tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

09/12/2016 : HIDDEN IN TREETOPS - Lost

HIDDEN IN TREETOPS

Lost

MusicCassette
AmbientElectronics

[80/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

One of the nicest elements of music is its diversity. Nothing is more distressing than music fans who, for whatever reason, are narrow minded. Geert Vandekerkhof is not that kind of guy. Of course, you know him as the frontman of the new wave band Der Klinke or the founder of the minimal electro project Story Off, but he also makes alternative ambient music with Hidden In Treetops.

The music of Hidden In Treetops is completely instrumental and requires more effort than what he does with Der Klinke or Story Off, but once you close your eyes and let yourself be carried away by the electronic sound carpet, a beautiful world opens up before your eyes.

Even though this tape release has fourteen tracks, each with a different character, you better listen to it in one go. Call it a voyage through electronic music, a trip through the history of the synthesizer music with Geert as your guide.

In The White Container and Requiem you hear that Chesko is a fan of Jean Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is more Warp!-like electronics that flirt with Sabres Of Paradise and Aphex Twin. Sometimes it’s danceable, then simply music to dream away on as in the opening song Low (try to find the background of this title!), that overwhelms you with eerie, mesmerizing and heavy synths.

Hidden In Treetops is dark electronics, and another new musical face of Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een van de mooiste kenmerken van muziek is diversiteit. Niets is meer schrijnend dan muziekfans die zich, om welke reden ook, in één hokje opsluiten. Geert Vandekerkhof kan je daar in ieder geval niet van beschuldigen. Je kent hem natuurlijk als de frontman van de new wave band Der Klinke of de bezieler van het minimal electro-project Story Off, maar alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is, maakt hij met Hidden In Treetops tevens alternatieve ambiente muziek.

De muziek van Hidden In Treetops is helemaal instrumentaal en vraagt iets meer inspanningen dan wat hij met Der Klinke of Story Off doet, maar eens je je ogen sluit en je laat meevoeren op het elektronische klanktapijt, gaat er een mooie wereld voor je open.

Ook al telt deze taperelease veertien tracks met elk een verschillend karakter, luister je er toch beter in één ruk naar. Noem het een soort van ontdekkingstocht doorheen de elektronische muziek, een trip doorheen de geschiedenis van de synthesizer met Geert als gids.

Zo hoor je in The White Container en Requiem duidelijk dat Chesko een fan is van Jean-Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is meer Warp!-achtige electronica die flirt met Sabres Of Paradise en Aphex Twin. Soms dansbaar, op andere momenten gewoon muziek om op weg te dromen zoals in de opener Low (zoek zelf maar de achtergrond van deze titel) waarin de beangstigende, betoverende en zware synths je overvallen.

Hidden In Treetops is donkere elektronica, met alweer een nieuw muzikaal gezicht van Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo
MIST OF DEAD END • Never Explain Anything
MERCURY GIRLS • Ariana
DAS ICH • Mönchengladbach, Kultube (09/04/16)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) • Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God