tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : HIDDEN PLACE - Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

HIDDEN PLACE

Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You never heard of Hidden Place? Well, then you simply miss one of the finest bands ever. Nothing stops you to discover it now because Nero Schwarz is a brand new compilation with a nice overview of what this Italian band did so far.

Dark, but very diverse. The latest single Nei Versi Di Prevert is a wonderful combination of Italo disco and cold wave. On Without Time you hear Kraftwerk beats, rhythms that make your heart beat faster, because this is dark music at its best with a very poppy side, although the dark voice of Sara Lux gives it a macabre twist.

Hidden Place juggles with various genres and that is what makes it so good. London To Rome has a perverse disco sound, while the indus side of Kirlian Camera of the 90s emerges on Centrali.

Gioco Cromatio (after listening to this album you surely know some Italian words) and Emotional are dark disco pop. Alla Mostra Dei Costruttivisti (Alternate Version) has EBM rhythms and it is clear that the machines rule.

A band that has a big influence on the sound of Hidden Place is Clan Of Xymox, which you hear in the sublime Picture Hall or the final song Reazione.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Nog nooit van Hidden Place gehoord? Wel, dan mis je gewoon één van de mooiste bands die er bestaan. Niets dat je echter tegenhoudt om dat nu wat aan te doen want Nero Schwarz is een compilatie en een mooi overzicht van wat deze Italiaanse band tot dusver deed.

Donker, maar zeer divers. De meest recente single Nei Versi Di Prevert een prachtige combinatie van Italo Disco en cold wave. Op Without Time hoor je de opmars van Kraftwerkbeats, ritmes die je hart sneller doen slaan en je doen likkebaarden, want dit is donkere muziek op haar best met een zeer poppy kantje, hoewel de donkere stem van Sara Lux eerder voor een macaber tintje zorgt.

Hidden Place goochelt met zeer uiteenlopende genres en dat is wat Hidden Place zo goed maakt. London To Rome heeft een pervers discogeluidje, terwijl men op Centrali meer de induskant van Kirlian Camera uit de jaren 90 opzoekt.
Gioco Cromatio (na het beluisteren van deze plaat zal je wel wat Italiaans woordjes rijker zijn) en Emotional zijn donkere discopop. Alla Mostra Dei Costruttivisti (Alternate Version) heeft meer een EBM-ritme en het is duidelijk dat de machines de scepter zwaaien.

Een band die een grote invloed heeft op het geluid van Hidden Place is Clan Of Xymox, dat hoor je zonder meer in het bloedstollende Picture Hall of de afsluiter Reazione.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Other reviews from HIDDEN PLACE
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers