tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2013 : HYPNOSKULL - Electronic Music Means War To Us 2

HYPNOSKULL

Electronic Music Means War To Us 2

MusicCD
NoiseRhythmic Industrial

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
07/08/2013, Chris KONINGS

Busy in harsh electronics for more then 20 years now, Patrick Stevens resurfaces after a five year hiatus. After making seven albums for Ant-Zen and a whole lot more on his own tape label, he ran out of albums titles so here's "Electronic Music Means War To Us 2". I can't say anything about the 2001 album but I always liked the raw, lo-fi power of "Ffwd>Burnout!"... And with this one it's the same, but you can add some professional crispness to it!

"Show Me The Rhythm" is a great cover (although there's not much left of the original) of "Show Me Love" by Robin S. A killer track and the lyric samples of Robin S sound great too! The change to the next song is very subtle but when the throbbing electronics take over, you know it's another song. Did I mention the throbbing machinery-like sounds?

Some tracks are more technominded, others are pure chaotic rhythmic industrial like "Intravenous Preparation" or "Mediadeath". And another great thing are the remixes, all threading on very specific musical paths like dark ambient, noise, death metal or even Dutch hiphop! The hiphop track might not be that great lyrically but it's a nice experiment. But a label like Ad Noiseam has a bit more knowledge about who to contact I guess. Niveau Zero with Aucan sounded a lot more convincing, but anyway that's a whole different setup... I'm comparing apples and oranges here.

Other great mixes are the action packed drum n noise set with Needle Sharing or the mercyless grindcore with Cyberosis. Dissecting Table provide the necessary maniacal noise mayhem and Steiner ends the album fittingly, with spooky field recordings full of echoing german voices.

A great album, followed by a few wonderful experiments. It took him about five years, but welcome back Patrick!!! Let's hope someone acknowledges his talent so he can also play in his own country...To all you organisers, get your head out of your ass!!

Part 1, "Rhythmusmaschine Eins - Zwei", "Operation Tough Guy!" and "Dark Skies Over Planet E." are now officially on my Maschinenfest wantlist!

Chris KONINGS
07/08/2013


 

Next reviews
DIORAMA • Review of the concert at Summer Darkness in Utrecht on 26th July 2013
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
MUSHY/MEDDICINE • Split EP
HUMAN FLESH • THE 35th HUMAN ATTEMPT
AUTO-AUTO • The skies are your hunting ground (EP)
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP
FINVARRA
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
A.A.A.K. • Buildingscapebeat XXV

 

Same combination of genres: NOISE + RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
WIELORYB • Root
WIELORYB • Namaste
DIRTY K • Torrent Of Fury
SONAR • Cut Us Up
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis
INCITE • Light Spin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap