tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - The Mercy-Go-Round

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

The Mercy-Go-Round

MusicCD
Dark WaveMinimal

[85/100]   

Silber Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Californian label Silber Records releases dark and nostalgic music. Heaven Falls Hard is one of the bands.

This duo from Portsmouth (Virginia) makes music since 1993. Soon a retrospective (20 Years of Tears) will be released, more information can be found on Facebook and Bandcamp.

This release contains 8 minimal dark wave tracks, nine on the CD. Opener Beloved Someday immediately wins my heart. Singer Stacye Moser gives me goose bumps. So beautifully sung and with such a feeling. Along with the semi-acoustic guitar and synth strings, we hear an excellent piece of dark wave. Musically, Loss follows the same path. The strings are replaced by an obscure-sounding piano. In the chorus, she sings with the same swagger as Sinéad O 'Conor did on her debut The Lion & The Cobra.

Stars in My Eyes creates a dreamy atmosphere. Shades of Sorrow has a folky guitar. On Your Winter, Stacye yearns for love. The song gently blossoms and stays interesting.

On the CD version you also get You and Your Sister by This Mortal Coil. The original song is of course better, but the stripped-down version fits very well with the rest of the album. Hidden is also a superb track that floats on a moody bass, while the vocals do the rest. In Ending, you hear a dissonant sounding piano. It’s not their strongest song, but the vocals sound perfect.

Heaven Falls Hard doesn’t provide anything new, but it’s good minimal dark wave. Well worth exploring.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het Californische label Silber Records brengt eerder donkere en nostalgische muziek uit. Zo ook met Heaven Falls Hard.

Dit duo uit Portsmouth (Virginia) maakt al sinds 1993 muziek. Vroeger waren ze met z'n vieren. Binnenkort komt er een retrospectieve uit (20 Years of Tears) waarover je meer informatie op Facebook en Bandcamp vindt.

Deze release bevat een in zwart gehuld album dat acht (op de cd zijn het er negen) minimalistische darkwavetracks bevat.Opener Beloved Someday is meteen een prijsbeestje. De zang van Stacye Moser geeft mij kippenvel. Zo mooi en met gevoel gezongen. Samen met de spaarzame muzikale begeleiding, de semi-akoestische gitaar en de synthstrijkers, is het een uitmuntend stukje dark wave. Muzikaal gaat Loss op dezelfde weg door. De strijkers worden vervangen door een duister klinkende piano. Het refrein klinkt als Sinéad o’ Conor op haar debuut The Lion & The Cobra

Stars in My Eyes bevat summiere percussie en de synths zorgen voor een zweverige sfeer. Shades of Sorrow bevat een folky gitaar. Het is een rustpunt op het album. In Your Winter mijmert en smacht Stacye naar liefde. De track bloeit zachtjes open en blijft ook nadien interessant.

Op de cd staat ook You and Your Sister van This Mortal Coil. De originele song overtreffen is ze niet gelukt, maar de uitgeklede versie past hier erg goed tussen de rest van de tracks. Hidden is ook een schitterende track die dobbert op een simpele gitaartokkel en een stemmige bas. De zang doet de rest. Ending laat de wind en een lichtjes dissonant klinkende piano horen. Niet hun sterkste song, maar met de ijle zang erbij, wordt alles uiteindelijk mooi.

Heaven Falls Hard brengt niet meteen nieuwe dingen, wel goede minimal dark wave. De aanschaf alleen al waard vanwege het sterke Beloved Someday. Zeker het ontdekken waard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life