tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/03/2013 : IAMX - The Unified Field

IAMX

The Unified Field

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro Pop

[90/100]   
22/03/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

As one of my friends said: "I am not the right person to give an opinion concerning the new Iamx album, because I wouldn't be objective". This applies to me as well. I've known Iamx and I've been a huge fan since the day I saw them in Dour in 2006. I was there for Archive, which I liked, but I was simply blown away by Iamx. Chris Corner (ex-Sneaker Pimps) , the founder and leader of Iamx, is a talented multi-instrumentist, singer, composer and producer who has managed to develop a cross-over musical concept combining elements of 80ies new-wave, funk, dance/trance and indie-pop with intelligent and sexy lyrics to create incredibly beautiful songs. And his show are simply crazy.

To produce this 5th album, Corner launched a crowdfunding campaign via pledgemusic.com to raise money. The response from the fans was insane: only ONE HOUR after the campaign was launched, the band had hit 100% of the target. Today, on the day of the album release, the campaign has reached 800% with over 2600 pledgers! This achievement proves the incredibly strong bond between the band and its fans.

Up to now, Corner had produced his albums himself but this time, he teamed up with Jim Abbiss, a British producer who produced Sneaker Pimps' "Becoming X" but is known for his work with acts like Arcade Fire, Adele and Ladytron. The result is that this album, which was recorded in Berlin, mostly in Corner's own Turmwerke studio, offers a much wider spectrum of arrangements than his previous productions. As Corner said, "Jim helped to unleash my creativity". That's why you hear such instruments as dulcimers, violins, vibraphones, flutes or glockenspiels and the overall sound is more diversified.

The topics of the compositions deal again with sexual identity, death, love, narcotic intoxication, decadence, religion, politics, alienation, and modern society. Corner had already released three video's from the album before its actual release: "The Unified Field", a very catchy electro hit, "I Come With Knives", a strong and hypnotic song featuring a poem in German sung by Janine Gezang, and "Quiet The Mind", a heartbreaking slow lullaby in the typical Chris Corner style.

On the album, you will find other strong, upbeat songs like, eg, "Sorrow", a beautiful ode to melancholy and "Walk With The Noise" with its great piano riff but the overall mood is rather mid-beat or slow-beat. "The Adrenalin Room" has a trip-hop, ambient atmosphere with lot's of reverse effects on vocals, while "Screams" stands out by its mysterious dulcimer sounds and the high-pitched chorus vocals. "Under Atomic Skies" is a gorgeous ballad with soft acoustic guitar chords and "Come Home" will give you shivers with its violin melodies. Finally, "Land Of Broken Promises" is the classical Iamx burlesque song with a waltz rhythm, great folk percussions and, after a rather awkward vocal extravaganza by Janine Gezang, the song finishes in a complete gipsy tone with violins.

No doubt: this new album is yet another masterpiece for Chris Corner. The only thing it lacks is a hit like "Spit It Out" but with the support of his numerous fans all around the world and the kind of lifestyle he has, I don't think Chris Corner needs that mainstream fame anymore. Buy the record: it's a 'must have'!
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
22/03/2013


 

Next reviews
OCTOBER PEOPLE • October People
THE BLEEDING PEASANT ORCHESTRA • Sanctuary And Truce
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
NASTY BULLETZ • Right Time To Rock You
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
LOVE IS COLDER THAN DEATH • Tempest

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • Metanoia

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
SCARLET SOHO • Two Steps From Heartache EP
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
JUNKSISTA • Life is Unfair (And Love is a Bitch) EP
MASSIV IN MENSCH • The Cortex Zero Effect
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 44
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 43-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 34 years ago!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask
20
11
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt