tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : GUY GARVEY - Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

GUY GARVEY

Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Concert
IndiePop 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Last year, Elbow singer Guy Garvey released his first solo album which is a beauty as you could read earlier on this website. Garvey is now promoting the album which brought the singer to the rockfestival Rock Werchter on Thursday afternoon, june 30th, where he played in The Barn.

Courting the Squall, the outstanding title track on Garvey's debut, was the first song in the set, containing this great lines: And I open the doors to you and yours, just pondering trees for you and me. Garvey was accompagnied by The Herded Cats, the muscicians who also play on the album, including drummer Alex Reeves. You have to pronounce it Rweeeves, he likes it that way!, Garvey joked. Reeves then played a hyper intens drums pattern which led to a kinetic and sublime Harder Edges.

The winsome Brit also brought his charming brass section; three young ladies who also provided the backing vocals. Amongst them was Victoria Rule who proved to be a brilliant piano player during Juggernaut and Yesterday. The Herded Cats sounded just great, Garvey's warm voice was, as it always is, a true pleasure to listen to, with or without Elbow.

This song is about heartache, Garvey said, but not the heartache because of my country's recent stupid decision, he assured us, clearly aiming at Britain's brexit, no this is some other kind of heartache. Alright, so this song is about love, one would think. It Probably is, but Garvey started a conversation about the little rabbit he once had as a child. Anyway, the rendition of Broken Bottles and Chandeliers was really impressive, wow!

Another highlight in the set was Belly of the Whale with a lovely role for the brass section. Really nice were the horns in a snippet of Wham!'s Careless Whisper, well fit into the song, just like on the album. Oh, and then Angela's Eyes, another great song, featuring Victoria on congas and Garvey on keys.

Let's dance, Garvey proposed and a very groovy Open The Door followed, a standalone single, released after his first album. And that already was the end of the set.

The songs of Garvey are somewhat less complex and more compact than the Elbow compositions, but all are strong selections. Guy Garvey's solo career move surely wasn't a mistake. But I presume that doesn't have to be the end of Elbow? Only time will tell.

Setlist:
Courting the Squall / Harder Edges / Unwind / Yesterday / Belly of the Whale / Broken Bottles and Chandeliers / Angela's Eyes / Open the Door.

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Dat Guy Garvey het ook zonder zijn band Elbow voortreffelijk redt, bewees hij al met het vorig jaar verschenen solo-album Courting The Squall. Donderdagmiddag 30 juni kwam Garvey zijn album voorstellen in The Barn op Rock Werchter, of toch 8 van de 10 liedjes en de stand alone single Open The Door.

And I open the doors to you and yours, just pondering trees for you and me, Garvey opende de set met een uitmuntend Courting the Squall, de titletrack van zijn solodebuut, kwestie van sterk te beginnen, en gevolgd door een Merci, Dankuwel. Garvey bracht The Herded Cats mee, de muzikanten die ook op zijn album meespeelden, dus ook de uitstekende drummer Alex Reeves, you have to pronounce it Rweeeves, he likes it that way!, grapte Garvey. Reeves mocht een kinetisch en subliem Harder Edges inleiden met een hyperstrakke drumbeat.

De sympathieke Brit bracht ook de charmante blazersectie mee; drie jongedames die ook de backing vocals verzorgden. En Victoria Rule toonde zich tijdens Juggernaut en Yesterday ook een geweldige pianiste. De band bleek goed op elkaar ingespeeld, Garvey was heel erg goed bij stem. Een stem, maar dat wisten we al van bij Elbow, die erg aangenaam is om naar te luisteren.

Het geweldige Broken Bottles and Chandeliers werd aangekondigd als een lied over hartzeer, maar niet het hartzeer die ik voel over de domme beslissing van mijn landgenoten, zo verzekerde Garvey, verwijzend naar de Brexit, nee, een ander soort hartzeer. De Liefde? Allicht, maar Garvey begon een verhaaltje over het konijntje dat hij had als kind. Het maakte de renditie van Broken Bottles and Chandeliers er niet minder om: waauw!

Een ander hoogtepunt was zeer zeker Belly Of the Whale, waarbij de aanwezigheid van de brasssectie een waar festijn was. Leuk toen de blazers een stukje Careless Whisper (Wham!) speelden, knap ingepast in de compositie. Sterk was ook Angela's Eyes, met Garvey op keys en Victoria op conga's.

Let's Dance, stelde Garvey voor en een bijzonder groovy Open The Door, de single die uitkwam na het debuutalbum, besloot een uitstekende set.

De liedjes van Garvey zijn misschien iets simpeler en compacter dan het werk met Elbow, maar daar is niets mis mee. Het zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes, Guy Garvey overtuigt ook zonder Elbow, maar dat hoeft allerminst het einde ervan in te luiden. Afwachten of deze solo-zet tijdelijk of blijvend is.

Setlist:
Courting the Squall / Harder Edges / Unwind / Yesterday / Belly of the Whale / Broken Bottles and Chandeliers / Angela's Eyes / Open the Door.

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life

 

Other reviews from GUY GARVEY
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
ROVER • Let It Glow
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
HAPPYNESS • It's On
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day