tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

08/12/2016 : IAMX - North Star

IAMX

North Star

MusicCD single
Electro Pop

[84/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Corner, one of the founders of the British trip-hop group Sneaker Pimps, can let his musical demons run free in his solo project IAMX. The music is more personal, he’s able to develop himself musically and he can even dance if he wants to.

North Star, the new single, is dark electro like we previously heard on other IAMX songs. Although the pace is rather quiet, it's still very danceable. The rhythm section pupates like a fluttering butterfly, complemented with the fragile, at times heartbreaking vocals by Chris. At the end it becomes even more intimate and the song gets a dance twist, but it remains intact and quite dark.

On this single we also hear two remixes. The Mr. Kitty Remix has a stronger rhythm section. The dark beats are higher as in the original, it’s a more club-like version and more danceable.

The Future Funk Squad Remix adds some extra value to the original by using a totally different rhythm section and many tempo changes. There is some guitar in the background and some distortion. The vocals are different, because of the use of all kind of electronics.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Chris Corner, één van de oprichters van het Britse triphopgezelschap Sneaker Pimps, heeft zijn muzikale demonen de vrije loop gelaten met een nieuwe single van zijn soloproject IAMX. Corner kan hier zijn persoonlijke ding doen, zich muzikaal ontwikkelen en tegelijkertijd dansen.

North Star is donkere elektropop, zoals we die al eerder van hem hoorden. Hoewel qua tempo vrij rustig, blijft het heel dansbaar. De ingetogen ritmesectie verpopt als een fladderende vlinder. Sierlijk, beweeglijk, vrolijk. En dit met het breekbare, maar soms toch verscheurend klinkende stemgeluid van Chris. Tegen het einde wordt het nog meer intiem en krijgt de song een danswending, maar hij blijft overeind en heerlijk donker.

Op deze single horen we nog twee remixes. De Mr. Kitty Remix heeft een stevigere ritmesectie. Donkere beats in een versnelling die hoger is dan het origineel, een meer clubachtige versie, en dus meer dansbaar.

De Future Funk Squad Remix geeft meerwaarde aan het origineel door het gebruik van een totaal andere ritmesectie en de vele tempowissels. Er is wat gitaarwerk te bespeuren op de verre achtergrond, die de song wat meer distortie bezorgt. Voor de vocale prestaties wordt uit een ander vaatje getapt door er allerlei elektronische capriolen mee uit te halen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl