tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

08/12/2016 : IAMX - North Star

IAMX

North Star

MusicCD single
Electro Pop

[84/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Corner, one of the founders of the British trip-hop group Sneaker Pimps, can let his musical demons run free in his solo project IAMX. The music is more personal, he’s able to develop himself musically and he can even dance if he wants to.

North Star, the new single, is dark electro like we previously heard on other IAMX songs. Although the pace is rather quiet, it's still very danceable. The rhythm section pupates like a fluttering butterfly, complemented with the fragile, at times heartbreaking vocals by Chris. At the end it becomes even more intimate and the song gets a dance twist, but it remains intact and quite dark.

On this single we also hear two remixes. The Mr. Kitty Remix has a stronger rhythm section. The dark beats are higher as in the original, it’s a more club-like version and more danceable.

The Future Funk Squad Remix adds some extra value to the original by using a totally different rhythm section and many tempo changes. There is some guitar in the background and some distortion. The vocals are different, because of the use of all kind of electronics.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

Chris Corner, één van de oprichters van het Britse triphopgezelschap Sneaker Pimps, heeft zijn muzikale demonen de vrije loop gelaten met een nieuwe single van zijn soloproject IAMX. Corner kan hier zijn persoonlijke ding doen, zich muzikaal ontwikkelen en tegelijkertijd dansen.

North Star is donkere elektropop, zoals we die al eerder van hem hoorden. Hoewel qua tempo vrij rustig, blijft het heel dansbaar. De ingetogen ritmesectie verpopt als een fladderende vlinder. Sierlijk, beweeglijk, vrolijk. En dit met het breekbare, maar soms toch verscheurend klinkende stemgeluid van Chris. Tegen het einde wordt het nog meer intiem en krijgt de song een danswending, maar hij blijft overeind en heerlijk donker.

Op deze single horen we nog twee remixes. De Mr. Kitty Remix heeft een stevigere ritmesectie. Donkere beats in een versnelling die hoger is dan het origineel, een meer clubachtige versie, en dus meer dansbaar.

De Future Funk Squad Remix geeft meerwaarde aan het origineel door het gebruik van een totaal andere ritmesectie en de vele tempowissels. Er is wat gitaarwerk te bespeuren op de verre achtergrond, die de song wat meer distortie bezorgt. Voor de vocale prestaties wordt uit een ander vaatje getapt door er allerlei elektronische capriolen mee uit te halen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted