tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HANTE - This Fog That Never Ends

HANTE

This Fog That Never Ends

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Synth Religion
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Hante is the solo project of Hélène de Thoury. A name that might ring a bell among our loyal readers. She used to be involved in the French project Phosphor. Nowadays, Hélène forms Minuit Machine with the fantastic singer Amandine Stioui. At the end of 2015, the Paris based duo released the second lp Violent Rains. My collegue praised that album, and that was absolutely justified. A few months later (January 2016) This Fog That Never Ends followed, Hante's second album.

Opening track Bienvenue En Enfer welcomes us with gloomy synths and a mysterious semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love you hear that typical 80's melancholy. In In Cold Water, Hélène's voice sounds melancholic. And the dark Noir sounds nostalgic with metallic percussion.

Burning features Box von Düe of Box And The Twins, a Cologne based band, formerly known as Cocktail Twins. My Destruction has a catchy synth melody reminiscent of Depeche Mode. My personal favourite Infinite Particles Of Us is followed by the slow title track that closes this album.

Musically, Hante and Minuit Machine are quite simular. Both are bleak, dark, melancholic and make minimal synthpop. I really do wonder why Hélène decided to make a solo album, as I think that Amandine could lift a song like Shadow Boxing to a higher level. But I admit that this is quite unfair to say, as after all, there is little to criticize in Helene's vocal performance.

This Fog That Never Ends is a beautiful and vivacious record. No fillers, but 10 strong tracks. Fans of Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index and Minuit Machine can buy this album without hesitation.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Hante is het soloproject van Hélène de Thoury, een naam die bij de trouwe lezers misschien een belletje doet rinkelen. Voorheen was Hélène immers betrokken bij het Franse synthproject Phosphor. Tegenwoordig vormt ze met de fantastische zangeres Amandine Stioui het heerlijke Minuit Machine. Eind 2015 verscheen hun tweede album, Violent Rains. Mijn collega stak volkomen terecht de loftrompet. Enkele maanden later (januari 2016) volgde This Fog That Never Ends, Hantes tweede album.

Openingstrack Bienvenue En Enfer verwelkomt ons met heerlijke sombere synths en een mysterieus semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love hoor je die typische jarentachtigmelancholie. In In Cold Water hoort men tevens de melancholie in Hélènes stem en ook het donkere Noir klinkt heerlijk nostalgisch met metaalachtige percussie.

Tijdens Burning wordt Hélène vocaal bijgestaan door Box von Düe van Box And The Twins, de band uit Keulen die voorheen Cocktail Twins heette. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie van My Destruction herrinnert me aan Depeche Mode. Na mijn persoonlijke favoriet Infinite Particles Of Us, volgt de trage titeltrack die het album afsluit.

Muzikaal sluit Hante nauw aan bij Minuit Machine. Sombere, donkere, melancholische en minimal aandoende synthpop. Ik vraag me dan ook af waarom geopteerd is om al deze songs solo uit te brengen. Hoewel Hélène de Thoury vocaal zeker haar mannetje staat, kan ik me toch niet van het gevoel ontdoen dat Amandine bijv. Shadow Boxing naar een nog hoger niveau had kunnen tillen. Al is het misschien unfair van mij om deze vergelijking te maken, want zoals aangegeven valt er weinig aan te merken op Hélènes vocale prestaties.

This Fog That Never Ends is een mooie meeslepende plaat zonder dieptepunten. 10 sterke tracks. Liefhebbers van Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index en Minuit Machine kunnen zich dit album zonder aarzelen aanschaffen.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai
ULAN BATOR • Abracadabra
DREAM THEATER • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (13/03/2016)
TRACER • Kavka, Antwerpen (14/03/2016)
THERAPY? • Tides
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session

 

Other reviews from HANTE
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets