tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2013 : HYPNOSKULL - Electronic Music Means War To Us 2

HYPNOSKULL

Electronic Music Means War To Us 2

MusicCD
NoiseRhythmic Industrial

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
07/08/2013, Chris KONINGS

Busy in harsh electronics for more then 20 years now, Patrick Stevens resurfaces after a five year hiatus. After making seven albums for Ant-Zen and a whole lot more on his own tape label, he ran out of albums titles so here's "Electronic Music Means War To Us 2". I can't say anything about the 2001 album but I always liked the raw, lo-fi power of "Ffwd>Burnout!"... And with this one it's the same, but you can add some professional crispness to it!

"Show Me The Rhythm" is a great cover (although there's not much left of the original) of "Show Me Love" by Robin S. A killer track and the lyric samples of Robin S sound great too! The change to the next song is very subtle but when the throbbing electronics take over, you know it's another song. Did I mention the throbbing machinery-like sounds?

Some tracks are more technominded, others are pure chaotic rhythmic industrial like "Intravenous Preparation" or "Mediadeath". And another great thing are the remixes, all threading on very specific musical paths like dark ambient, noise, death metal or even Dutch hiphop! The hiphop track might not be that great lyrically but it's a nice experiment. But a label like Ad Noiseam has a bit more knowledge about who to contact I guess. Niveau Zero with Aucan sounded a lot more convincing, but anyway that's a whole different setup... I'm comparing apples and oranges here.

Other great mixes are the action packed drum n noise set with Needle Sharing or the mercyless grindcore with Cyberosis. Dissecting Table provide the necessary maniacal noise mayhem and Steiner ends the album fittingly, with spooky field recordings full of echoing german voices.

A great album, followed by a few wonderful experiments. It took him about five years, but welcome back Patrick!!! Let's hope someone acknowledges his talent so he can also play in his own country...To all you organisers, get your head out of your ass!!

Part 1, "Rhythmusmaschine Eins - Zwei", "Operation Tough Guy!" and "Dark Skies Over Planet E." are now officially on my Maschinenfest wantlist!

Chris KONINGS
07/08/2013


 

Next reviews
DIORAMA • Review of the concert at Summer Darkness in Utrecht on 26th July 2013
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
MUSHY/MEDDICINE • Split EP
HUMAN FLESH • THE 35th HUMAN ATTEMPT
AUTO-AUTO • The skies are your hunting ground (EP)
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP
FINVARRA
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
A.A.A.K. • Buildingscapebeat XXV

 

Same combination of genres: NOISE + RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
WIELORYB • Root
WIELORYB • Namaste
DIRTY K • Torrent Of Fury
SONAR • Cut Us Up
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis
INCITE • Light Spin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust