tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

HENKE

HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

Concert
Dark WaveGothic

[90/100]   
31/03/2013, Ward DE PRINS

Opening act for this event in the Kulturbahnhof Langendreer in Bochum was Lisa Morgenstern. A relatively new artist. As opening act, it is not always obvious to get the attention of the audience, but besides a few rowdy spectators this lovely lady could trigger us & captivate the attention of the entire audience. Really not obvious, since Lisa was solo on stage. But the beautiful piano performance that was supplemented with her fantastic voice and occasional computer tracks could certainly charm us.

Strange stories, for instance about a girl who eats herself, or about the smile of an earthworm were accompanied by fantastic piano playing and an impressive voice (though I occasionally had the impression that a little less hard and intense piano playing would even make the songs better.) But it was nice to see again an opening act without any preparation, without any youtube movies or bandcamp pages prior to the concert,whithout any prejudice, and then being carried away by such beauty & intensity.

I wonder what pearls her first CD will bring us, which - as Oswald whispered to me – will appear next autumn.

But of course most of us came for HENKE, who have just released their 2nd album, Maskenball der Nackten. I admit, I stood there completely prejudiced since I followed GE since the early nineties and listen weekly to the two cd’s of this marvelous band. But that also made my expectations tremendously high.

The first part of the tour focuses mainly on HENKE songs (where the second part, in Frankfurt and Antwerp will be more dominated by the older songs of Goethes Erben). But this was no disadvantage, not at all.

On an extended instrumental intro, HENKE entered the stage, covered with smoke & blue light. Dokument 2 opened the set, starting gently but getting quickly to the intensity which was the keyword for this performance.

The set continued with Valiumregenbogen and a tremendous version of Rote Irrlichter from the second album. Oswald takes the whole stage, runs aggressively from left to right, or stands motionless to transfer his emotions to the audience. Fantastic intense versions of songs like Vergessen, Zeitmemory & Wer mich liebt are included in the long set. Am jedem Haar is a very personal song about one of the last phrases his grandmother told him. Intense!

And even my favorite, Ein Jahr als Tag, finds its way to the set list, immersing us in the frail thoughts & unique vision of Oswald, making me think about the speed of life. But they don’t give me much time to contemplate: the harsh songs Epilog & Fernweh Ist overwhelm me. Instrumentally exploding while Oswald thrives like a mad man, leaving me not knowing where to focus – his madness or the band members, each of them blending perfectly into this intensity.

Even a few GE classics make it to the set: Nichts Bleibt Wie Es War, Himmelgrau, Märchenprinzen & 5 Jahre fit perfectly to the sound/songs of HENKE.

The audience is thrilled and are able to get the band twice back on stage for encores, including the fantastic Die Brüder Schweigen, a new song about the tension between God and the Devil, and it's influence on us. But finally, with Medea the performance comes to an end, where the band members switch instruments and Oswald tells us a gentle, final lullaby.

Compared to Goethes Erben, I find the songs and performance louder, harder, more intense, but without losing the balance between fragile & harsh. Besides the presence of Oswald Henke, a major influence will be of course the band, which clearly visible enjoys the entire performance.

HENKE meets my expectations once again. This concert will linger for a long time in my mind.

I am really looking forward to their performance in Antwerpen, especially since this show will be different by focusing more on Goethes Erben Classics (even with ex-GE violin player Susanna Reinhardt).

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2013


31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

 

Next reviews
NITON DECAY • Cage
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria
AIRCRASH BUREAU • Pack leader
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Corporate power
CHAINREACTOR • The silence & The noise
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]
SPETSNAZ • For Generations To Come
:CODES • All The Tragic Heroines
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 4 in 1 volume 3
AGENT SIDE GRINDER, ORGANIC & BREATH OF LIFE • Review of the HAPPYNEWWAVE concert at the Rockerill in Charleroi on 23rd March 2013

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage
HENKE • Herz (EP)
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus