tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/03/2013 : IAMX - The Unified Field

IAMX

The Unified Field

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro Pop

[90/100]   
22/03/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

As one of my friends said: "I am not the right person to give an opinion concerning the new Iamx album, because I wouldn't be objective". This applies to me as well. I've known Iamx and I've been a huge fan since the day I saw them in Dour in 2006. I was there for Archive, which I liked, but I was simply blown away by Iamx. Chris Corner (ex-Sneaker Pimps) , the founder and leader of Iamx, is a talented multi-instrumentist, singer, composer and producer who has managed to develop a cross-over musical concept combining elements of 80ies new-wave, funk, dance/trance and indie-pop with intelligent and sexy lyrics to create incredibly beautiful songs. And his show are simply crazy.

To produce this 5th album, Corner launched a crowdfunding campaign via pledgemusic.com to raise money. The response from the fans was insane: only ONE HOUR after the campaign was launched, the band had hit 100% of the target. Today, on the day of the album release, the campaign has reached 800% with over 2600 pledgers! This achievement proves the incredibly strong bond between the band and its fans.

Up to now, Corner had produced his albums himself but this time, he teamed up with Jim Abbiss, a British producer who produced Sneaker Pimps' "Becoming X" but is known for his work with acts like Arcade Fire, Adele and Ladytron. The result is that this album, which was recorded in Berlin, mostly in Corner's own Turmwerke studio, offers a much wider spectrum of arrangements than his previous productions. As Corner said, "Jim helped to unleash my creativity". That's why you hear such instruments as dulcimers, violins, vibraphones, flutes or glockenspiels and the overall sound is more diversified.

The topics of the compositions deal again with sexual identity, death, love, narcotic intoxication, decadence, religion, politics, alienation, and modern society. Corner had already released three video's from the album before its actual release: "The Unified Field", a very catchy electro hit, "I Come With Knives", a strong and hypnotic song featuring a poem in German sung by Janine Gezang, and "Quiet The Mind", a heartbreaking slow lullaby in the typical Chris Corner style.

On the album, you will find other strong, upbeat songs like, eg, "Sorrow", a beautiful ode to melancholy and "Walk With The Noise" with its great piano riff but the overall mood is rather mid-beat or slow-beat. "The Adrenalin Room" has a trip-hop, ambient atmosphere with lot's of reverse effects on vocals, while "Screams" stands out by its mysterious dulcimer sounds and the high-pitched chorus vocals. "Under Atomic Skies" is a gorgeous ballad with soft acoustic guitar chords and "Come Home" will give you shivers with its violin melodies. Finally, "Land Of Broken Promises" is the classical Iamx burlesque song with a waltz rhythm, great folk percussions and, after a rather awkward vocal extravaganza by Janine Gezang, the song finishes in a complete gipsy tone with violins.

No doubt: this new album is yet another masterpiece for Chris Corner. The only thing it lacks is a hit like "Spit It Out" but with the support of his numerous fans all around the world and the kind of lifestyle he has, I don't think Chris Corner needs that mainstream fame anymore. Buy the record: it's a 'must have'!
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
22/03/2013


 

Next reviews
OCTOBER PEOPLE • October People
THE BLEEDING PEASANT ORCHESTRA • Sanctuary And Truce
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
NASTY BULLETZ • Right Time To Rock You
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
LOVE IS COLDER THAN DEATH • Tempest

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • Metanoia

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
SCARLET SOHO • Two Steps From Heartache EP
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
JUNKSISTA • Life is Unfair (And Love is a Bitch) EP
MASSIV IN MENSCH • The Cortex Zero Effect
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)