tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - The Mercy-Go-Round

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

The Mercy-Go-Round

MusicCD
Dark WaveMinimal

[85/100]   

Silber Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Californian label Silber Records releases dark and nostalgic music. Heaven Falls Hard is one of the bands.

This duo from Portsmouth (Virginia) makes music since 1993. Soon a retrospective (20 Years of Tears) will be released, more information can be found on Facebook and Bandcamp.

This release contains 8 minimal dark wave tracks, nine on the CD. Opener Beloved Someday immediately wins my heart. Singer Stacye Moser gives me goose bumps. So beautifully sung and with such a feeling. Along with the semi-acoustic guitar and synth strings, we hear an excellent piece of dark wave. Musically, Loss follows the same path. The strings are replaced by an obscure-sounding piano. In the chorus, she sings with the same swagger as Sinéad O 'Conor did on her debut The Lion & The Cobra.

Stars in My Eyes creates a dreamy atmosphere. Shades of Sorrow has a folky guitar. On Your Winter, Stacye yearns for love. The song gently blossoms and stays interesting.

On the CD version you also get You and Your Sister by This Mortal Coil. The original song is of course better, but the stripped-down version fits very well with the rest of the album. Hidden is also a superb track that floats on a moody bass, while the vocals do the rest. In Ending, you hear a dissonant sounding piano. It’s not their strongest song, but the vocals sound perfect.

Heaven Falls Hard doesn’t provide anything new, but it’s good minimal dark wave. Well worth exploring.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het Californische label Silber Records brengt eerder donkere en nostalgische muziek uit. Zo ook met Heaven Falls Hard.

Dit duo uit Portsmouth (Virginia) maakt al sinds 1993 muziek. Vroeger waren ze met z'n vieren. Binnenkort komt er een retrospectieve uit (20 Years of Tears) waarover je meer informatie op Facebook en Bandcamp vindt.

Deze release bevat een in zwart gehuld album dat acht (op de cd zijn het er negen) minimalistische darkwavetracks bevat.Opener Beloved Someday is meteen een prijsbeestje. De zang van Stacye Moser geeft mij kippenvel. Zo mooi en met gevoel gezongen. Samen met de spaarzame muzikale begeleiding, de semi-akoestische gitaar en de synthstrijkers, is het een uitmuntend stukje dark wave. Muzikaal gaat Loss op dezelfde weg door. De strijkers worden vervangen door een duister klinkende piano. Het refrein klinkt als Sinéad o’ Conor op haar debuut The Lion & The Cobra

Stars in My Eyes bevat summiere percussie en de synths zorgen voor een zweverige sfeer. Shades of Sorrow bevat een folky gitaar. Het is een rustpunt op het album. In Your Winter mijmert en smacht Stacye naar liefde. De track bloeit zachtjes open en blijft ook nadien interessant.

Op de cd staat ook You and Your Sister van This Mortal Coil. De originele song overtreffen is ze niet gelukt, maar de uitgeklede versie past hier erg goed tussen de rest van de tracks. Hidden is ook een schitterende track die dobbert op een simpele gitaartokkel en een stemmige bas. De zang doet de rest. Ending laat de wind en een lichtjes dissonant klinkende piano horen. Niet hun sterkste song, maar met de ijle zang erbij, wordt alles uiteindelijk mooi.

Heaven Falls Hard brengt niet meteen nieuwe dingen, wel goede minimal dark wave. De aanschaf alleen al waard vanwege het sterke Beloved Someday. Zeker het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)