tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : IKON - Flowers for the gathering

IKON

Flowers for the gathering

MusicCD
Gothic

[81/100]   

Echozone
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

As told earlier on the Peek-A-Boo pages, Ikon celebrate this year their 20th anniversary and especially for this occasion those Australian darkwave-gothband have re-released their second album "Flowers for the gathering", along with their impressive debut that "In the shadow of the angel " is.
Originally this release has been on the Appolyon-catalogue but two decades later it's Echozone who put it back on the market.

For dedicated fans this release might be a bit worthless as by the time it got released, there was a limited edition as well, while "The Gathering" is the only additional track and of course the fact that this cd has been totally remastered. Having said that, it's a perfect opportunity for the youngsters to discover the beauty that Ikon is.

Ikon were never a band who sought their solace in innovations as they believed in the power from traditional goth that was delivered with a darkwavefeel (those synths, you know!).

A song like "Persuasion"let you kind of feel if these Australians are still Joy Division-copyists but even if this second album is not exactly their best one, it developed their sound which connoisseurs will mark as something that is known as the Ikon-sound.

On a double album like this, we're not going to pick up so called best songs as every gothfan will have a different selection.
Just this, if so far you haven't heard Ikon then it's time you do after 20 years and if you happen to be a fan already I guess you'll just agree, not?

 

 

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Zoals je wellicht reeds op de Peek-A-Boo pagina's kon lezen, mochten deze Australiërs twintig kaarsjes op de verjaardagstaart uitblazen.

Speciaal voor deze gebeurtenis besloot men om hun tweede album "Flowers for the gathering" (net als hun debuut "In the shadow of the angel ") te gaan heruitbrengen.

Was het destijds Appolyon die deze donkere schoonheid op het publiek losliet dan is dat twee decennia later Echozone geworden.

De waarheid blijft weliswaar dat deze heruitgave maar weinig soelaas zal bieden aan trouwe fans want dit tweede album, dat destijds ook al als dubbelaar werd aangeboden, telt slechts één onuitgebrachte track, met name "The Gathering". Natuurlijk zonder uit het oog te verliezen dat dit album geheel geremasterd werd.

Nu goed, als verstokte naïevelingen geloven wij er nog steeds in dat er wel een jong publiek zal zijn die op zoek is naar dergelijke pracht en voor hun is het dan ook een gouden moment om zich te gaan verdiepen in deze Australische goth geschiedenis.

Voor zij die het niet weten: Ikon was nooit het soort groep dat geloofde in vernieuwingen want ze hielden koppig vast aan het old school goth geluid, ook al werd dit mooi verrijkt door goddelijke synths uit de darkwave-scene waardoor muziekkenners wel eens durfden te spreken van zowaar een Ikon-geluid!

We gaan geen onnodig werk beginnen en uit een dubbelaar de beste nummers pikken want iedere goth liefhebber zal wel met een andere selectie komen opdraven.

Voor zij die na 20 jaar nog geen enkele Ikon-noot gehoord hebben, zouden we durven beweren dat het hoogdringend tijd wordt en dat zijn woorden die verstokte fans wellicht zullen beamen.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE