tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

09/12/2016 : HIDDEN IN TREETOPS - Lost

HIDDEN IN TREETOPS

Lost

MusicCassette
AmbientElectronics

[80/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

One of the nicest elements of music is its diversity. Nothing is more distressing than music fans who, for whatever reason, are narrow minded. Geert Vandekerkhof is not that kind of guy. Of course, you know him as the frontman of the new wave band Der Klinke or the founder of the minimal electro project Story Off, but he also makes alternative ambient music with Hidden In Treetops.

The music of Hidden In Treetops is completely instrumental and requires more effort than what he does with Der Klinke or Story Off, but once you close your eyes and let yourself be carried away by the electronic sound carpet, a beautiful world opens up before your eyes.

Even though this tape release has fourteen tracks, each with a different character, you better listen to it in one go. Call it a voyage through electronic music, a trip through the history of the synthesizer music with Geert as your guide.

In The White Container and Requiem you hear that Chesko is a fan of Jean Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is more Warp!-like electronics that flirt with Sabres Of Paradise and Aphex Twin. Sometimes it’s danceable, then simply music to dream away on as in the opening song Low (try to find the background of this title!), that overwhelms you with eerie, mesmerizing and heavy synths.

Hidden In Treetops is dark electronics, and another new musical face of Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een van de mooiste kenmerken van muziek is diversiteit. Niets is meer schrijnend dan muziekfans die zich, om welke reden ook, in één hokje opsluiten. Geert Vandekerkhof kan je daar in ieder geval niet van beschuldigen. Je kent hem natuurlijk als de frontman van de new wave band Der Klinke of de bezieler van het minimal electro-project Story Off, maar alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is, maakt hij met Hidden In Treetops tevens alternatieve ambiente muziek.

De muziek van Hidden In Treetops is helemaal instrumentaal en vraagt iets meer inspanningen dan wat hij met Der Klinke of Story Off doet, maar eens je je ogen sluit en je laat meevoeren op het elektronische klanktapijt, gaat er een mooie wereld voor je open.

Ook al telt deze taperelease veertien tracks met elk een verschillend karakter, luister je er toch beter in één ruk naar. Noem het een soort van ontdekkingstocht doorheen de elektronische muziek, een trip doorheen de geschiedenis van de synthesizer met Geert als gids.

Zo hoor je in The White Container en Requiem duidelijk dat Chesko een fan is van Jean-Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is meer Warp!-achtige electronica die flirt met Sabres Of Paradise en Aphex Twin. Soms dansbaar, op andere momenten gewoon muziek om op weg te dromen zoals in de opener Low (zoek zelf maar de achtergrond van deze titel) waarin de beangstigende, betoverende en zware synths je overvallen.

Hidden In Treetops is donkere elektronica, met alweer een nieuw muzikaal gezicht van Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo
MIST OF DEAD END • Never Explain Anything
MERCURY GIRLS • Ariana
DAS ICH • Mönchengladbach, Kultube (09/04/16)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) • Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'
13
01
The Weathermen have remastered and released their live backing track instrumentals!
12
01
Dark Ambient Act LOUSBERG Announces THE DEATH OF HUMANITY

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.
22
12
MICHAEL MCKEEGAN
'We had to approach the songs in a different manner.'
10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number
11
01
OHMELECTRONIC
Everything Is Gone
10
01
WAITING FOR WORDS
Great New World