tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - The Mercy-Go-Round

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

The Mercy-Go-Round

MusicCD
Dark WaveMinimal

[85/100]   

Silber Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Californian label Silber Records releases dark and nostalgic music. Heaven Falls Hard is one of the bands.

This duo from Portsmouth (Virginia) makes music since 1993. Soon a retrospective (20 Years of Tears) will be released, more information can be found on Facebook and Bandcamp.

This release contains 8 minimal dark wave tracks, nine on the CD. Opener Beloved Someday immediately wins my heart. Singer Stacye Moser gives me goose bumps. So beautifully sung and with such a feeling. Along with the semi-acoustic guitar and synth strings, we hear an excellent piece of dark wave. Musically, Loss follows the same path. The strings are replaced by an obscure-sounding piano. In the chorus, she sings with the same swagger as Sinéad O 'Conor did on her debut The Lion & The Cobra.

Stars in My Eyes creates a dreamy atmosphere. Shades of Sorrow has a folky guitar. On Your Winter, Stacye yearns for love. The song gently blossoms and stays interesting.

On the CD version you also get You and Your Sister by This Mortal Coil. The original song is of course better, but the stripped-down version fits very well with the rest of the album. Hidden is also a superb track that floats on a moody bass, while the vocals do the rest. In Ending, you hear a dissonant sounding piano. It’s not their strongest song, but the vocals sound perfect.

Heaven Falls Hard doesn’t provide anything new, but it’s good minimal dark wave. Well worth exploring.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het Californische label Silber Records brengt eerder donkere en nostalgische muziek uit. Zo ook met Heaven Falls Hard.

Dit duo uit Portsmouth (Virginia) maakt al sinds 1993 muziek. Vroeger waren ze met z'n vieren. Binnenkort komt er een retrospectieve uit (20 Years of Tears) waarover je meer informatie op Facebook en Bandcamp vindt.

Deze release bevat een in zwart gehuld album dat acht (op de cd zijn het er negen) minimalistische darkwavetracks bevat.Opener Beloved Someday is meteen een prijsbeestje. De zang van Stacye Moser geeft mij kippenvel. Zo mooi en met gevoel gezongen. Samen met de spaarzame muzikale begeleiding, de semi-akoestische gitaar en de synthstrijkers, is het een uitmuntend stukje dark wave. Muzikaal gaat Loss op dezelfde weg door. De strijkers worden vervangen door een duister klinkende piano. Het refrein klinkt als Sinéad o’ Conor op haar debuut The Lion & The Cobra

Stars in My Eyes bevat summiere percussie en de synths zorgen voor een zweverige sfeer. Shades of Sorrow bevat een folky gitaar. Het is een rustpunt op het album. In Your Winter mijmert en smacht Stacye naar liefde. De track bloeit zachtjes open en blijft ook nadien interessant.

Op de cd staat ook You and Your Sister van This Mortal Coil. De originele song overtreffen is ze niet gelukt, maar de uitgeklede versie past hier erg goed tussen de rest van de tracks. Hidden is ook een schitterende track die dobbert op een simpele gitaartokkel en een stemmige bas. De zang doet de rest. Ending laat de wind en een lichtjes dissonant klinkende piano horen. Niet hun sterkste song, maar met de ijle zang erbij, wordt alles uiteindelijk mooi.

Heaven Falls Hard brengt niet meteen nieuwe dingen, wel goede minimal dark wave. De aanschaf alleen al waard vanwege het sterke Beloved Someday. Zeker het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void