tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

11/02/2015 : I, THE LION - Run (EP)

I, THE LION

Run (EP)

MusicMP3/Download
Post Punk

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second (strong!) EP or this British band that soon will release a full album. Something the fans are waiting for, as this band has a quite good live reputation over there.

Hold Strong starts as nice punkrock tune with a catchy chorus that has a bit of a Blink 182-feel, but when hearing details, like a quite nice solo, you realise that it is more than the usual punkrock. Icarus has the same style: an uptempo song with guitars that have a metal touch. The chorus is not as catchy as the one from Hold Strong, but that is the only minor point we can come up with. In the beginning you might think that Man Made of Mice sounds a bit too sloppy, but that soon changes. And with Bonny Island the band proves that it can do a lot with the songs. Along with Hold Strong the strongest track on this nice EP. You can download this release on the usual sites (Bandcamp or I-tunes).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

NL

Dit is de tweede ep van deze Britse band waarvan we dit jaar nog een full album mogen verwachten. In eigen land hebben ze intussen al een goede live-reputatie opgebouwd.

Deze release is een sterke ep geworden. Hold Strong begint als een rock/punk-song met een aardig refrein. Het geluid is vrij Amerikaans, denk maar aan Blink 182 en consoorten. Maar het is meer dan zomaar pretpunk, luister gewoon naar bijv. de boeiende solo. Mooi!

Met Icarus gaat men voort waar de vorige song eindigde: stevige uptempo met naar metal neigende gitaren. Het refrein is misschien iets minder sterk dan Hold Strong, maar dat is dan ook het enige wat er op aan te merken valt. Man Made of Mice klinkt in het begin een beetje rommelig, maar komt daarna goed op dreef.

Bonny Island vind ik een heerlijke punkrocker: een nummer dat alle kanten uitgaat. Samen met Hold Strong het sterkste nummer van deze ep. Je kan deze release downloaden via de gebruikelijke kanalen (Bandcamp, I-tunes…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway