tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones

HARALD ZWART

The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones

Movie
AdventureFantasy

[35/100]   

E1
25/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like the idea, but Hollywood is only founded because they want our money. The dream factory makes our life more beautiful, but daily you’ll find businessmen who are only thinking about which franchise is most popular these days. Today it’s the young adult fiction that scores best, or in other words: fantasy for teenage girls. It’s clear that the makers are just dreaming of coming up with the next Twilight. So far we had pictures like Warm Bodies or Beautiful Creatures, but none of them were big hits. New is The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones that is based on the popular books by Cassandra Clare. At first it was the intention to bomb humanity with six episodes, but as this first chapter wasn’t exactly a massive hit, those changes have become rather small. And yeah, let’s thank God for that as this movie isn’t good at all. Some will let you believe this is as good as The Hunger Games, but it makes us wonder which idiot ever said this!


The story is set in New York. The fifteen-year old Clary (Lily Collins) discovers that she’s not like the others as she sees things others don’t. In a nightclub she meets Jace (Jamie Campbell Bower) who tells her that she’s a mundane, someone who is not from this world. Jace has to learn Clary how to become a shadow huntress. This training is needed more than ever when Clary’s mother is kidnapped by evil demons. It looks like everyone is after the mortal cup, he who owns this has the ultimate power.


We did our best to write down this simple story that’s been overwhelmed by unnecessary plots and personages from whom you’ll never know why they’re invented. The problem is that the makers have focused themselves too much on the silly love story, but that’s of course to please the Twilight-audience, or better said: to win their heart. It’s not that we want to uplift the adventures from Bella Swan to art, but at least Kristen Stewart can act. Something you can’t say from Lily Collins and the rest from the cast. It’s a real wonder why someone like Jonathan Rhys Meyers wanted to participate.


Anyway, for those who want to give it a try (you’re warned though): The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is released on Entertainment One, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
25/02/2014


NL

Als fervent filmliefhebber blijft het nog altijd een pijnlijke vaststelling, maar Hollywood is niet opgericht om ons dagelijks met mooie beelden te overstelpen. Neen, de droomfabriek is een dictatoriale instelling waar poen koning is. Achter de coulissen van de glamwereld zitten dagelijks rijke directeurs over de vraag te vergaderen met welke franchise er tonnen geld valt te verdienen. Tegenwoordig is dat de young adult-fictie: zeg maar fantasy voor bakvissen. In het kielzog van de ene gigantische hit Twilight, hadden we al eerder prenten zoals Warm Bodies of Beautiful Creatures. Misschien dat Kristen Stewart er voor iets tussen zit, maar tot op heden heeft geen van deze producties de hooggespannen verwachtingen ingelost. Nieuw in het rijtje is The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, dat is gebaseerd op de succesvolle boeken van Cassandra Clare. Op het moment dat je dit leest zullen wellicht al enkele banen in Tinseltown zijn gesneuveld, want alles ziet er naar uit dat er op deze film geen vervolg zal komen. Misschien kunnen we daar alleen maar vrolijk om zijn, want het was immers bij aanvang de bedoeling om de mensheid met zes delen te overdonderen en na het eerste deel hebben we daar maar weinig zin in.


Op de cover schreeuwen de makers het wel van de daken dat deze franchise beter dan The Hunger Games is, maar we vragen ons af welke idioot dat ooit heeft gedacht. Allereerst is er het magere verhaal dat met haken en ogen aan elkaar hangt en zich in New York afspeelt. Tiener Clary (Lily Collins) ontdekt dat zij niet zoals haar leeftijdsgenoten is, zij ziet immers dingen die anderen niet zien. In een nachtclub vertelt Jace (Jamie Campbell Bower) haar dat ze niet tot deze wereld behoort. Jace moet de knappe tiener opleiden tot schaduwjaagster. Een opdracht die met de nodige snelheid wordt volbracht wanneer Clarys moeder door kwaadaardige geesten wordt ontvoerd. De inzet van de strijd lijkt rond de mortal cup te draaien, want wie die beker op zijn schouw heeft staan, heeft alle macht in handen.


We hebben ons best gedaan om dit ingewikkeld verhaal dat vol onlogische plots en onnodige personages zit zo simpel mogelijk weer te geven. Neen, aan ons ligt het niet, wel aan de makers die voorrang gaven aan de liefdesperikelen, kwestie om er voor te zorgen dat het Twilight-publiek voldoende aan zijn trekken komt. Trouwens, ondanks de vergelijkingen scoort Twilight heel wat beter. Niet dat de lotgevallen van Bella Swan kunst is, maar Kristen Stewart kan ten minste acteren en dat is iets wat je van Lily Collins en de rest van de cast niet kan zeggen. Het blijft dan ook een raadsel waarom Jonathan Rhys Meyers bereid was om hieraan mee te werken. De personages lopen er wel in uitbundige gothickledij bij, maar alles is veel te afgelikt. Neen, we hebben weinig of geen goede punten aan deze film gezien en het is een geluk dat ook het grote publiek dat niet heeft gedaan.


Voor wie het toch eens wil proberen: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is vanaf nu uit op Entertainment One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
25/02/2014


25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones 25/02/2014 : HARALD ZWART - The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static