tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : HIDDEN PLACE - Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

HIDDEN PLACE

Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You never heard of Hidden Place? Well, then you simply miss one of the finest bands ever. Nothing stops you to discover it now because Nero Schwarz is a brand new compilation with a nice overview of what this Italian band did so far.

Dark, but very diverse. The latest single Nei Versi Di Prevert is a wonderful combination of Italo disco and cold wave. On Without Time you hear Kraftwerk beats, rhythms that make your heart beat faster, because this is dark music at its best with a very poppy side, although the dark voice of Sara Lux gives it a macabre twist.

Hidden Place juggles with various genres and that is what makes it so good. London To Rome has a perverse disco sound, while the indus side of Kirlian Camera of the 90s emerges on Centrali.

Gioco Cromatio (after listening to this album you surely know some Italian words) and Emotional are dark disco pop. Alla Mostra Dei Costruttivisti (Alternate Version) has EBM rhythms and it is clear that the machines rule.

A band that has a big influence on the sound of Hidden Place is Clan Of Xymox, which you hear in the sublime Picture Hall or the final song Reazione.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Nog nooit van Hidden Place gehoord? Wel, dan mis je gewoon één van de mooiste bands die er bestaan. Niets dat je echter tegenhoudt om dat nu wat aan te doen want Nero Schwarz is een compilatie en een mooi overzicht van wat deze Italiaanse band tot dusver deed.

Donker, maar zeer divers. De meest recente single Nei Versi Di Prevert een prachtige combinatie van Italo Disco en cold wave. Op Without Time hoor je de opmars van Kraftwerkbeats, ritmes die je hart sneller doen slaan en je doen likkebaarden, want dit is donkere muziek op haar best met een zeer poppy kantje, hoewel de donkere stem van Sara Lux eerder voor een macaber tintje zorgt.

Hidden Place goochelt met zeer uiteenlopende genres en dat is wat Hidden Place zo goed maakt. London To Rome heeft een pervers discogeluidje, terwijl men op Centrali meer de induskant van Kirlian Camera uit de jaren 90 opzoekt.
Gioco Cromatio (na het beluisteren van deze plaat zal je wel wat Italiaans woordjes rijker zijn) en Emotional zijn donkere discopop. Alla Mostra Dei Costruttivisti (Alternate Version) heeft meer een EBM-ritme en het is duidelijk dat de machines de scepter zwaaien.

Een band die een grote invloed heeft op het geluid van Hidden Place is Clan Of Xymox, dat hoor je zonder meer in het bloedstollende Picture Hall of de afsluiter Reazione.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Other reviews from HIDDEN PLACE
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
DARK • Nightmare
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

Music reviews

23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold
18
12
MOVMENT
Transformation
17
12
G.U.S.T.
Gust of wind

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary
14
01
Today, 43 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
14
01
On this night, 43 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
13
01
New single by DARK
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (57)

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories
11
01
DAVID BOWIE
DJ
10
01
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Neuromancer