tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - The Mercy-Go-Round

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

The Mercy-Go-Round

MusicCD
Dark WaveMinimal

[85/100]   

Silber Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Californian label Silber Records releases dark and nostalgic music. Heaven Falls Hard is one of the bands.

This duo from Portsmouth (Virginia) makes music since 1993. Soon a retrospective (20 Years of Tears) will be released, more information can be found on Facebook and Bandcamp.

This release contains 8 minimal dark wave tracks, nine on the CD. Opener Beloved Someday immediately wins my heart. Singer Stacye Moser gives me goose bumps. So beautifully sung and with such a feeling. Along with the semi-acoustic guitar and synth strings, we hear an excellent piece of dark wave. Musically, Loss follows the same path. The strings are replaced by an obscure-sounding piano. In the chorus, she sings with the same swagger as Sinéad O 'Conor did on her debut The Lion & The Cobra.

Stars in My Eyes creates a dreamy atmosphere. Shades of Sorrow has a folky guitar. On Your Winter, Stacye yearns for love. The song gently blossoms and stays interesting.

On the CD version you also get You and Your Sister by This Mortal Coil. The original song is of course better, but the stripped-down version fits very well with the rest of the album. Hidden is also a superb track that floats on a moody bass, while the vocals do the rest. In Ending, you hear a dissonant sounding piano. It’s not their strongest song, but the vocals sound perfect.

Heaven Falls Hard doesn’t provide anything new, but it’s good minimal dark wave. Well worth exploring.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het Californische label Silber Records brengt eerder donkere en nostalgische muziek uit. Zo ook met Heaven Falls Hard.

Dit duo uit Portsmouth (Virginia) maakt al sinds 1993 muziek. Vroeger waren ze met z'n vieren. Binnenkort komt er een retrospectieve uit (20 Years of Tears) waarover je meer informatie op Facebook en Bandcamp vindt.

Deze release bevat een in zwart gehuld album dat acht (op de cd zijn het er negen) minimalistische darkwavetracks bevat.Opener Beloved Someday is meteen een prijsbeestje. De zang van Stacye Moser geeft mij kippenvel. Zo mooi en met gevoel gezongen. Samen met de spaarzame muzikale begeleiding, de semi-akoestische gitaar en de synthstrijkers, is het een uitmuntend stukje dark wave. Muzikaal gaat Loss op dezelfde weg door. De strijkers worden vervangen door een duister klinkende piano. Het refrein klinkt als Sinéad o’ Conor op haar debuut The Lion & The Cobra

Stars in My Eyes bevat summiere percussie en de synths zorgen voor een zweverige sfeer. Shades of Sorrow bevat een folky gitaar. Het is een rustpunt op het album. In Your Winter mijmert en smacht Stacye naar liefde. De track bloeit zachtjes open en blijft ook nadien interessant.

Op de cd staat ook You and Your Sister van This Mortal Coil. De originele song overtreffen is ze niet gelukt, maar de uitgeklede versie past hier erg goed tussen de rest van de tracks. Hidden is ook een schitterende track die dobbert op een simpele gitaartokkel en een stemmige bas. De zang doet de rest. Ending laat de wind en een lichtjes dissonant klinkende piano horen. Niet hun sterkste song, maar met de ijle zang erbij, wordt alles uiteindelijk mooi.

Heaven Falls Hard brengt niet meteen nieuwe dingen, wel goede minimal dark wave. De aanschaf alleen al waard vanwege het sterke Beloved Someday. Zeker het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)