tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : HIDDEN PLACE - Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione

HIDDEN PLACE

Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione

Music7 inch
Dark WaveGothicMinimal

[92/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Italy evokes many images, but for some reasons, I will always appreciate the country for its genius dark music. Almost every genre (from neo-classical to neo-folk) contains great Italian names, and in the league of electronic dark wave genre, Hidden Place definitely is the band you have to put on top of your list.

The band is still underground, but more than ten years around. Anyone who has albums like Novecento (out on Calembour, the label by The Frozen Autumn) or Weather Station in his collection (if not, you should) is aware of the fact that this band has a quite diverse sound.

The newest release by this Italian band is a 7” (on white vinyl, and limited to 199 copies) that features two tracks in Italian. You don’t understand Italian, you say? Neither do I, and I fell in love within the very first seconds.

Nei versi di Prévert is the A-side. The electronic synths have a quite contemporary sound (think of Kavinsky), but the cold wave guitars add a dark touch. It definitely is a danceable song with two faces as this cold wave song also has some Italo disco influences, and no, we’re not saying this because of the Italian origin. The melody is irresistible, the vocals by Sara Lux are perfect and at the end the doomy keyboards come in. Perfect!

The B-side Reazione is another gem. Obviously you have to categorize it as electronic dark wave (what else would you choose?), but the nervous drum beats give it a kind of punky touch. A song that is full of adrenalin, while (again) the doomy keyboards make it all sound dark.

Those two new songs are once again a perfect proof that Hidden Place is a band you better take care of (at least if you’re keen on original dark wave) and it’s another step forwards. We’re waiting for that album now... after all it could be a perfect one!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic

 

Other reviews from HIDDEN PLACE
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC + MINIMAL
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire