tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/12/2011 : HORRORS - Ancienne Belgique, Brussels | 8th December 2011

HORRORS

Ancienne Belgique, Brussels

8th December 2011

Concert


[80/100]   
09/12/2011, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

 

The Ancienne Belgique isn't full for The Horrors. I had already seen them at the Herk-De-Stad festival in July 2009 and last year in the Cirque Royal so I was eager to find out how they had evolved. Their last album, "Skying", launched at Glastonbury 2011, was a further step towards brit-rock and psyche-rock with references to Suede, Blur, My Bloody Valentine and less prominent dark / shoegaze / postpunk tones.

At 9pm, the gig begins with "Changing The Rain" from "Skying". I was impressed by the sound: all instruments were perfectly equalized and positioned, forming a clear and powerful wall of sound. Faris Badwan's voice was great and Rhys Web's bass sounds, simply amazing.

Basically, they played what seems to be their typical setlist for this "Skying" tour, alternating between songs from their 2 last albums, "Skying" and "Primary Colors".

The audience was focussed but as a whole rather quiet, only getting a bit noisier on the stronger tracks from "Primary Colors" like "Sea Within A Sea", "Three Decades" and "Who Can Say". There's an HD video below with their live rendering of the excellent "Mirror's Image".

Overall, it was a great show, with high quality music and excellent stage performance. My only disappointment was that they played no songs from their first album "Strange House", which includes postpunk jewels like "Count In Fives". The Horrors seem to be getting softer with every album, losing some of the rage they had in the beginning... The ransom of success?

Setlist
01. Changing The Rain (from Sking)
02. Who Can Say (Primary Colors)
03. I Can See Through You (Skying)
04. Scarlet Fields (Primary Colors)
05. Dive In (Skying)
06. Endless Blue (Skying)
07. Sea Within A Sea (Primary Colors)
08. Still Life (Skying)
Encore
09. Mirror's Images (Primary Colors)
10. Three Decades (Primary Colors)
11. Moving further Away (Skying)

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
09/12/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize