tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones

HARALD ZWART

The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones

Movie
AdventureFantasy

[35/100]   

E1
25/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like the idea, but Hollywood is only founded because they want our money. The dream factory makes our life more beautiful, but daily you’ll find businessmen who are only thinking about which franchise is most popular these days. Today it’s the young adult fiction that scores best, or in other words: fantasy for teenage girls. It’s clear that the makers are just dreaming of coming up with the next Twilight. So far we had pictures like Warm Bodies or Beautiful Creatures, but none of them were big hits. New is The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones that is based on the popular books by Cassandra Clare. At first it was the intention to bomb humanity with six episodes, but as this first chapter wasn’t exactly a massive hit, those changes have become rather small. And yeah, let’s thank God for that as this movie isn’t good at all. Some will let you believe this is as good as The Hunger Games, but it makes us wonder which idiot ever said this!


The story is set in New York. The fifteen-year old Clary (Lily Collins) discovers that she’s not like the others as she sees things others don’t. In a nightclub she meets Jace (Jamie Campbell Bower) who tells her that she’s a mundane, someone who is not from this world. Jace has to learn Clary how to become a shadow huntress. This training is needed more than ever when Clary’s mother is kidnapped by evil demons. It looks like everyone is after the mortal cup, he who owns this has the ultimate power.


We did our best to write down this simple story that’s been overwhelmed by unnecessary plots and personages from whom you’ll never know why they’re invented. The problem is that the makers have focused themselves too much on the silly love story, but that’s of course to please the Twilight-audience, or better said: to win their heart. It’s not that we want to uplift the adventures from Bella Swan to art, but at least Kristen Stewart can act. Something you can’t say from Lily Collins and the rest from the cast. It’s a real wonder why someone like Jonathan Rhys Meyers wanted to participate.


Anyway, for those who want to give it a try (you’re warned though): The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is released on Entertainment One, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
25/02/2014


NL

Als fervent filmliefhebber blijft het nog altijd een pijnlijke vaststelling, maar Hollywood is niet opgericht om ons dagelijks met mooie beelden te overstelpen. Neen, de droomfabriek is een dictatoriale instelling waar poen koning is. Achter de coulissen van de glamwereld zitten dagelijks rijke directeurs over de vraag te vergaderen met welke franchise er tonnen geld valt te verdienen. Tegenwoordig is dat de young adult-fictie: zeg maar fantasy voor bakvissen. In het kielzog van de ene gigantische hit Twilight, hadden we al eerder prenten zoals Warm Bodies of Beautiful Creatures. Misschien dat Kristen Stewart er voor iets tussen zit, maar tot op heden heeft geen van deze producties de hooggespannen verwachtingen ingelost. Nieuw in het rijtje is The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, dat is gebaseerd op de succesvolle boeken van Cassandra Clare. Op het moment dat je dit leest zullen wellicht al enkele banen in Tinseltown zijn gesneuveld, want alles ziet er naar uit dat er op deze film geen vervolg zal komen. Misschien kunnen we daar alleen maar vrolijk om zijn, want het was immers bij aanvang de bedoeling om de mensheid met zes delen te overdonderen en na het eerste deel hebben we daar maar weinig zin in.


Op de cover schreeuwen de makers het wel van de daken dat deze franchise beter dan The Hunger Games is, maar we vragen ons af welke idioot dat ooit heeft gedacht. Allereerst is er het magere verhaal dat met haken en ogen aan elkaar hangt en zich in New York afspeelt. Tiener Clary (Lily Collins) ontdekt dat zij niet zoals haar leeftijdsgenoten is, zij ziet immers dingen die anderen niet zien. In een nachtclub vertelt Jace (Jamie Campbell Bower) haar dat ze niet tot deze wereld behoort. Jace moet de knappe tiener opleiden tot schaduwjaagster. Een opdracht die met de nodige snelheid wordt volbracht wanneer Clarys moeder door kwaadaardige geesten wordt ontvoerd. De inzet van de strijd lijkt rond de mortal cup te draaien, want wie die beker op zijn schouw heeft staan, heeft alle macht in handen.


We hebben ons best gedaan om dit ingewikkeld verhaal dat vol onlogische plots en onnodige personages zit zo simpel mogelijk weer te geven. Neen, aan ons ligt het niet, wel aan de makers die voorrang gaven aan de liefdesperikelen, kwestie om er voor te zorgen dat het Twilight-publiek voldoende aan zijn trekken komt. Trouwens, ondanks de vergelijkingen scoort Twilight heel wat beter. Niet dat de lotgevallen van Bella Swan kunst is, maar Kristen Stewart kan ten minste acteren en dat is iets wat je van Lily Collins en de rest van de cast niet kan zeggen. Het blijft dan ook een raadsel waarom Jonathan Rhys Meyers bereid was om hieraan mee te werken. De personages lopen er wel in uitbundige gothickledij bij, maar alles is veel te afgelikt. Neen, we hebben weinig of geen goede punten aan deze film gezien en het is een geluk dat ook het grote publiek dat niet heeft gedaan.


Voor wie het toch eens wil proberen: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is vanaf nu uit op Entertainment One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
25/02/2014


25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning