tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december

GROUND NERO - CHARNIER

Kinky Star - 9 december

Concert
12/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Friday, December 9, the sweet club Kinky Star was the place to be for the Dark Entries Night with two Belgian bands on stage: Ground Nero and Charnier.

Ground Nero opened the evening, a cold wave band that redefines 80's post-punk and cold wave sound, making use of state-of-the-art sound tech, but keeping cold wave roots and culture, re-staging it with a multi-layered "wall-of-sound" arrangements. And it rocked all the way. The heavy guitars, with typical 80's effects such as delay, chorus, flanger, combined with a deep bass-sound and digital drums, sounded great. And above all with the deep voice of Guido Wampers, AKA Gwijde the First. The set opened with Run From Your Relatives, which got the public moving. The voice of Gwijde goes deep, you can almost feel the suffering. The guitars kept on howling in The Ban. Nice riff, some solo guitars, groovy bass. In Dark Descent, the band opted for in a slower pace, grinding guitars and a lovely melodic synth sound. The set ended with Closing Time... But the evening was still young, so no closing time for the audience...

The gothic rock was smooth, wilth uptempo rock songs, alternated with 'ballad' songs. It was really awesome and the public liked it.

After the rocking sound of Ground Nero, the Brussels band Charnier got on stage. The youngsters take all of us back to good old cold wave. However, they put some nice electronic sounds in the mix. We heard influences and sounds we here from The Cure, the Neon Jugdement, and in some we recognize Joy Division. But Charnier is not copying anything. It has a very personal sound. And the way the instruments find each other is awesome. The electronic sound, combined with subtile guitars and a growling bass guitar, works well. Vocally, the melancholic voice blends in nicely. Charnier is a great band, playing from the heart, chaotic but so deep and dark.

Another fine night, which proved that we still have great Belgian bands.

Setlist Ground Nero:
Run From Your Relatives
Heaven Sent
Arctic
The Trouble Beyond
Karoshi
The Ban
Dark Descent
Closing Time

Setlist Charnier

Voodoo Gospel
Almost a Silence
Gloomy Sunday
Extra Feelings
Hunter
Wakened Cries
Bodies Flap Out

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/12/2016


NL

Vrijdag 9 december was de fijne club Kinky Star de place to be voor de Dark Entries Night met twee Belgische bands op het podium: Ground Nero en Charnier.

Ground Nero opende de avond, een coldwaveband die eightiespostpunk en de typische coldwavesound herdefinieert, door gebruik te maken van state-of-the-art geluidstechniek, maar evenzeer door trouw te blijven aan de coldwaveroots en –cultuur, maar dan met een wall of sound van uit meerdere lagen bestaande arrangementen. En het rockte helemaal. De zware gitaren, met typische jarentachtigeffecten zoals delay, chorus, flanger, gecombineerd met een diep bassgeluid en digitale drums, klonken geweldig, met boven dit alles de diepe stem van Guido Wampers, AKA Gwijde de Eerste. De gothicrock werd heel erg op prijs gesteld. De set was ook mooi opgebouwd, met een afwisseling van meer uptempo rocksongs, afgewisseld met wat meer rustigere 'ballad'-songs.

De set opende met Run From Your Relatives, dat meteen zorgde voor een meedeinend publiek. De stem van Gwijde krijgt klink diep, je voelt als het ware het lijden. De gitaren bleven huilen in The Ban. Mooie riff, ruimte voor wat solowerk van de gitaar en een groovy bas. In Dark Descent, met een trager tempo, krijsten de gitaren, ondersteund door een melodische synth-sectie. De set werd afgesloten met Closing Time... Maar de avond was nog jong, nog verre van sluitingstijd voor het goed opgewarmde publiek... Dat kon appreciëren wat Ground Nero bracht: stevige, maar weliswaar gitzwarte gothrock die niet onder moet doen voor de 'grote namen' in het genre! We zagen een geweldig optreden, dat staat buiten kijf.

Na de rockende sound van Ground Nero, mocht het in Brussel opgerichte gezelschap Charnier het podium en intussen goed opgewarmde zaal innemen. En de jonge lieden kweten zich met bravoure van hun taak. Ze hebben een aparte sound, die weliswaar terug te brengen is tot de goede oude coldwave. Echter mengen ze daar een arsenaal van fijne elektro doorheen. We hoorden invloeden en geluiden die we herkennen van The Cure, Neon Jugdement, en in sommige nummers Joy Division. Maar Charnier doet meer en heeft een zeer persoonlijk geluid. En de manier waarop de instrumenten elkaar vinden is geweldig. De elektronische sound, gecombineerd met subtiele gitaren, die wel af en toe kreunen van de pijn, en een grommende basgitaar werkt perfect. Ook vocaal, met een heel diepe melancholische stem, klopt het helemaal. Charnier is een geweldige band, je voelt de beleving van de bandleden, het is doorleefd, komt van diep en vooral: het is donker.

We kunnen niet anders dan concluderen dat dit een heel fijne concertavond was, die nog eens bewijst dat in België nog steeds geweldig goede wave, gothic en postpunk wordt gemaakt.

Setlist Ground Nero:
Run From Your Relatives
Heaven Sent
Arctic
The Trouble Beyond
Karoshi
The Ban
Dark Descent
Closing Time

Setlist Charnier

Voodoo Gospel
Almost a Silence
Gloomy Sunday
Extra Feelings
Hunter
Wakened Cries
Bodies Flap Out

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/12/2016


12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls