tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

09/12/2016 : HIDDEN IN TREETOPS - Lost

HIDDEN IN TREETOPS

Lost

MusicCassette
AmbientElectronics

[80/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

One of the nicest elements of music is its diversity. Nothing is more distressing than music fans who, for whatever reason, are narrow minded. Geert Vandekerkhof is not that kind of guy. Of course, you know him as the frontman of the new wave band Der Klinke or the founder of the minimal electro project Story Off, but he also makes alternative ambient music with Hidden In Treetops.

The music of Hidden In Treetops is completely instrumental and requires more effort than what he does with Der Klinke or Story Off, but once you close your eyes and let yourself be carried away by the electronic sound carpet, a beautiful world opens up before your eyes.

Even though this tape release has fourteen tracks, each with a different character, you better listen to it in one go. Call it a voyage through electronic music, a trip through the history of the synthesizer music with Geert as your guide.

In The White Container and Requiem you hear that Chesko is a fan of Jean Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is more Warp!-like electronics that flirt with Sabres Of Paradise and Aphex Twin. Sometimes it’s danceable, then simply music to dream away on as in the opening song Low (try to find the background of this title!), that overwhelms you with eerie, mesmerizing and heavy synths.

Hidden In Treetops is dark electronics, and another new musical face of Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een van de mooiste kenmerken van muziek is diversiteit. Niets is meer schrijnend dan muziekfans die zich, om welke reden ook, in één hokje opsluiten. Geert Vandekerkhof kan je daar in ieder geval niet van beschuldigen. Je kent hem natuurlijk als de frontman van de new wave band Der Klinke of de bezieler van het minimal electro-project Story Off, maar alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is, maakt hij met Hidden In Treetops tevens alternatieve ambiente muziek.

De muziek van Hidden In Treetops is helemaal instrumentaal en vraagt iets meer inspanningen dan wat hij met Der Klinke of Story Off doet, maar eens je je ogen sluit en je laat meevoeren op het elektronische klanktapijt, gaat er een mooie wereld voor je open.

Ook al telt deze taperelease veertien tracks met elk een verschillend karakter, luister je er toch beter in één ruk naar. Noem het een soort van ontdekkingstocht doorheen de elektronische muziek, een trip doorheen de geschiedenis van de synthesizer met Geert als gids.

Zo hoor je in The White Container en Requiem duidelijk dat Chesko een fan is van Jean-Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is meer Warp!-achtige electronica die flirt met Sabres Of Paradise en Aphex Twin. Soms dansbaar, op andere momenten gewoon muziek om op weg te dromen zoals in de opener Low (zoek zelf maar de achtergrond van deze titel) waarin de beangstigende, betoverende en zware synths je overvallen.

Hidden In Treetops is donkere elektronica, met alweer een nieuw muzikaal gezicht van Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo
MIST OF DEAD END • Never Explain Anything
MERCURY GIRLS • Ariana
DAS ICH • Mönchengladbach, Kultube (09/04/16)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) • Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence