tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

11/02/2015 : I, THE LION - Run (EP)

I, THE LION

Run (EP)

MusicMP3/Download
Post Punk

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second (strong!) EP or this British band that soon will release a full album. Something the fans are waiting for, as this band has a quite good live reputation over there.

Hold Strong starts as nice punkrock tune with a catchy chorus that has a bit of a Blink 182-feel, but when hearing details, like a quite nice solo, you realise that it is more than the usual punkrock. Icarus has the same style: an uptempo song with guitars that have a metal touch. The chorus is not as catchy as the one from Hold Strong, but that is the only minor point we can come up with. In the beginning you might think that Man Made of Mice sounds a bit too sloppy, but that soon changes. And with Bonny Island the band proves that it can do a lot with the songs. Along with Hold Strong the strongest track on this nice EP. You can download this release on the usual sites (Bandcamp or I-tunes).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

NL

Dit is de tweede ep van deze Britse band waarvan we dit jaar nog een full album mogen verwachten. In eigen land hebben ze intussen al een goede live-reputatie opgebouwd.

Deze release is een sterke ep geworden. Hold Strong begint als een rock/punk-song met een aardig refrein. Het geluid is vrij Amerikaans, denk maar aan Blink 182 en consoorten. Maar het is meer dan zomaar pretpunk, luister gewoon naar bijv. de boeiende solo. Mooi!

Met Icarus gaat men voort waar de vorige song eindigde: stevige uptempo met naar metal neigende gitaren. Het refrein is misschien iets minder sterk dan Hold Strong, maar dat is dan ook het enige wat er op aan te merken valt. Man Made of Mice klinkt in het begin een beetje rommelig, maar komt daarna goed op dreef.

Bonny Island vind ik een heerlijke punkrocker: een nummer dat alle kanten uitgaat. Samen met Hold Strong het sterkste nummer van deze ep. Je kan deze release downloaden via de gebruikelijke kanalen (Bandcamp, I-tunes…).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy7Q-cJDI6A

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough