tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/03/2015 : HASSE FRöBERG & MUSICAL COMPANION - HMFC

HASSE FRöBERG & MUSICAL COMPANION

HMFC

MusicCD
ProgProg Rock

[85/100]   

GlassVille Records
03/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you are a progfan, then you surely have heard of Hasse Froberg, as he is indeed the singer/guitar player of The Flower Kings. Since 2008 he has his own band since The Flower Kings planned a long break.Because he had written
material that did not fit with the Flower Kings project
, he released some solo albums, HFMC being the third one. Again he makes traditional prog (think of bands like Journey, Rush, Kaipa, Iq…). HFMC seems to focus on the theme “time”.

I must say that this is a fine album with beautiful melodies and lots of details. Can’t Stop The Clock, for example, has an amazing refrain and a great guitar riff. Everything Can Change also has a catchy chorus and there is even a nice jazzy touch.

Pages lasts fifteen minutes and has a nice beginning that later evolves into a rock song. The composition contains an atmospheric piece with piano and emotional vocals. At the end there is a rocking outro. A nice piece of work. Long and short songs alternate with each other. Those of you who love traditional prog or just The Flower Kings, can blindly buy this album.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/03/2015


NL

De naam Hasse Froberg zal bij progliefhebbers wel bekend in de oren klinken, hij is immers de zanger/gitarist van The Flower Kings. Sedert 2008 heeft Froberg een eigen band met voornamelijk mensen uit Spellbound, en leden van The Flower Kings die het wat rustiger aan willen doen. Bovendien had Frobergt nog veel materiaal liggen dat niet echt in het verhaal van The Flower Kings paste.

HMFC is reeds zijn derde soloalbum en net als met The Flower Kings brengt hij hier traditionele prog (denk aan bands als Journey, Rush, Kaipa, IQ…). Dit album lijkt vooral op het thema tijd te focussen. Het moet worden gezegd dat het opnieuw een heel fijn prog album is geworden met zin voor zowel detail als melodie. Ik denk dan bijv. aan Can’t Stop The Clock met zijn geweldig refrein. Ook Everything can Change heeft een heel herkenbare melodie en zelfs een jazzy tussenstukje.

Pages duurt 15 minuten en bevat een mooi uitgesponnen begin waarna een rocknummer tevoorschijn komt. De eerste vijf minuten beginnen heel kalm en losjes. Na een klaterende piano en een emotievolle zanglijn, wordt op het einde alles uit de kast gehaald. Een mooi werkstukje.

Genius is een rustige song en toont aan dat prognummers niet per se volgestopt en druk hoeven te klinken. Lange en kortere songs worden mooi afgewisseld. Wie van traditionele prog of gewoon van The Flower Kings houdt, kan deze schijf blindelings kopen. Het is een zeer degelijk album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/03/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel