tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

Fans of Tribal Ambient or Dark Ambient need no introduction to Ah Cama-Sotz. Already active since 1993 and with releases on Hands and Ant-Zen, Herman is one of the Belgian institutes of this genre. Less known are his roots, we asked Herman Klapholz to come up with the records that changed his life.

1. W.A. Mozart - Requiem
Mozart is just a genius. i won't have to tell anyone who he is, but sonically speaking , the Requiem gives me such a good feeling. it gives me gooseflesh al the time :-) 

2. SPK - Zamia Lehmanni 
The first true tribal/ritual/dark ambient I discovered. Such a beauty. I have it on CD and vinyl. I discovered the record in 1989! This record/production will never be outdated! Graeme Revell is a great composer. 

3. DAVID BOWIE - Low
The Berlin period (together with Heroes and Lodger). I've read so many stuff about Bowie. I could add so many records I like from this artist. He has always beene around in the seventies during my school time. At this period of time, I found "Low" quite odd , the fact that he managed to compose/blend/mix 2 different styles of music, combining pop and art/ambient music! of course Eno was around, this explains a lot!

4. THE YOUNG GODS - T.V. Sky
Many good stuff from TYG.Ii cannot choose between any of their CDs :-) I like this one a lot because of the sonic brutality. I like it a lot. I remember the day I discovered their first vinyl. Samples and up to your face drums, guitar and magnificent voice from Franz Treichler.

5. IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES - Enter Now the World
The first CD I bought from Cold Meat Industry. Around 1992. quite dark ritual/anbient stuff. Quite strange ambience to me, as I was coming from diverse kinds of music. I Like the voice and instrumentation. Well this kind of ritual music influenced me for a part.

6. SHINJUKU THIEF - The Witch Hammer
A classic. Love it very much. Darrin Verhagen, A musician/producer from Victoria (AUSTRALIA) is a real master in the making of visual audiophile soundscapes. I met him once in Antwerp. A very friendly guy. Respect. Well I possess most of his CDs, released on Dorobo.

7. VON MAGNET - El Grito
I know these guys since longtime. Great musicians and dancers. A MIX of electronic/ voice/ flamenco. If you have the opportunity to see them live on stage, go for it! Strong entertainment! Bizarre in a positive sense.

8. LUSTMORD - The Monstrous Soul
The prince of dark ambient since the beginning, I know this kind of atmosphere. A real Genius. Difficulty to choose one album as I have most of them. "This is the night of the demon …", a classic in this genre of music. My neighbours love it! What to say else. A Great musician. I spoke with him once in Germany. 

9. THE PRODIGY - The Fat of the Land
Turn this on volume +11. A blast. I Have nearly everything from Prodigy. A gimmick with their approach towards production, but it's a must to see them live on stage. I love their mix of beats and breakbeats. Good music to test the bass of your Hi-Fi (laughs).


10. INVADERS OF THE HEART - Without Judgement 
Jah Wobble and dub music. If you like dub and electronics, you have to go for this one. Really nice ambience. The beats and bass are incredible on this album. Quite natural feel. I love the ambient/oriental atmosphere you can find on this production. There is lots of space for experimentation. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/08/2015 : HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start