tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2011 : HAUJOBB - New World March

HAUJOBB

New World March

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBM

[70/100]   
09/12/2011, Chris KONINGS

Since their formation in 1993, Haujobb have established themselves as one of the forerunners of the 90's electro scene. Their first album was a mere Skinny Puppy clone but they developed their sound enormously with their second album (Freeze Frame Reality). They disbanded in 2003 and when people heard they were working on a new album again, New World March became one of the most eagerly awaited albums on the scene.

Haujobb is none other than Daniel Myer (Architect, Covenant) & Dejan Samardzic and the band name comes from a "mis-translation for skin job" (Blade Runner). They peaked in the 90's, primarily with Solutions For A Small Planet. The ingredients in this new album are pretty much the same as ever, everything a Haujobb fan could hope for: tight, complex dance structures, memorable harmonies, and surging bass lines. Too bad Daniel Myer is still not as bright at singing than he is at building compelling song structures... Allthough the vocals are acceptable, sometimes they lack strength (Soul Reader, Let's Drop Bombs) or depth (Little World).

Music wise it's pure quality, songs that stand out are Crossfire - aggressive drums and edgy synth details contrasting with soft vocals, More Than Us - DAF rhythm, great vocoder effects but sort of silly lyrics, and title track New World March - a gorgeous slow paced Numan/Foxx like synthscape with some cool pitch shifting.

One of the recurring themes is a certain three note melody, one that starts irritating after being used in about five songs throughout the album. So one of the main trademarks of Haujobb (diversity) has only been used in the surrounds like samples and a few melodies. The foundation of the songs are pretty much always the same so by the time the album is finished, you might end up getting bored... Not an album that I can listen to entirely.

It's been released on their own label, Basic Unit Productions and is available through their website

Haujobb

Chris KONINGS
09/12/2011


 

Next reviews
THE LAST CRY • Walking To The Edge
LINGOUF • Doéme
CHARLES DE GOAL • Crimson Muddle | Organic | LeFantastique.Night | T.A.G., Brussels (BE) | 3rd of December 2011
DEXY CORP_ • Uchronopolis
DIARY OF DREAMS • Breath Of Life | Zappa, Antwerp (BE) | 4th of December 2011
PYROLATOR • Neuland
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ROBERT SCHRÖDER • Esthéthique
ARZT+PFUSCH • Lictor Evaporated
ROEDELIUS SCHNEIDER • Stunden

 

Other reviews from HAUJOBB
HAUJOBB • Dead Market EP

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Deadfall Artist/Band Management: The Dark Secret Compilation Volume 3
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design