tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : ICON OF COIL - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

ICON OF COIL

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
CybergothSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The fourth band on the program of the BIM Fest was Icon of Coil. This project was established in 1997 by Andy LaPlegua (Combichrist), who later invited Sebastian R. Komor, with whom he had worked before on the project "Sector 9", now called "Moonitor". After their successful first single, "Shallow Nation", they travelled to Germany to support Apoptygma Berzerk on their "Welcome to Earth tour 2000" and released their first full-length "Serenity is the Devil". Then, the project was put on hold by Andy LaPlegua due to the growing success of Combichrist, but he revitalized IoC in 2012 by releasing a new song, "Perfect Sex" and going on tour again, among other in America.

At the BIM Fest, the band was composed of LaPLegua accompanied by Christian Lund (Northborne) on keyboards, who has been with the live lineup since 2000. After two ambient-electronica bands, it was good to hear some dance-oriented music. Andy immediately set the house on fire with the hit "Shallow Nation". His presence on stage is impressive as usual: he moves quickly all around the stage with his typical moonwalk steps. With the next songs, "Existence in Progress", "Thrillcapsule" or "Mono:Overload", the audience became more and more captivated by the act. The music is synth-pop oriented but the sounds and the arrangements are clearly harsher than on the original tracks. At times, you get the impression that Combichrist is covering songs from IoC. As Andy told during the interview after the show (see video below), they took the energy from Combichrist and Northborne to adapt the IoC sound. Moreover, they cut out some of the 'poppy' songs from the setlist because their taste changed over the years. Below, you can look at the band as they performed "Shallow Nation":

Later, they played the new single, "Perfect Sex", which gave us a very good impression. The last part of the show brought even more intensity, with songs like "Sleep:Less" or "Shelter". When the band left the stage, the overall impression was positive: it was great to see Icon of Coil back in good form and we are looking forward to the new album, which is due in May 2013. Note that Andy is also working on new material for Combichrist and there should be a new album in September 2013.

After the show, Andy LaPLegua and Christian Lund gave us a short interview backstage. Andy told about his numerous projects, among which the soundtrack (metal!) for a video game and an acoustic neo-folk project! Check it out!

https://www.facebook.com/IconOfCoilOfficial

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked