tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2015 : I, THE LION - Run (EP)

I, THE LION

Run (EP)

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second (strong!) EP or this British band that soon will release a full album. Something the fans are waiting for, as this band has a quite good live reputation over there.

Hold Strong starts as nice punkrock tune with a catchy chorus that has a bit of a Blink 182-feel, but when hearing details, like a quite nice solo, you realise that it is more than the usual punkrock. Icarus has the same style: an uptempo song with guitars that have a metal touch. The chorus is not as catchy as the one from Hold Strong, but that is the only minor point we can come up with. In the beginning you might think that Man Made of Mice sounds a bit too sloppy, but that soon changes. And with Bonny Island the band proves that it can do a lot with the songs. Along with Hold Strong the strongest track on this nice EP. You can download this release on the usual sites (Bandcamp or I-tunes).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

NL

Dit is de tweede ep van deze Britse band waarvan we dit jaar nog een full album mogen verwachten. In eigen land hebben ze intussen al een goede live-reputatie opgebouwd.

Deze release is een sterke ep geworden. Hold Strong begint als een rock/punk-song met een aardig refrein. Het geluid is vrij Amerikaans, denk maar aan Blink 182 en consoorten. Maar het is meer dan zomaar pretpunk, luister gewoon naar bijv. de boeiende solo. Mooi!

Met Icarus gaat men voort waar de vorige song eindigde: stevige uptempo met naar metal neigende gitaren. Het refrein is misschien iets minder sterk dan Hold Strong, maar dat is dan ook het enige wat er op aan te merken valt. Man Made of Mice klinkt in het begin een beetje rommelig, maar komt daarna goed op dreef.

Bonny Island vind ik een heerlijke punkrocker: een nummer dat alle kanten uitgaat. Samen met Hold Strong het sterkste nummer van deze ep. Je kan deze release downloaden via de gebruikelijke kanalen (Bandcamp, I-tunes…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017