tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

24/11/2015 : HERMETIC ELECTRIC - Hermetic Electric EP3

HERMETIC ELECTRIC

Hermetic Electric EP3

MusicCD (EP)
Cold WaveElectro WavePost Rock

[80/100]   

Hyphen Records
24/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Hermetic Electric is a Belgian duo (Namur) consisting of Holly Naboo (vocals, bass, guitar, organ) and Elfi (keyboards and synths). They released an EP in 2013 via their own label Hyphen. On stage they are joined by Eric Robette on bass, who previously was in Steel and Life As an Owl. This EP contains six songs and is a mix of dark and cold wave, electro and post-rock.

It sounds a bit cold at times, but the bass brings some warmth in the music. Comparisons with Joy Division and The Cure are never far away, but this really sounds like a rip off of these bands. The EP starts with Away. The underlying layers of synth sounds bring a lot of atmosphere to the song. A very fine opener.

Time is a track of their previous live EP Escape and Never Ending Story. It is an epic song that makes you think of the Siberian tundra and other broad plains. Tic Tac is a similar drawn out and slowly accumulating song. Escape is electro post-rock that may be too slow to keep the interest alive.

Disable begins with a light synth sound, but the voice is perfect as a counterweight. A nice atmosphere!

Currently they are working on a full length album that probably will be released halfway 2016. It is their dream to record it in Macclefield,s where Ian Curtis comes from. A nice EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


NL

Hermetic Electric is een Belgisch duo (uit Namen) dat uit Holly Naboo (zang, bas, gitaar, orgel) en Elfi (keyboards en synths) bestaat. Ze brachten een eerste ep uit (2013) via hun eigen Hyphen label. Op het podium worden ze voor de baspartijen bijgestaan door Eric Robette die voorheen bij Steel en Life As an Owl zat. Op deze ep staan zes nummers die een mengeling van dark- en coldwave, electro en postrock zijn.

Het klinkt bij momenten wat koud en gestilleerd, maar de bassen brengen wel wat warmte in de muziek. Vergelijkingen met Joy Division en The Cure zijn dus nooit ver weg, maar dit klinkt meer dan ooit als een rip off van deze bands. De ep start met Away dat heel geleidelijk wordt opbouwd. De onderliggende lagen met synthsounds brengen veel sfeer in het nummer. De zang bevat veel nuances. Een heel fijne opener. 

Time stond ook op de vorige live-ep Escape and Never Ending Story. Time is een episch nummer dat beelden van de Siberische toendra en andere weidse vlakten oproept. Tic Tac is een gelijksoortige, uitgesponnen en langzaam opgebouwde song. Escape is een electropostrocktrack die misschien iets te veel voortkabbelt om de aandacht gaande te blijven houden. Disable begint met haast lichtvoetige synths, maar de stem is heel geschikt als tegengewicht. Mooi en sfeerrijk nummer.

Ze zitten niet stil, want momenteel werken ze aan een volledige cd die waarschijnlijk ergens halfweg 2016 verschijnt. Het is hun droom om die op te nemen in het Britse Macclefields waar Ian Curtis vandaan komt. Een leuke aanwinst deze ep.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel