tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : HANTE - No Hard Feelings

HANTE

No Hard Feelings

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[84/100]   

Synth Religion
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

No Hard Feelings is the new EP by Hante, the solo project of Hélène De Thoury. Her name will sound familiar to loyal Peek-A-Boo readers, as Hélène was involved in Phosphor and together with Amandine Stioui she formed the fantastic Minuit Machine. Unfortunately, Minuit Machine split up, but luckily we still can count on Hante for some delightful contemporary wave inspired by the 80s.

Earlier this year, Hélène released her sophomore album as a solo artist under the moniker Hante. The Fog that never Ends was a gem. Merely 8 months later, the No Hard Feelings EP is available on bandcamp. Or you might opt for the limited 12” white vinyl or the digipack CD. The EP contains 5 tracks: 2 English songs and 3 songs in French.

De Thoury continues on the high level of the previous Minuit Machine and Hante records. Living in French Movie kicks off in style. It’s a catchy song with an infectious rhythm as a result of the metallic soundings drum patterns. Although the track is quite danceable, it has a melancholic undertone. Listen to those great emotive vocals in the second part.

That dreamful melancholic sense remains throughout the album. Don’t expect any novelties. Hélène does what she does best. She continues to make accessible and melodic minimal wave with a dark edge. Listen to those haunting synths in Une Nuit avec mon Ennemi and Quiet Violence. After all, Hante means haunt in French. The EP ends with the slow and dreary Que Reste-t-il de notre Amour? All very nice, but how many times can she repeat this trick before I start losing interest?

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

No Hard Feelings is de nieuwe ep van Hante, het soloproject van Hélène de Thoury. De naam klinkt trouwe Peek-A-Boo-lezers wellicht vertrouwd in de oren, vermits Hélène betrokken was bij Phosphor en samen met Amande Stioui het fantastische Minuit Machine vormde. Jammer genoeg hield Minuit Machine op te bestaan, maar gelukkig kunnen we nog steeds op Hante rekenen voor heerlijke eigentijdse wave die geïnspireerd is door de jaren 80.

Begin dit jaar bracht Hélène haar tweede album uit als soloartieste onder de naam Hante. The Fog that Never Ends was een pareltje. Amper acht maanden later is de ep No Hard Feelings digitaal beschikbaar via bandcamp. U kunt ook opteren voor gelimiteerd 12” wit vinyl of een digipack-cd. De ep bestaat uit 5 songs: 2 in het Engels en 3 in haar Franse moedertaal.

De Thoury blijft doorgaan op het hoge niveau van de vorige Minuit Machine- en Hante-albums. Living in a French Movie opent in stijl. Het is een pakkende song met een aanstekelijk ritme - heerlijk die metaalachtige klank van de drums. Hoewel de song best dansbaar is, heeft hij een melancholische ondertoon. Let op de gevoelige vocalen in de tweede helft van de song!

Dat dromerige melancholische gevoel hoor je doorheen de plaat. Verwacht geen nieuwigheden. Hélène doet wat ze het beste kan. Ze blijft toegankelijke melodische minimal wave componeren met een donker randje. Luister naar de dreigende synths in Une Nuit Avec mon Ennemi en Quiet Violence. Deze ep eindigt met het trage en sombere Que Reste-t-il de notre Amour? Allemaal zeer mooi, maar hoe vaak kan ze hetzelfde kunstje herhalen zonder dat het vervelend wordt?

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag