tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD

20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Documentary
Filmfest Gent
23/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever wondered how a day from Nick Cave looks like? This answer you can find in the documentary from Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard that recently was awarded for its direction at the Sundance-festival. By now, Nick Cave has admitted in several interviews that the documentary is fictional and that everything has been put in scene. But still, you’ll never be able to look in the soul of the prince of darkness as in 20,000 Days on Earth.

Everything starts at 7 o’clock in the morning in his house in Brighton when he wakes up next to his wife Susie. It seems like the 20.000th day that Cave is a visitor on planet earth will be a busy one as he’s expected everywhere. We find him back at the sofa from the shrink at where he has deep conservations that everyone will start to think. According to Cave no one is happy when he looks in the mirror and everyone wants to be someone different. We see him spending time with band member Warren Ellis with whom he repeats songs and talks about the essence of rock, especially Nina Simone is a heroine. Another place at where’s he wanted is the archive at where he looks back on the past. His time with The Boys Next Door, the hard life as a junk in Berlin, the people he worked with like Anita Lane or Mick Harvey. All these visits are made by the dandy in his Jaguar, during every ride he’s joined on the back seat by people like actor Ray Winstone, Blixa Bargeld and of course his heroine Kylie Minogue.

97 minutes long you’re in the company of a genius. Every word he says has a heavy weight and smells like pure reality, at least if you think about the sense of life. 20,000 Days on Earth is worth every word of its hype: this is a must. Sublime.

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


NL

Heb je je ooit al afgevraagd hoe een dag van Nick Cave eruit ziet? Het antwoord daarop vind je in de documentaire van Iain Forsyth en Jane Pollard die dit jaar op Sundance voor zijn regie is bekroond, want de kijker kan meegluren in de 20.000ste dag dat de prins der duisternis op deze aarde rondloopt. Ondertussen heeft Nick Cave al in diverse interviews toegegeven dat het om een fictieve documentaire gaat en dat alles in scène zet is gezet. Maar toch, nog nooit eerder kon je zo diep in de ziel van Nick Cave doordringen als in de mokerslag die 20,000 Days on Earth is.

Alles begint om klokslag zeven wanneer hij in zijn huis in Brighton naast zijn vrouw Susie wakker wordt. Blijkbaar is de 20.000ste dag een zeer drukke, want Cave wordt overal verwacht. We vinden hem op de sofa bij de psychiater waar diepgaande gesprekken worden gevoerd. Iedereen wil iemand anders zijn, zegt Nick Cave, want niemand is gelukkig als hij zijn eigen ik in de spiegel ziet. Hij brengt een bezoek bij Warren Ellis om enkele nummers te repeteren en heeft het over de waarde van rock, vooral over Nina Simone. En in het archief (want ook daar wordt hij geacht te komen) blikt Cave terug op het verleden. De tijd met The Boys Next Door, het harde leven als junk in Berlijn, het werken met mensen als Anita Lane of Mick Harvey. Al deze bezoeken legt de dandy af met zijn Jaguar, en iedere keer duikt er iemand anders op in de achterbank: acteur Ray Winstone, Blixa Bargeld en natuurlijk zijn heldin Kylie Minogue.

97 minuten lang ben je in het gezelschap van een genie. Ieder woord weegt zwaar door en ruikt enorm veel naar waarheid die ieder mens ervaart als hij over de zin van dit bestaan nadenkt. 20,000 Days on Earth is zijn hype waard: dit is de rockdocumentaire die je moet hebben gezien. Subliem.

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : IAIN FORSYTH & JANE POLLARD - 20.000 Days On Earth (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia