tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/03/2013 : HENKE - Maskenball der Nackten

HENKE

Maskenball der Nackten

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic

[94/100]   

Dryland Records
21/03/2013, Ward DE PRINS

EN

"Maskenball der Nackten" is the successor of the strong debut album "Seelenfütterung".

The CD opens with "Dokument 2", Oswald first narrates against a dark slow piano playing before the tempo increases steadily and the song wins strength and body. Almost like a pop song when you listen to the instrumental part. But when you listen to poet Oswald Henke, who tells us “Liebe mich und töte dafür mein Herz” (Love me and kill my heart for it), maybe I should revise my opinion, since this is not really the most appropriate text for a pop song.

To start with the summary : this album turns out to be a beautiful coherent album, on which the tight accompaniment by Tobi, Benni, Tom & Stefan creates the perfect framework for the figments and reflections of Oswald.

Thus "Rote Irrlichter" is driven by a simple but oh so beautiful guitar riff, which continues undisturbed, almost blank and numb, while a melancholic piano and occasionally exploding drums and bass extrapolate the textual sadness. "Zeitmemory" is driven by great synths, strings and drums. Hereby Oswald whispers, recounts or screams in his typical manner "Allen laufen rückwärts".

But also the harder/louder songs get their place on this album. All musicians can fully indulge in songs like "Epilog" and "Fernweh Ist", two songs wherein anger and aggression can explode, instrumental & textually.

After this power boost my two favourites of this album follow. With a super restrained "Ein Jahr as Tag" Oswald tells how your ever accelerating life sometimes can derail you, wondering which way to go to. The calm nature of this song invites you to think along.“Maskenball der Nackten”, the title song of the album shows Oswald chanting against a captivating melody that reminds me of the burlesque theater pieces from the first half of last century, delicious!

And finally, the more quiet but o so beautiful songs "Nur Allein" and "Medea" close the album.

HENKE delivers a second masterpiece with "Maskenball der Nackten", which is - admittedly – partly recognizable by Oswald's unique, compelling style, but is also highly driven by incredible beautiful arrangements ny some brilliant musicians!

 


For the first time in four years HENKE will perform again in Belgium, and this on April 6, 2013 in venue Zappa in Antwerp. Not to be missed!!


 

 

ein Jahr als Tag

 

Wenn ein Jahr als Tag verstreicht
Man nicht weiß, wohin
Nur weiß, woher
Ein Jahr als Tag

Vor dem grauen Schleier
Irgendwann
Vom Wissen nagt
Und nichts übrig bleibt
Kein Wohin und keine Erinnerung

Wenn ein Jahr als Tag verstreicht
Man marschiert im Takt der Zeit
Die schneller läuft
Je näher man dem Ende kommt
Dem Mittelpunkt
Das Leben still steht
Man sich noch einmal leben
Noch einmal leben sieht

Ward DE PRINS
21/03/2013






NL

“Maskenball der Nackten” is de opvolger van het sterke debuut album “Seelenfütterung”.

De CD opent met “Dokument 2”, Oswald verhaalt tegen een duistere traag pianospel, waarna het tempo gestaag wordt opgedreven en de song aan kracht en body wint. Haast als een popsong denk ik dan, al reken ik buiten poëet van dienst, Oswald Henke, die ons verhaalt “Liebe mich und töte dafür mein Herz” , misschien toch niet echt de meest geschikte tekst voor een popsong.

Om te beginnen met de samenvatting: dit album ontpopt zich tot een prachtig samenhangend geheel waarbij de strakke begeleiding door Tobi, Benni, Tom & Stefan het perfecte kader creëren voor de hersenspinsels van Oswald.

Zo wordt “Rote Irrlichter” gedreven door een eenvoudige doch o zo mooie gitaar rif, die haast wezenloos en gevoelloos doorgaat terwijl een weemoedig pianospel en occasioneel exploderende drums en bas de tekstuele droefnis extrapoleren. “Zeitmemory” wordt dan weer gedreven door heerlijke synths, strijkers & drums, waarop Oswald op zijn typische wijze fluistert, verhaalt of uithaalt “Allen laufen Rückwärts”.

Maar ook het ruigere werk krijgt zijn plaats op dit album. Alle muzikanten mogen zich ten volle uitleven in nummers zoals “Epilog” en “Fernweh Ist”, twee nummers waarin de kwaadheid en agressie zowel tekstueel als instrumentaal exploderen.

Na deze krachttoer komen mijn twee favorieten. Met een super ingetogen “Ein Jahr als Tag” verhaalt Oswald hoe het steeds sneller gaande leven ons soms doet ontsporen , doet afvragen in welke richting het nu verder moet. De rust nodigt uit mee na te denken. “Maskenball der Nackten”, de titelsong van het album laat Oswald scanderen tegen een meeslepende melodie die me doet denken aan de burlesque theaterstukken uit de eerste helft van de vorige eeuw, heerlijk !

Tot slot mogen de meer rustige (maar o zo mooie) songs “Nur Allein” en “Medea” het album afsluiten.

HENKE levert met “Maskenball der Nackten” een tweede meesterwerk af, dat – toegegeven – deels herkenbaar is en gedragen wordt door Oswald’s unieke, meeslepende stijl, maar daarbovenop ook prachtige arrangementen door enkele schitterende muzikanten bevat!

 


Voor het eerst in vier jaren treedt HENKE nog eens op in België, en dat op 6 april 2013 in zaal Zappa te Antwerpen. Not to be missed !!


 

Maskenball der Nackten

 

Verstecken wir das was wir wissen
Wollen lieben oder suchen

Betrügen wir mit Masken
Schatten
Namen
Das Befinden

Irritieren wir das eigene Spiegelbild
Indem wir mit Masken tanzen
Nackt tanzen
Barfuß
Auf Zehenspitzen

Mit Masken reden
Lieben, küssen
Spielen zum Verwirren

Ein anderes Ich
Größer
Kleiner
Zwischen Ja und Nein

Masken sichtbar
Maskenblind
Das Spiel mit Pigmenten
Polymeren
Und Sulfaten

Kartell der Lügen
Lügenkarussell
Drehend, kreiselnd, flüchten
Tanzen
Nackt tanzen
Verwirren mit Musik
Melodiebetrug
Harmoniebetäubt
Führen
Buh! Applaus?
Wer es war?
Die Maske vorne rechts?
Nie Nackte
Die Maske
Die Nackte

 

Ward DE PRINS
21/03/2013






 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
NASTY BULLETZ • Right Time To Rock You
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
LOVE IS COLDER THAN DEATH • Tempest
DAVID BOWIE • The Next Day
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware Comes Alive

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser