tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

HENKE

HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

Concert
Dark WaveGothic

[90/100]   
31/03/2013, Ward DE PRINS

Opening act for this event in the Kulturbahnhof Langendreer in Bochum was Lisa Morgenstern. A relatively new artist. As opening act, it is not always obvious to get the attention of the audience, but besides a few rowdy spectators this lovely lady could trigger us & captivate the attention of the entire audience. Really not obvious, since Lisa was solo on stage. But the beautiful piano performance that was supplemented with her fantastic voice and occasional computer tracks could certainly charm us.

Strange stories, for instance about a girl who eats herself, or about the smile of an earthworm were accompanied by fantastic piano playing and an impressive voice (though I occasionally had the impression that a little less hard and intense piano playing would even make the songs better.) But it was nice to see again an opening act without any preparation, without any youtube movies or bandcamp pages prior to the concert,whithout any prejudice, and then being carried away by such beauty & intensity.

I wonder what pearls her first CD will bring us, which - as Oswald whispered to me – will appear next autumn.

But of course most of us came for HENKE, who have just released their 2nd album, Maskenball der Nackten. I admit, I stood there completely prejudiced since I followed GE since the early nineties and listen weekly to the two cd’s of this marvelous band. But that also made my expectations tremendously high.

The first part of the tour focuses mainly on HENKE songs (where the second part, in Frankfurt and Antwerp will be more dominated by the older songs of Goethes Erben). But this was no disadvantage, not at all.

On an extended instrumental intro, HENKE entered the stage, covered with smoke & blue light. Dokument 2 opened the set, starting gently but getting quickly to the intensity which was the keyword for this performance.

The set continued with Valiumregenbogen and a tremendous version of Rote Irrlichter from the second album. Oswald takes the whole stage, runs aggressively from left to right, or stands motionless to transfer his emotions to the audience. Fantastic intense versions of songs like Vergessen, Zeitmemory & Wer mich liebt are included in the long set. Am jedem Haar is a very personal song about one of the last phrases his grandmother told him. Intense!

And even my favorite, Ein Jahr als Tag, finds its way to the set list, immersing us in the frail thoughts & unique vision of Oswald, making me think about the speed of life. But they don’t give me much time to contemplate: the harsh songs Epilog & Fernweh Ist overwhelm me. Instrumentally exploding while Oswald thrives like a mad man, leaving me not knowing where to focus – his madness or the band members, each of them blending perfectly into this intensity.

Even a few GE classics make it to the set: Nichts Bleibt Wie Es War, Himmelgrau, Märchenprinzen & 5 Jahre fit perfectly to the sound/songs of HENKE.

The audience is thrilled and are able to get the band twice back on stage for encores, including the fantastic Die Brüder Schweigen, a new song about the tension between God and the Devil, and it's influence on us. But finally, with Medea the performance comes to an end, where the band members switch instruments and Oswald tells us a gentle, final lullaby.

Compared to Goethes Erben, I find the songs and performance louder, harder, more intense, but without losing the balance between fragile & harsh. Besides the presence of Oswald Henke, a major influence will be of course the band, which clearly visible enjoys the entire performance.

HENKE meets my expectations once again. This concert will linger for a long time in my mind.

I am really looking forward to their performance in Antwerpen, especially since this show will be different by focusing more on Goethes Erben Classics (even with ex-GE violin player Susanna Reinhardt).

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2013


31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

 

Next reviews
NITON DECAY • Cage
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria
AIRCRASH BUREAU • Pack leader
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Corporate power
CHAINREACTOR • The silence & The noise
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]
SPETSNAZ • For Generations To Come
:CODES • All The Tragic Heroines
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 4 in 1 volume 3
AGENT SIDE GRINDER, ORGANIC & BREATH OF LIFE • Review of the HAPPYNEWWAVE concert at the Rockerill in Charleroi on 23rd March 2013

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage
HENKE • Herz (EP)
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
10
36 years ago Ministry released (Every Day Is) Halloween!
30
10
In time for Halloween Heaven and Hell Records resurrect the MORTICIA catalogue.
29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
10
DIVE
Far Away
30
10
THE MISSION
Tower Of Strength 2020
29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World