tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

08/12/2016 : IAMX - North Star

IAMX

North Star

MusicCD single
Electro Pop

[84/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Corner, one of the founders of the British trip-hop group Sneaker Pimps, can let his musical demons run free in his solo project IAMX. The music is more personal, he’s able to develop himself musically and he can even dance if he wants to.

North Star, the new single, is dark electro like we previously heard on other IAMX songs. Although the pace is rather quiet, it's still very danceable. The rhythm section pupates like a fluttering butterfly, complemented with the fragile, at times heartbreaking vocals by Chris. At the end it becomes even more intimate and the song gets a dance twist, but it remains intact and quite dark.

On this single we also hear two remixes. The Mr. Kitty Remix has a stronger rhythm section. The dark beats are higher as in the original, it’s a more club-like version and more danceable.

The Future Funk Squad Remix adds some extra value to the original by using a totally different rhythm section and many tempo changes. There is some guitar in the background and some distortion. The vocals are different, because of the use of all kind of electronics.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Chris Corner, één van de oprichters van het Britse triphopgezelschap Sneaker Pimps, heeft zijn muzikale demonen de vrije loop gelaten met een nieuwe single van zijn soloproject IAMX. Corner kan hier zijn persoonlijke ding doen, zich muzikaal ontwikkelen en tegelijkertijd dansen.

North Star is donkere elektropop, zoals we die al eerder van hem hoorden. Hoewel qua tempo vrij rustig, blijft het heel dansbaar. De ingetogen ritmesectie verpopt als een fladderende vlinder. Sierlijk, beweeglijk, vrolijk. En dit met het breekbare, maar soms toch verscheurend klinkende stemgeluid van Chris. Tegen het einde wordt het nog meer intiem en krijgt de song een danswending, maar hij blijft overeind en heerlijk donker.

Op deze single horen we nog twee remixes. De Mr. Kitty Remix heeft een stevigere ritmesectie. Donkere beats in een versnelling die hoger is dan het origineel, een meer clubachtige versie, en dus meer dansbaar.

De Future Funk Squad Remix geeft meerwaarde aan het origineel door het gebruik van een totaal andere ritmesectie en de vele tempowissels. Er is wat gitaarwerk te bespeuren op de verre achtergrond, die de song wat meer distortie bezorgt. Voor de vocale prestaties wordt uit een ander vaatje getapt door er allerlei elektronische capriolen mee uit te halen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless