tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

09/12/2016 : HIDDEN IN TREETOPS - Lost

HIDDEN IN TREETOPS

Lost

MusicCassette
AmbientElectronics

[80/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

One of the nicest elements of music is its diversity. Nothing is more distressing than music fans who, for whatever reason, are narrow minded. Geert Vandekerkhof is not that kind of guy. Of course, you know him as the frontman of the new wave band Der Klinke or the founder of the minimal electro project Story Off, but he also makes alternative ambient music with Hidden In Treetops.

The music of Hidden In Treetops is completely instrumental and requires more effort than what he does with Der Klinke or Story Off, but once you close your eyes and let yourself be carried away by the electronic sound carpet, a beautiful world opens up before your eyes.

Even though this tape release has fourteen tracks, each with a different character, you better listen to it in one go. Call it a voyage through electronic music, a trip through the history of the synthesizer music with Geert as your guide.

In The White Container and Requiem you hear that Chesko is a fan of Jean Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is more Warp!-like electronics that flirt with Sabres Of Paradise and Aphex Twin. Sometimes it’s danceable, then simply music to dream away on as in the opening song Low (try to find the background of this title!), that overwhelms you with eerie, mesmerizing and heavy synths.

Hidden In Treetops is dark electronics, and another new musical face of Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een van de mooiste kenmerken van muziek is diversiteit. Niets is meer schrijnend dan muziekfans die zich, om welke reden ook, in één hokje opsluiten. Geert Vandekerkhof kan je daar in ieder geval niet van beschuldigen. Je kent hem natuurlijk als de frontman van de new wave band Der Klinke of de bezieler van het minimal electro-project Story Off, maar alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is, maakt hij met Hidden In Treetops tevens alternatieve ambiente muziek.

De muziek van Hidden In Treetops is helemaal instrumentaal en vraagt iets meer inspanningen dan wat hij met Der Klinke of Story Off doet, maar eens je je ogen sluit en je laat meevoeren op het elektronische klanktapijt, gaat er een mooie wereld voor je open.

Ook al telt deze taperelease veertien tracks met elk een verschillend karakter, luister je er toch beter in één ruk naar. Noem het een soort van ontdekkingstocht doorheen de elektronische muziek, een trip doorheen de geschiedenis van de synthesizer met Geert als gids.

Zo hoor je in The White Container en Requiem duidelijk dat Chesko een fan is van Jean-Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is meer Warp!-achtige electronica die flirt met Sabres Of Paradise en Aphex Twin. Soms dansbaar, op andere momenten gewoon muziek om op weg te dromen zoals in de opener Low (zoek zelf maar de achtergrond van deze titel) waarin de beangstigende, betoverende en zware synths je overvallen.

Hidden In Treetops is donkere elektronica, met alweer een nieuw muzikaal gezicht van Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo
MIST OF DEAD END • Never Explain Anything
MERCURY GIRLS • Ariana
DAS ICH • Mönchengladbach, Kultube (09/04/16)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) • Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God