tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/12/2011 : HORRORS - Ancienne Belgique, Brussels | 8th December 2011

HORRORS

Ancienne Belgique, Brussels

8th December 2011

Concert


[80/100]   
09/12/2011, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

 

The Ancienne Belgique isn't full for The Horrors. I had already seen them at the Herk-De-Stad festival in July 2009 and last year in the Cirque Royal so I was eager to find out how they had evolved. Their last album, "Skying", launched at Glastonbury 2011, was a further step towards brit-rock and psyche-rock with references to Suede, Blur, My Bloody Valentine and less prominent dark / shoegaze / postpunk tones.

At 9pm, the gig begins with "Changing The Rain" from "Skying". I was impressed by the sound: all instruments were perfectly equalized and positioned, forming a clear and powerful wall of sound. Faris Badwan's voice was great and Rhys Web's bass sounds, simply amazing.

Basically, they played what seems to be their typical setlist for this "Skying" tour, alternating between songs from their 2 last albums, "Skying" and "Primary Colors".

The audience was focussed but as a whole rather quiet, only getting a bit noisier on the stronger tracks from "Primary Colors" like "Sea Within A Sea", "Three Decades" and "Who Can Say". There's an HD video below with their live rendering of the excellent "Mirror's Image".

Overall, it was a great show, with high quality music and excellent stage performance. My only disappointment was that they played no songs from their first album "Strange House", which includes postpunk jewels like "Count In Fives". The Horrors seem to be getting softer with every album, losing some of the rage they had in the beginning... The ransom of success?

Setlist
01. Changing The Rain (from Sking)
02. Who Can Say (Primary Colors)
03. I Can See Through You (Skying)
04. Scarlet Fields (Primary Colors)
05. Dive In (Skying)
06. Endless Blue (Skying)
07. Sea Within A Sea (Primary Colors)
08. Still Life (Skying)
Encore
09. Mirror's Images (Primary Colors)
10. Three Decades (Primary Colors)
11. Moving further Away (Skying)

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
09/12/2011


Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song