tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HANTE - This Fog That Never Ends

HANTE

This Fog That Never Ends

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Synth Religion
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Hante is the solo project of Hélène de Thoury. A name that might ring a bell among our loyal readers. She used to be involved in the French project Phosphor. Nowadays, Hélène forms Minuit Machine with the fantastic singer Amandine Stioui. At the end of 2015, the Paris based duo released the second lp Violent Rains. My collegue praised that album, and that was absolutely justified. A few months later (January 2016) This Fog That Never Ends followed, Hante's second album.

Opening track Bienvenue En Enfer welcomes us with gloomy synths and a mysterious semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love you hear that typical 80's melancholy. In In Cold Water, Hélène's voice sounds melancholic. And the dark Noir sounds nostalgic with metallic percussion.

Burning features Box von Düe of Box And The Twins, a Cologne based band, formerly known as Cocktail Twins. My Destruction has a catchy synth melody reminiscent of Depeche Mode. My personal favourite Infinite Particles Of Us is followed by the slow title track that closes this album.

Musically, Hante and Minuit Machine are quite simular. Both are bleak, dark, melancholic and make minimal synthpop. I really do wonder why Hélène decided to make a solo album, as I think that Amandine could lift a song like Shadow Boxing to a higher level. But I admit that this is quite unfair to say, as after all, there is little to criticize in Helene's vocal performance.

This Fog That Never Ends is a beautiful and vivacious record. No fillers, but 10 strong tracks. Fans of Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index and Minuit Machine can buy this album without hesitation.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Hante is het soloproject van Hélène de Thoury, een naam die bij de trouwe lezers misschien een belletje doet rinkelen. Voorheen was Hélène immers betrokken bij het Franse synthproject Phosphor. Tegenwoordig vormt ze met de fantastische zangeres Amandine Stioui het heerlijke Minuit Machine. Eind 2015 verscheen hun tweede album, Violent Rains. Mijn collega stak volkomen terecht de loftrompet. Enkele maanden later (januari 2016) volgde This Fog That Never Ends, Hantes tweede album.

Openingstrack Bienvenue En Enfer verwelkomt ons met heerlijke sombere synths en een mysterieus semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love hoor je die typische jarentachtigmelancholie. In In Cold Water hoort men tevens de melancholie in Hélènes stem en ook het donkere Noir klinkt heerlijk nostalgisch met metaalachtige percussie.

Tijdens Burning wordt Hélène vocaal bijgestaan door Box von Düe van Box And The Twins, de band uit Keulen die voorheen Cocktail Twins heette. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie van My Destruction herrinnert me aan Depeche Mode. Na mijn persoonlijke favoriet Infinite Particles Of Us, volgt de trage titeltrack die het album afsluit.

Muzikaal sluit Hante nauw aan bij Minuit Machine. Sombere, donkere, melancholische en minimal aandoende synthpop. Ik vraag me dan ook af waarom geopteerd is om al deze songs solo uit te brengen. Hoewel Hélène de Thoury vocaal zeker haar mannetje staat, kan ik me toch niet van het gevoel ontdoen dat Amandine bijv. Shadow Boxing naar een nog hoger niveau had kunnen tillen. Al is het misschien unfair van mij om deze vergelijking te maken, want zoals aangegeven valt er weinig aan te merken op Hélènes vocale prestaties.

This Fog That Never Ends is een mooie meeslepende plaat zonder dieptepunten. 10 sterke tracks. Liefhebbers van Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index en Minuit Machine kunnen zich dit album zonder aarzelen aanschaffen.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai
ULAN BATOR • Abracadabra
DREAM THEATER • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (13/03/2016)
TRACER • Kavka, Antwerpen (14/03/2016)
THERAPY? • Tides
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session

 

Other reviews from HANTE
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice