tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : HIDDEN PLACE - Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione

HIDDEN PLACE

Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione

Music7 inch
Dark WaveGothicMinimal

[92/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Italy evokes many images, but for some reasons, I will always appreciate the country for its genius dark music. Almost every genre (from neo-classical to neo-folk) contains great Italian names, and in the league of electronic dark wave genre, Hidden Place definitely is the band you have to put on top of your list.

The band is still underground, but more than ten years around. Anyone who has albums like Novecento (out on Calembour, the label by The Frozen Autumn) or Weather Station in his collection (if not, you should) is aware of the fact that this band has a quite diverse sound.

The newest release by this Italian band is a 7” (on white vinyl, and limited to 199 copies) that features two tracks in Italian. You don’t understand Italian, you say? Neither do I, and I fell in love within the very first seconds.

Nei versi di Prévert is the A-side. The electronic synths have a quite contemporary sound (think of Kavinsky), but the cold wave guitars add a dark touch. It definitely is a danceable song with two faces as this cold wave song also has some Italo disco influences, and no, we’re not saying this because of the Italian origin. The melody is irresistible, the vocals by Sara Lux are perfect and at the end the doomy keyboards come in. Perfect!

The B-side Reazione is another gem. Obviously you have to categorize it as electronic dark wave (what else would you choose?), but the nervous drum beats give it a kind of punky touch. A song that is full of adrenalin, while (again) the doomy keyboards make it all sound dark.

Those two new songs are once again a perfect proof that Hidden Place is a band you better take care of (at least if you’re keen on original dark wave) and it’s another step forwards. We’re waiting for that album now... after all it could be a perfect one!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic

 

Other reviews from HIDDEN PLACE
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC + MINIMAL
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus