tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2012 : HATESEX - A Savage Cabaret, She Said

HATESEX

A Savage Cabaret, She Said

MusicCD
Powergoth

[69/100]   

Alice in...
15/01/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

A disgusting band name and a really ugly cover, not a good start, is it?

Siouxsie and the Banshees, The Breath Of Life, Diva Destruction, London After Midnight, Skeletal Family, Inkubus Sukkubus and even some early Curve, their all kind of present in the music of Hatesex, in small or larger quantities! Fans of aforementioned bands can buy “A Savage Cabaret, She Said”, without hesitation: they won’t be disappointed! 

There seems to be a revival of this kind of stuff. The last month I got no less than 4 releases with a comparable sound: “A Savage Cabaret, She Said” (Hatesex), “A Gleam Of Aberration” (RAUM41), “Tiny Boys” (Tiny Boys) and “Nectar & Wrinkles” (Phoenix Catscratch), all indebted to Siouxsie and similar bands!

Hatesex is a duo from LA, featuring Benn Ra (guitars and bass, ex Diva Destruction) and Krisanna Marie (vocals).

“A Savage Cabaret, She Said”, the bottom line? Are we waiting for this?

Fact: it is well done.
Fact: it is gothic with (sharp/icy) female vocals.
Fact: the sound has written “eighties” all over it and even some early “nineties”.
Fact: there ARE some good songs on this album.
Fact: you can hardly call this stuff original, but hey, that’s not really necessary!
Fact: there are no songs here that really get under my skin.
Maybe that’s why this review is rather unemotional and slightly uninspired?

Not savage enough, most certainly no (dark) cabaret and surely not the best of the 4 mentioned albums. This being said, fans of the “genre” can completely ignore this review and simply buy “A Savage Cabaret, She Said”.

On Dark Dimensions / Alice in …

Didier PIETERS
15/01/2012


NL

Cabaret? Of amateurtoneel?

Een walgelijke groepsnaam en een spuuglelijke hoes. Geen goede start denken we dan.

Siouxsie and the Banshees, The Breath Of Life, Diva Destruction, London After Midnight, Skeletal Family, Inkubus Sukkubus en zelfs wat vroege Curve … Het zit er allemaal in, in meerdere of mindere mate! Liefhebbers van bovenstaande bands kunnen hun CD- of download-collectie zeker verder uitbreiden met “A Savage Cabaret, She Said”, ze zullen niet ontgoocheld zijn.

Dit soort spul lijkt wel aan een heuse revival toe … Ik kreeg op een maand tijd niet minder dan 4 releases in mijn bakje die allemaal een (enigszins) vergelijkbare sound hebben: “A Savage Cabaret, She Said” (Hatesex), “A Gleam Of Aberration” (RAUM41), “Tiny Boys” (Tiny Boys) en “Nectar & Wrinkles” (Phoenix Catscratch), allemaal schatplichtig aan Siouxsie en consoorten!

Hatesex word gevormd door het duo Benn Ra (gitaren en bass, ex Diva Destruction) en Krisanna Marie (vocals). Thuisbasis? LA.

“A Savage Cabaret, She Said”, de bottom line? Zitten we hier nu op te wachten?

Feit: het is goed gedaan.
Feit: het is gothic met redelijk scherp klinkende vrouwelijke vocals.
Feit: het ruikt sterk naar de “eighties” en in dit geval ook een beetje naar de vroege jaren negentig.
Feit: er staan goede songs op deze CD.
Feit: het is niet origineel maar dat hoeft ook niet altijd!
Feit er staan weinig/geen nummers op die me echt raken.
Vandaar waarschijnlijk deze eerder vlakke, ietwat ongeïnspireerde review.

Wild is het allemaal niet (genoeg) en al zeker geen (dark) cabaret. Het is ook niet de beste van de vier vermelde CD’s, maar zeker een aanrader voor de fans van het genre!

Op Dark Dimensions / Alice in …

Didier PIETERS
15/01/2012


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque