tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2013 : HYPNOSKULL - Electronic Music Means War To Us 2

HYPNOSKULL

Electronic Music Means War To Us 2

MusicCD
NoiseRhythmic Industrial

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
07/08/2013, Chris KONINGS

Busy in harsh electronics for more then 20 years now, Patrick Stevens resurfaces after a five year hiatus. After making seven albums for Ant-Zen and a whole lot more on his own tape label, he ran out of albums titles so here's "Electronic Music Means War To Us 2". I can't say anything about the 2001 album but I always liked the raw, lo-fi power of "Ffwd>Burnout!"... And with this one it's the same, but you can add some professional crispness to it!

"Show Me The Rhythm" is a great cover (although there's not much left of the original) of "Show Me Love" by Robin S. A killer track and the lyric samples of Robin S sound great too! The change to the next song is very subtle but when the throbbing electronics take over, you know it's another song. Did I mention the throbbing machinery-like sounds?

Some tracks are more technominded, others are pure chaotic rhythmic industrial like "Intravenous Preparation" or "Mediadeath". And another great thing are the remixes, all threading on very specific musical paths like dark ambient, noise, death metal or even Dutch hiphop! The hiphop track might not be that great lyrically but it's a nice experiment. But a label like Ad Noiseam has a bit more knowledge about who to contact I guess. Niveau Zero with Aucan sounded a lot more convincing, but anyway that's a whole different setup... I'm comparing apples and oranges here.

Other great mixes are the action packed drum n noise set with Needle Sharing or the mercyless grindcore with Cyberosis. Dissecting Table provide the necessary maniacal noise mayhem and Steiner ends the album fittingly, with spooky field recordings full of echoing german voices.

A great album, followed by a few wonderful experiments. It took him about five years, but welcome back Patrick!!! Let's hope someone acknowledges his talent so he can also play in his own country...To all you organisers, get your head out of your ass!!

Part 1, "Rhythmusmaschine Eins - Zwei", "Operation Tough Guy!" and "Dark Skies Over Planet E." are now officially on my Maschinenfest wantlist!

Chris KONINGS
07/08/2013


 

Next reviews
DIORAMA • Review of the concert at Summer Darkness in Utrecht on 26th July 2013
ULTRA MILKMAIDS • AMR
MUSHY/MEDDICINE • Split EP
HUMAN FLESH • THE 35th HUMAN ATTEMPT
AUTO-AUTO • The skies are your hunting ground (EP)
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP
FINVARRA
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
A.A.A.K. • Buildingscapebeat XXV

 

Same combination of genres: NOISE + RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
WIELORYB • Root
WIELORYB • Namaste
DIRTY K • Torrent Of Fury
SONAR • Cut Us Up
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis
INCITE • Light Spin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat