tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december

GROUND NERO - CHARNIER

Kinky Star - 9 december

Concert
12/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Friday, December 9, the sweet club Kinky Star was the place to be for the Dark Entries Night with two Belgian bands on stage: Ground Nero and Charnier.

Ground Nero opened the evening, a cold wave band that redefines 80's post-punk and cold wave sound, making use of state-of-the-art sound tech, but keeping cold wave roots and culture, re-staging it with a multi-layered "wall-of-sound" arrangements. And it rocked all the way. The heavy guitars, with typical 80's effects such as delay, chorus, flanger, combined with a deep bass-sound and digital drums, sounded great. And above all with the deep voice of Guido Wampers, AKA Gwijde the First. The set opened with Run From Your Relatives, which got the public moving. The voice of Gwijde goes deep, you can almost feel the suffering. The guitars kept on howling in The Ban. Nice riff, some solo guitars, groovy bass. In Dark Descent, the band opted for in a slower pace, grinding guitars and a lovely melodic synth sound. The set ended with Closing Time... But the evening was still young, so no closing time for the audience...

The gothic rock was smooth, wilth uptempo rock songs, alternated with 'ballad' songs. It was really awesome and the public liked it.

After the rocking sound of Ground Nero, the Brussels band Charnier got on stage. The youngsters take all of us back to good old cold wave. However, they put some nice electronic sounds in the mix. We heard influences and sounds we here from The Cure, the Neon Jugdement, and in some we recognize Joy Division. But Charnier is not copying anything. It has a very personal sound. And the way the instruments find each other is awesome. The electronic sound, combined with subtile guitars and a growling bass guitar, works well. Vocally, the melancholic voice blends in nicely. Charnier is a great band, playing from the heart, chaotic but so deep and dark.

Another fine night, which proved that we still have great Belgian bands.

Setlist Ground Nero:
Run From Your Relatives
Heaven Sent
Arctic
The Trouble Beyond
Karoshi
The Ban
Dark Descent
Closing Time

Setlist Charnier

Voodoo Gospel
Almost a Silence
Gloomy Sunday
Extra Feelings
Hunter
Wakened Cries
Bodies Flap Out

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/12/2016


NL

Vrijdag 9 december was de fijne club Kinky Star de place to be voor de Dark Entries Night met twee Belgische bands op het podium: Ground Nero en Charnier.

Ground Nero opende de avond, een coldwaveband die eightiespostpunk en de typische coldwavesound herdefinieert, door gebruik te maken van state-of-the-art geluidstechniek, maar evenzeer door trouw te blijven aan de coldwaveroots en –cultuur, maar dan met een wall of sound van uit meerdere lagen bestaande arrangementen. En het rockte helemaal. De zware gitaren, met typische jarentachtigeffecten zoals delay, chorus, flanger, gecombineerd met een diep bassgeluid en digitale drums, klonken geweldig, met boven dit alles de diepe stem van Guido Wampers, AKA Gwijde de Eerste. De gothicrock werd heel erg op prijs gesteld. De set was ook mooi opgebouwd, met een afwisseling van meer uptempo rocksongs, afgewisseld met wat meer rustigere 'ballad'-songs.

De set opende met Run From Your Relatives, dat meteen zorgde voor een meedeinend publiek. De stem van Gwijde krijgt klink diep, je voelt als het ware het lijden. De gitaren bleven huilen in The Ban. Mooie riff, ruimte voor wat solowerk van de gitaar en een groovy bas. In Dark Descent, met een trager tempo, krijsten de gitaren, ondersteund door een melodische synth-sectie. De set werd afgesloten met Closing Time... Maar de avond was nog jong, nog verre van sluitingstijd voor het goed opgewarmde publiek... Dat kon appreciëren wat Ground Nero bracht: stevige, maar weliswaar gitzwarte gothrock die niet onder moet doen voor de 'grote namen' in het genre! We zagen een geweldig optreden, dat staat buiten kijf.

Na de rockende sound van Ground Nero, mocht het in Brussel opgerichte gezelschap Charnier het podium en intussen goed opgewarmde zaal innemen. En de jonge lieden kweten zich met bravoure van hun taak. Ze hebben een aparte sound, die weliswaar terug te brengen is tot de goede oude coldwave. Echter mengen ze daar een arsenaal van fijne elektro doorheen. We hoorden invloeden en geluiden die we herkennen van The Cure, Neon Jugdement, en in sommige nummers Joy Division. Maar Charnier doet meer en heeft een zeer persoonlijk geluid. En de manier waarop de instrumenten elkaar vinden is geweldig. De elektronische sound, gecombineerd met subtiele gitaren, die wel af en toe kreunen van de pijn, en een grommende basgitaar werkt perfect. Ook vocaal, met een heel diepe melancholische stem, klopt het helemaal. Charnier is een geweldige band, je voelt de beleving van de bandleden, het is doorleefd, komt van diep en vooral: het is donker.

We kunnen niet anders dan concluderen dat dit een heel fijne concertavond was, die nog eens bewijst dat in België nog steeds geweldig goede wave, gothic en postpunk wordt gemaakt.

Setlist Ground Nero:
Run From Your Relatives
Heaven Sent
Arctic
The Trouble Beyond
Karoshi
The Ban
Dark Descent
Closing Time

Setlist Charnier

Voodoo Gospel
Almost a Silence
Gloomy Sunday
Extra Feelings
Hunter
Wakened Cries
Bodies Flap Out

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/12/2016


12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december 12/12/2016 : GROUND NERO - CHARNIER - Kinky Star - 9 december

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)