tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/05/2015 : HYDROGEN SEA - Court the Dark

HYDROGEN SEA

Court the Dark

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroIndie

[88/100]   

Unday Records
07/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Hydrogen Sea is a Brussels electro/indie duo that released last year their first EP ‘Court The Dark’. Currently they’re touring in this country: they opened in the Lotto Arena for Selah Sue, had a sold out gig in the AB club and played at The Vooruit Gent.

That's why I want to draw your attention to their ep. To situate their music a little: you will notice some elements from SX, Portishead, Morcheeba…

‘Leave A Mark’ is melodic without being to sentimental. ‘End Up’ is a song that needs nothing more than vocals and piano. ‘Wear Out’ will be released as a ‘Mees Dierdorp remix on May 4th. ‘Only Oleander’ was their latest single: nicely sung by Birsen Uçar. ‘The Farside’ closes this sublimal EP.

There’s no doubt that we will hear more of them.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/05/2015


NL

Hydrogen Sea is een Brussels electro/indieduo dat verleden jaar de ep ‘Court the dark’ heeft uitgebracht. Momenteel zijn ze bezig aan een mooie tournee in eigen land: voorprogramma van Selah Sue in de Lotto-arena, een uitverkochte concert in club AB en Vooruit Gent.

Vandaar nog eventjes hun ep in het daglicht stellen. Om een beetje te situeren: hun muziek bevat elementen die je ook terugvindt in de muziek van SX, Portishead, Morcheeba…

‘Leave A Mark’ is melodisch zonder overdreven sentiment uit te stralen. ‘End Up’ is een song die niets meer behoeft dan een prachtige stem en een piano. Van ‘Wear out’ komt er de 4de mei een ‘Mees Dierdorp remix’ uit. ‘Only Oleanders’ is hun laatste single: een nummer dat heel mooi gezongen wordt door Birsen Ucar. ‘The Farside’ sluit deze sublieme ep af.

We gaan hier ongetwijfeld nog mooie dingen van horen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/05/2015


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat