tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2015 : I, THE LION - Run (EP)

I, THE LION

Run (EP)

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second (strong!) EP or this British band that soon will release a full album. Something the fans are waiting for, as this band has a quite good live reputation over there.

Hold Strong starts as nice punkrock tune with a catchy chorus that has a bit of a Blink 182-feel, but when hearing details, like a quite nice solo, you realise that it is more than the usual punkrock. Icarus has the same style: an uptempo song with guitars that have a metal touch. The chorus is not as catchy as the one from Hold Strong, but that is the only minor point we can come up with. In the beginning you might think that Man Made of Mice sounds a bit too sloppy, but that soon changes. And with Bonny Island the band proves that it can do a lot with the songs. Along with Hold Strong the strongest track on this nice EP. You can download this release on the usual sites (Bandcamp or I-tunes).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

NL

Dit is de tweede ep van deze Britse band waarvan we dit jaar nog een full album mogen verwachten. In eigen land hebben ze intussen al een goede live-reputatie opgebouwd.

Deze release is een sterke ep geworden. Hold Strong begint als een rock/punk-song met een aardig refrein. Het geluid is vrij Amerikaans, denk maar aan Blink 182 en consoorten. Maar het is meer dan zomaar pretpunk, luister gewoon naar bijv. de boeiende solo. Mooi!

Met Icarus gaat men voort waar de vorige song eindigde: stevige uptempo met naar metal neigende gitaren. Het refrein is misschien iets minder sterk dan Hold Strong, maar dat is dan ook het enige wat er op aan te merken valt. Man Made of Mice klinkt in het begin een beetje rommelig, maar komt daarna goed op dreef.

Bonny Island vind ik een heerlijke punkrocker: een nummer dat alle kanten uitgaat. Samen met Hold Strong het sterkste nummer van deze ep. Je kan deze release downloaden via de gebruikelijke kanalen (Bandcamp, I-tunes…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser