tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/03/2013 : HENKE - Maskenball der Nackten

HENKE

Maskenball der Nackten

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic

[94/100]   

Dryland Records
21/03/2013, Ward DE PRINS

EN

"Maskenball der Nackten" is the successor of the strong debut album "Seelenfütterung".

The CD opens with "Dokument 2", Oswald first narrates against a dark slow piano playing before the tempo increases steadily and the song wins strength and body. Almost like a pop song when you listen to the instrumental part. But when you listen to poet Oswald Henke, who tells us “Liebe mich und töte dafür mein Herz” (Love me and kill my heart for it), maybe I should revise my opinion, since this is not really the most appropriate text for a pop song.

To start with the summary : this album turns out to be a beautiful coherent album, on which the tight accompaniment by Tobi, Benni, Tom & Stefan creates the perfect framework for the figments and reflections of Oswald.

Thus "Rote Irrlichter" is driven by a simple but oh so beautiful guitar riff, which continues undisturbed, almost blank and numb, while a melancholic piano and occasionally exploding drums and bass extrapolate the textual sadness. "Zeitmemory" is driven by great synths, strings and drums. Hereby Oswald whispers, recounts or screams in his typical manner "Allen laufen rückwärts".

But also the harder/louder songs get their place on this album. All musicians can fully indulge in songs like "Epilog" and "Fernweh Ist", two songs wherein anger and aggression can explode, instrumental & textually.

After this power boost my two favourites of this album follow. With a super restrained "Ein Jahr as Tag" Oswald tells how your ever accelerating life sometimes can derail you, wondering which way to go to. The calm nature of this song invites you to think along.“Maskenball der Nackten”, the title song of the album shows Oswald chanting against a captivating melody that reminds me of the burlesque theater pieces from the first half of last century, delicious!

And finally, the more quiet but o so beautiful songs "Nur Allein" and "Medea" close the album.

HENKE delivers a second masterpiece with "Maskenball der Nackten", which is - admittedly – partly recognizable by Oswald's unique, compelling style, but is also highly driven by incredible beautiful arrangements ny some brilliant musicians!

 


For the first time in four years HENKE will perform again in Belgium, and this on April 6, 2013 in venue Zappa in Antwerp. Not to be missed!!


 

 

ein Jahr als Tag

 

Wenn ein Jahr als Tag verstreicht
Man nicht weiß, wohin
Nur weiß, woher
Ein Jahr als Tag

Vor dem grauen Schleier
Irgendwann
Vom Wissen nagt
Und nichts übrig bleibt
Kein Wohin und keine Erinnerung

Wenn ein Jahr als Tag verstreicht
Man marschiert im Takt der Zeit
Die schneller läuft
Je näher man dem Ende kommt
Dem Mittelpunkt
Das Leben still steht
Man sich noch einmal leben
Noch einmal leben sieht

Ward DE PRINS
21/03/2013






NL

“Maskenball der Nackten” is de opvolger van het sterke debuut album “Seelenfütterung”.

De CD opent met “Dokument 2”, Oswald verhaalt tegen een duistere traag pianospel, waarna het tempo gestaag wordt opgedreven en de song aan kracht en body wint. Haast als een popsong denk ik dan, al reken ik buiten poëet van dienst, Oswald Henke, die ons verhaalt “Liebe mich und töte dafür mein Herz” , misschien toch niet echt de meest geschikte tekst voor een popsong.

Om te beginnen met de samenvatting: dit album ontpopt zich tot een prachtig samenhangend geheel waarbij de strakke begeleiding door Tobi, Benni, Tom & Stefan het perfecte kader creëren voor de hersenspinsels van Oswald.

Zo wordt “Rote Irrlichter” gedreven door een eenvoudige doch o zo mooie gitaar rif, die haast wezenloos en gevoelloos doorgaat terwijl een weemoedig pianospel en occasioneel exploderende drums en bas de tekstuele droefnis extrapoleren. “Zeitmemory” wordt dan weer gedreven door heerlijke synths, strijkers & drums, waarop Oswald op zijn typische wijze fluistert, verhaalt of uithaalt “Allen laufen Rückwärts”.

Maar ook het ruigere werk krijgt zijn plaats op dit album. Alle muzikanten mogen zich ten volle uitleven in nummers zoals “Epilog” en “Fernweh Ist”, twee nummers waarin de kwaadheid en agressie zowel tekstueel als instrumentaal exploderen.

Na deze krachttoer komen mijn twee favorieten. Met een super ingetogen “Ein Jahr als Tag” verhaalt Oswald hoe het steeds sneller gaande leven ons soms doet ontsporen , doet afvragen in welke richting het nu verder moet. De rust nodigt uit mee na te denken. “Maskenball der Nackten”, de titelsong van het album laat Oswald scanderen tegen een meeslepende melodie die me doet denken aan de burlesque theaterstukken uit de eerste helft van de vorige eeuw, heerlijk !

Tot slot mogen de meer rustige (maar o zo mooie) songs “Nur Allein” en “Medea” het album afsluiten.

HENKE levert met “Maskenball der Nackten” een tweede meesterwerk af, dat – toegegeven – deels herkenbaar is en gedragen wordt door Oswald’s unieke, meeslepende stijl, maar daarbovenop ook prachtige arrangementen door enkele schitterende muzikanten bevat!

 


Voor het eerst in vier jaren treedt HENKE nog eens op in België, en dat op 6 april 2013 in zaal Zappa te Antwerpen. Not to be missed !!


 

Maskenball der Nackten

 

Verstecken wir das was wir wissen
Wollen lieben oder suchen

Betrügen wir mit Masken
Schatten
Namen
Das Befinden

Irritieren wir das eigene Spiegelbild
Indem wir mit Masken tanzen
Nackt tanzen
Barfuß
Auf Zehenspitzen

Mit Masken reden
Lieben, küssen
Spielen zum Verwirren

Ein anderes Ich
Größer
Kleiner
Zwischen Ja und Nein

Masken sichtbar
Maskenblind
Das Spiel mit Pigmenten
Polymeren
Und Sulfaten

Kartell der Lügen
Lügenkarussell
Drehend, kreiselnd, flüchten
Tanzen
Nackt tanzen
Verwirren mit Musik
Melodiebetrug
Harmoniebetäubt
Führen
Buh! Applaus?
Wer es war?
Die Maske vorne rechts?
Nie Nackte
Die Maske
Die Nackte

 

Ward DE PRINS
21/03/2013






 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
NASTY BULLETZ • Right Time To Rock You
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
LOVE IS COLDER THAN DEATH • Tempest
DAVID BOWIE • The Next Day
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware Comes Alive

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage
HENKE • Herz (EP)
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap