tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HANTE - This Fog That Never Ends

HANTE

This Fog That Never Ends

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Synth Religion
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Hante is the solo project of Hélène de Thoury. A name that might ring a bell among our loyal readers. She used to be involved in the French project Phosphor. Nowadays, Hélène forms Minuit Machine with the fantastic singer Amandine Stioui. At the end of 2015, the Paris based duo released the second lp Violent Rains. My collegue praised that album, and that was absolutely justified. A few months later (January 2016) This Fog That Never Ends followed, Hante's second album.

Opening track Bienvenue En Enfer welcomes us with gloomy synths and a mysterious semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love you hear that typical 80's melancholy. In In Cold Water, Hélène's voice sounds melancholic. And the dark Noir sounds nostalgic with metallic percussion.

Burning features Box von Düe of Box And The Twins, a Cologne based band, formerly known as Cocktail Twins. My Destruction has a catchy synth melody reminiscent of Depeche Mode. My personal favourite Infinite Particles Of Us is followed by the slow title track that closes this album.

Musically, Hante and Minuit Machine are quite simular. Both are bleak, dark, melancholic and make minimal synthpop. I really do wonder why Hélène decided to make a solo album, as I think that Amandine could lift a song like Shadow Boxing to a higher level. But I admit that this is quite unfair to say, as after all, there is little to criticize in Helene's vocal performance.

This Fog That Never Ends is a beautiful and vivacious record. No fillers, but 10 strong tracks. Fans of Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index and Minuit Machine can buy this album without hesitation.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Hante is het soloproject van Hélène de Thoury, een naam die bij de trouwe lezers misschien een belletje doet rinkelen. Voorheen was Hélène immers betrokken bij het Franse synthproject Phosphor. Tegenwoordig vormt ze met de fantastische zangeres Amandine Stioui het heerlijke Minuit Machine. Eind 2015 verscheen hun tweede album, Violent Rains. Mijn collega stak volkomen terecht de loftrompet. Enkele maanden later (januari 2016) volgde This Fog That Never Ends, Hantes tweede album.

Openingstrack Bienvenue En Enfer verwelkomt ons met heerlijke sombere synths en een mysterieus semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love hoor je die typische jarentachtigmelancholie. In In Cold Water hoort men tevens de melancholie in Hélènes stem en ook het donkere Noir klinkt heerlijk nostalgisch met metaalachtige percussie.

Tijdens Burning wordt Hélène vocaal bijgestaan door Box von Düe van Box And The Twins, de band uit Keulen die voorheen Cocktail Twins heette. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie van My Destruction herrinnert me aan Depeche Mode. Na mijn persoonlijke favoriet Infinite Particles Of Us, volgt de trage titeltrack die het album afsluit.

Muzikaal sluit Hante nauw aan bij Minuit Machine. Sombere, donkere, melancholische en minimal aandoende synthpop. Ik vraag me dan ook af waarom geopteerd is om al deze songs solo uit te brengen. Hoewel Hélène de Thoury vocaal zeker haar mannetje staat, kan ik me toch niet van het gevoel ontdoen dat Amandine bijv. Shadow Boxing naar een nog hoger niveau had kunnen tillen. Al is het misschien unfair van mij om deze vergelijking te maken, want zoals aangegeven valt er weinig aan te merken op Hélènes vocale prestaties.

This Fog That Never Ends is een mooie meeslepende plaat zonder dieptepunten. 10 sterke tracks. Liefhebbers van Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index en Minuit Machine kunnen zich dit album zonder aarzelen aanschaffen.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai
ULAN BATOR • Abracadabra
DREAM THEATER • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (13/03/2016)
TRACER • Kavka, Antwerpen (14/03/2016)
THERAPY? • Tides
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session

 

Other reviews from HANTE
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno