tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/03/2013 : IAMX - The Unified Field

IAMX

The Unified Field

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro Pop

[90/100]   
22/03/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

As one of my friends said: "I am not the right person to give an opinion concerning the new Iamx album, because I wouldn't be objective". This applies to me as well. I've known Iamx and I've been a huge fan since the day I saw them in Dour in 2006. I was there for Archive, which I liked, but I was simply blown away by Iamx. Chris Corner (ex-Sneaker Pimps) , the founder and leader of Iamx, is a talented multi-instrumentist, singer, composer and producer who has managed to develop a cross-over musical concept combining elements of 80ies new-wave, funk, dance/trance and indie-pop with intelligent and sexy lyrics to create incredibly beautiful songs. And his show are simply crazy.

To produce this 5th album, Corner launched a crowdfunding campaign via pledgemusic.com to raise money. The response from the fans was insane: only ONE HOUR after the campaign was launched, the band had hit 100% of the target. Today, on the day of the album release, the campaign has reached 800% with over 2600 pledgers! This achievement proves the incredibly strong bond between the band and its fans.

Up to now, Corner had produced his albums himself but this time, he teamed up with Jim Abbiss, a British producer who produced Sneaker Pimps' "Becoming X" but is known for his work with acts like Arcade Fire, Adele and Ladytron. The result is that this album, which was recorded in Berlin, mostly in Corner's own Turmwerke studio, offers a much wider spectrum of arrangements than his previous productions. As Corner said, "Jim helped to unleash my creativity". That's why you hear such instruments as dulcimers, violins, vibraphones, flutes or glockenspiels and the overall sound is more diversified.

The topics of the compositions deal again with sexual identity, death, love, narcotic intoxication, decadence, religion, politics, alienation, and modern society. Corner had already released three video's from the album before its actual release: "The Unified Field", a very catchy electro hit, "I Come With Knives", a strong and hypnotic song featuring a poem in German sung by Janine Gezang, and "Quiet The Mind", a heartbreaking slow lullaby in the typical Chris Corner style.

On the album, you will find other strong, upbeat songs like, eg, "Sorrow", a beautiful ode to melancholy and "Walk With The Noise" with its great piano riff but the overall mood is rather mid-beat or slow-beat. "The Adrenalin Room" has a trip-hop, ambient atmosphere with lot's of reverse effects on vocals, while "Screams" stands out by its mysterious dulcimer sounds and the high-pitched chorus vocals. "Under Atomic Skies" is a gorgeous ballad with soft acoustic guitar chords and "Come Home" will give you shivers with its violin melodies. Finally, "Land Of Broken Promises" is the classical Iamx burlesque song with a waltz rhythm, great folk percussions and, after a rather awkward vocal extravaganza by Janine Gezang, the song finishes in a complete gipsy tone with violins.

No doubt: this new album is yet another masterpiece for Chris Corner. The only thing it lacks is a hit like "Spit It Out" but with the support of his numerous fans all around the world and the kind of lifestyle he has, I don't think Chris Corner needs that mainstream fame anymore. Buy the record: it's a 'must have'!
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
22/03/2013


 

Next reviews
OCTOBER PEOPLE • October People
THE BLEEDING PEASANT ORCHESTRA • Sanctuary And Truce
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
NASTY BULLETZ • Right Time To Rock You
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
LOVE IS COLDER THAN DEATH • Tempest

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • Metanoia

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
SCARLET SOHO • Two Steps From Heartache EP
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
JUNKSISTA • Life is Unfair (And Love is a Bitch) EP
MASSIV IN MENSCH • The Cortex Zero Effect
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static