. Zo ook White Bird In A Blizzard,dat wereldwijd de roddelpers haalde omdat tienerster Shailene Woodley uit The Fault In Our Stars en Divergent op een nogal ophefmakkende wijze de hoofdrol speelt. Klik op Google en je weet meteen waarom! Maar onze interesse reikt verder dan Woodleys balkon. Neen, een film die begint met een nummer van de Cocteau Twins, waarin de hoofdrolspeelster een T-shirt van This Mortal Coil draagt en men op de tonen van Dazzle van Siouxsie & The Banshees danst: dat kan inderdaad alleen maar een prent van Gregg Araki zijn!

Kat (Shailene Woodley dus) is een achttienjarig meisje dat geen al te beste relatie heeft met haar ouders. Vader is een zeurpiet en moeder Eve (Eva Green) zit hopeloos aan de pillen. Geen nood, want met haar hippe vriendjes trekt zij naar fuiven en weet alles beter. Op een dag verdwijnt haar moeder spoorloos. Is ze er gewoon vandoor gegaan, heeft ze zelfmoord gepleegd of is ze zoals de buren beweren door haar echtgenoot omgebracht?

Zoals in zijn andere films opteert Araki ook deze keer niet voor een kant-en-klaar script. Het scenario, dat is gebaseerd op de roman van Laura Kasischke, bevat thrillerelementen, maar vooral het nihilisme zegeviert en kan gemakkelijk met het werk van dat andere wonderkind, Sofia Coppola, worden vergeleken. Araki kiest ook voor een wat ongewone regiestijl, toch is het nooit moeilijk om te volgen. De acteerprestaties zijn meer dan verdienstelijk, met vooral een bijna geniale Eva Green, die zo uit een Pedro Almodóvar-film lijkt te stappen. En dan is er zoals gezegd de muziek die van White Bird In A Blizzard een onvergetelijke trip maakt. De soundtrack werd gecomponeerd door Robin Guthrie en Harold Budd. Voorts hoor je ook The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode en tal van andere grootheden uit de wavescene. Deze parel is vanaf nu uit bij Lumière op dvd.

Didier BECU
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard 26/03/2015 : GREGG ARAKI - White Bird In A Blizzard

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom