tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2015 : I, THE LION - Run (EP)

I, THE LION

Run (EP)

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second (strong!) EP or this British band that soon will release a full album. Something the fans are waiting for, as this band has a quite good live reputation over there.

Hold Strong starts as nice punkrock tune with a catchy chorus that has a bit of a Blink 182-feel, but when hearing details, like a quite nice solo, you realise that it is more than the usual punkrock. Icarus has the same style: an uptempo song with guitars that have a metal touch. The chorus is not as catchy as the one from Hold Strong, but that is the only minor point we can come up with. In the beginning you might think that Man Made of Mice sounds a bit too sloppy, but that soon changes. And with Bonny Island the band proves that it can do a lot with the songs. Along with Hold Strong the strongest track on this nice EP. You can download this release on the usual sites (Bandcamp or I-tunes).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

NL

Dit is de tweede ep van deze Britse band waarvan we dit jaar nog een full album mogen verwachten. In eigen land hebben ze intussen al een goede live-reputatie opgebouwd.

Deze release is een sterke ep geworden. Hold Strong begint als een rock/punk-song met een aardig refrein. Het geluid is vrij Amerikaans, denk maar aan Blink 182 en consoorten. Maar het is meer dan zomaar pretpunk, luister gewoon naar bijv. de boeiende solo. Mooi!

Met Icarus gaat men voort waar de vorige song eindigde: stevige uptempo met naar metal neigende gitaren. Het refrein is misschien iets minder sterk dan Hold Strong, maar dat is dan ook het enige wat er op aan te merken valt. Man Made of Mice klinkt in het begin een beetje rommelig, maar komt daarna goed op dreef.

Bonny Island vind ik een heerlijke punkrocker: een nummer dat alle kanten uitgaat. Samen met Hold Strong het sterkste nummer van deze ep. Je kan deze release downloaden via de gebruikelijke kanalen (Bandcamp, I-tunes…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover