tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/12/2011 : HORRORS - Ancienne Belgique, Brussels | 8th December 2011

HORRORS

Ancienne Belgique, Brussels

8th December 2011

Concert


[80/100]   
09/12/2011, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

 

The Ancienne Belgique isn't full for The Horrors. I had already seen them at the Herk-De-Stad festival in July 2009 and last year in the Cirque Royal so I was eager to find out how they had evolved. Their last album, "Skying", launched at Glastonbury 2011, was a further step towards brit-rock and psyche-rock with references to Suede, Blur, My Bloody Valentine and less prominent dark / shoegaze / postpunk tones.

At 9pm, the gig begins with "Changing The Rain" from "Skying". I was impressed by the sound: all instruments were perfectly equalized and positioned, forming a clear and powerful wall of sound. Faris Badwan's voice was great and Rhys Web's bass sounds, simply amazing.

Basically, they played what seems to be their typical setlist for this "Skying" tour, alternating between songs from their 2 last albums, "Skying" and "Primary Colors".

The audience was focussed but as a whole rather quiet, only getting a bit noisier on the stronger tracks from "Primary Colors" like "Sea Within A Sea", "Three Decades" and "Who Can Say". There's an HD video below with their live rendering of the excellent "Mirror's Image".

Overall, it was a great show, with high quality music and excellent stage performance. My only disappointment was that they played no songs from their first album "Strange House", which includes postpunk jewels like "Count In Fives". The Horrors seem to be getting softer with every album, losing some of the rage they had in the beginning... The ransom of success?

Setlist
01. Changing The Rain (from Sking)
02. Who Can Say (Primary Colors)
03. I Can See Through You (Skying)
04. Scarlet Fields (Primary Colors)
05. Dive In (Skying)
06. Endless Blue (Skying)
07. Sea Within A Sea (Primary Colors)
08. Still Life (Skying)
Encore
09. Mirror's Images (Primary Colors)
10. Three Decades (Primary Colors)
11. Moving further Away (Skying)

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
09/12/2011


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED