tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

HENKE

HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

Concert
Dark WaveGothic

[90/100]   
31/03/2013, Ward DE PRINS

Opening act for this event in the Kulturbahnhof Langendreer in Bochum was Lisa Morgenstern. A relatively new artist. As opening act, it is not always obvious to get the attention of the audience, but besides a few rowdy spectators this lovely lady could trigger us & captivate the attention of the entire audience. Really not obvious, since Lisa was solo on stage. But the beautiful piano performance that was supplemented with her fantastic voice and occasional computer tracks could certainly charm us.

Strange stories, for instance about a girl who eats herself, or about the smile of an earthworm were accompanied by fantastic piano playing and an impressive voice (though I occasionally had the impression that a little less hard and intense piano playing would even make the songs better.) But it was nice to see again an opening act without any preparation, without any youtube movies or bandcamp pages prior to the concert,whithout any prejudice, and then being carried away by such beauty & intensity.

I wonder what pearls her first CD will bring us, which - as Oswald whispered to me – will appear next autumn.

But of course most of us came for HENKE, who have just released their 2nd album, Maskenball der Nackten. I admit, I stood there completely prejudiced since I followed GE since the early nineties and listen weekly to the two cd’s of this marvelous band. But that also made my expectations tremendously high.

The first part of the tour focuses mainly on HENKE songs (where the second part, in Frankfurt and Antwerp will be more dominated by the older songs of Goethes Erben). But this was no disadvantage, not at all.

On an extended instrumental intro, HENKE entered the stage, covered with smoke & blue light. Dokument 2 opened the set, starting gently but getting quickly to the intensity which was the keyword for this performance.

The set continued with Valiumregenbogen and a tremendous version of Rote Irrlichter from the second album. Oswald takes the whole stage, runs aggressively from left to right, or stands motionless to transfer his emotions to the audience. Fantastic intense versions of songs like Vergessen, Zeitmemory & Wer mich liebt are included in the long set. Am jedem Haar is a very personal song about one of the last phrases his grandmother told him. Intense!

And even my favorite, Ein Jahr als Tag, finds its way to the set list, immersing us in the frail thoughts & unique vision of Oswald, making me think about the speed of life. But they don’t give me much time to contemplate: the harsh songs Epilog & Fernweh Ist overwhelm me. Instrumentally exploding while Oswald thrives like a mad man, leaving me not knowing where to focus – his madness or the band members, each of them blending perfectly into this intensity.

Even a few GE classics make it to the set: Nichts Bleibt Wie Es War, Himmelgrau, Märchenprinzen & 5 Jahre fit perfectly to the sound/songs of HENKE.

The audience is thrilled and are able to get the band twice back on stage for encores, including the fantastic Die Brüder Schweigen, a new song about the tension between God and the Devil, and it's influence on us. But finally, with Medea the performance comes to an end, where the band members switch instruments and Oswald tells us a gentle, final lullaby.

Compared to Goethes Erben, I find the songs and performance louder, harder, more intense, but without losing the balance between fragile & harsh. Besides the presence of Oswald Henke, a major influence will be of course the band, which clearly visible enjoys the entire performance.

HENKE meets my expectations once again. This concert will linger for a long time in my mind.

I am really looking forward to their performance in Antwerpen, especially since this show will be different by focusing more on Goethes Erben Classics (even with ex-GE violin player Susanna Reinhardt).

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2013


31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013 31/03/2013 : HENKE - HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013

 

Next reviews
NITON DECAY • Cage
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria
AIRCRASH BUREAU • Pack leader
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Corporate power
CHAINREACTOR • The silence & The noise
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]
SPETSNAZ • For Generations To Come
:CODES • All The Tragic Heroines
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 4 in 1 volume 3
AGENT SIDE GRINDER, ORGANIC & BREATH OF LIFE • Review of the HAPPYNEWWAVE concert at the Rockerill in Charleroi on 23rd March 2013

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage
HENKE • Herz (EP)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation