tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : GUY GARVEY - Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

GUY GARVEY

Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Concert
IndiePop 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Last year, Elbow singer Guy Garvey released his first solo album which is a beauty as you could read earlier on this website. Garvey is now promoting the album which brought the singer to the rockfestival Rock Werchter on Thursday afternoon, june 30th, where he played in The Barn.

Courting the Squall, the outstanding title track on Garvey's debut, was the first song in the set, containing this great lines: And I open the doors to you and yours, just pondering trees for you and me. Garvey was accompagnied by The Herded Cats, the muscicians who also play on the album, including drummer Alex Reeves. You have to pronounce it Rweeeves, he likes it that way!, Garvey joked. Reeves then played a hyper intens drums pattern which led to a kinetic and sublime Harder Edges.

The winsome Brit also brought his charming brass section; three young ladies who also provided the backing vocals. Amongst them was Victoria Rule who proved to be a brilliant piano player during Juggernaut and Yesterday. The Herded Cats sounded just great, Garvey's warm voice was, as it always is, a true pleasure to listen to, with or without Elbow.

This song is about heartache, Garvey said, but not the heartache because of my country's recent stupid decision, he assured us, clearly aiming at Britain's brexit, no this is some other kind of heartache. Alright, so this song is about love, one would think. It Probably is, but Garvey started a conversation about the little rabbit he once had as a child. Anyway, the rendition of Broken Bottles and Chandeliers was really impressive, wow!

Another highlight in the set was Belly of the Whale with a lovely role for the brass section. Really nice were the horns in a snippet of Wham!'s Careless Whisper, well fit into the song, just like on the album. Oh, and then Angela's Eyes, another great song, featuring Victoria on congas and Garvey on keys.

Let's dance, Garvey proposed and a very groovy Open The Door followed, a standalone single, released after his first album. And that already was the end of the set.

The songs of Garvey are somewhat less complex and more compact than the Elbow compositions, but all are strong selections. Guy Garvey's solo career move surely wasn't a mistake. But I presume that doesn't have to be the end of Elbow? Only time will tell.

Setlist:
Courting the Squall / Harder Edges / Unwind / Yesterday / Belly of the Whale / Broken Bottles and Chandeliers / Angela's Eyes / Open the Door.

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Dat Guy Garvey het ook zonder zijn band Elbow voortreffelijk redt, bewees hij al met het vorig jaar verschenen solo-album Courting The Squall. Donderdagmiddag 30 juni kwam Garvey zijn album voorstellen in The Barn op Rock Werchter, of toch 8 van de 10 liedjes en de stand alone single Open The Door.

And I open the doors to you and yours, just pondering trees for you and me, Garvey opende de set met een uitmuntend Courting the Squall, de titletrack van zijn solodebuut, kwestie van sterk te beginnen, en gevolgd door een Merci, Dankuwel. Garvey bracht The Herded Cats mee, de muzikanten die ook op zijn album meespeelden, dus ook de uitstekende drummer Alex Reeves, you have to pronounce it Rweeeves, he likes it that way!, grapte Garvey. Reeves mocht een kinetisch en subliem Harder Edges inleiden met een hyperstrakke drumbeat.

De sympathieke Brit bracht ook de charmante blazersectie mee; drie jongedames die ook de backing vocals verzorgden. En Victoria Rule toonde zich tijdens Juggernaut en Yesterday ook een geweldige pianiste. De band bleek goed op elkaar ingespeeld, Garvey was heel erg goed bij stem. Een stem, maar dat wisten we al van bij Elbow, die erg aangenaam is om naar te luisteren.

Het geweldige Broken Bottles and Chandeliers werd aangekondigd als een lied over hartzeer, maar niet het hartzeer die ik voel over de domme beslissing van mijn landgenoten, zo verzekerde Garvey, verwijzend naar de Brexit, nee, een ander soort hartzeer. De Liefde? Allicht, maar Garvey begon een verhaaltje over het konijntje dat hij had als kind. Het maakte de renditie van Broken Bottles and Chandeliers er niet minder om: waauw!

Een ander hoogtepunt was zeer zeker Belly Of the Whale, waarbij de aanwezigheid van de brasssectie een waar festijn was. Leuk toen de blazers een stukje Careless Whisper (Wham!) speelden, knap ingepast in de compositie. Sterk was ook Angela's Eyes, met Garvey op keys en Victoria op conga's.

Let's Dance, stelde Garvey voor en een bijzonder groovy Open The Door, de single die uitkwam na het debuutalbum, besloot een uitstekende set.

De liedjes van Garvey zijn misschien iets simpeler en compacter dan het werk met Elbow, maar daar is niets mis mee. Het zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes, Guy Garvey overtuigt ook zonder Elbow, maar dat hoeft allerminst het einde ervan in te luiden. Afwachten of deze solo-zet tijdelijk of blijvend is.

Setlist:
Courting the Squall / Harder Edges / Unwind / Yesterday / Belly of the Whale / Broken Bottles and Chandeliers / Angela's Eyes / Open the Door.

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life

 

Other reviews from GUY GARVEY
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
ROVER • Let It Glow
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
HAPPYNESS • It's On
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real