tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

16/11/2015 : IMRE KISS - Midnight Wave

IMRE KISS

Midnight Wave

MusicVinyl
AcidElectroTechno

[70/100]   

Lobster Theremin Records
16/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Slovakian artist Imre Kiss recorded the tape Midnight Wave in 2013. Now, the material is released on LP and digital download by Lobster Theremin Records. In nine compositions, the Hungarian musician creates simple and quiet soundscapes (Accept the Light) that sometimes sound rather loud, and atmospheric (Gray's Legend), with buzzing synths, crisp electro percussion and whipped noise. Caeland gets whistling synths, but above all a solid base of rumbling percussion, with all kinds of little sounds for support, while Adrift has a high cinematic content as a result of the addition of a male voice.

Side two begins with a noisy drone and rapid percussion, complemented by higher synths (Somorja), while Sweet Cherry Soul sounds darker and even a little industrial, but never really dangerous or loud. Title track Midnight Wave is perhaps the most compelling track, because the fine bouncing synths, supported by drum-like percussion, create a beautiful and atmospheric soundscape. Stolen Moment has an introspective tone, with emphatic percussion and bell-like synths, and it floats past in a peaceful way, while Shadow Game, with trumpet- and organ-like synths, closes the album in a nice manner.

A beautiful album, though we dare not pretend that we have not heard it all before.

Tracklist
A1. Accept the Light
A2. Gray’s Legend
A3. Caeland
A4. Adrift
B1. Somorja
B2. Sweet Cherry Soul
B3. Midnight Wave
B4. Stolen Moment
B5. Shadow Game

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WJG5HnynDA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1bWk_Y5oCY

William LIÉNARD
16/11/2015


NL

De Slovaakse artiest Imre Kiss maakte de cassette Midnight Wave in 2013. Nu is het materiaal gereleaset op lp en beschikbaar via download op Lobster Theremin Records. In 9 composities creëert de Hongaarse muzikant evenveel soundscapes. Vaak klinkt het eenvoudig en stil (Accept the Light), of eerder luid en atmosferisch (Gray’s Legend) met zoemende synths, knisperende elektropercussie en een toefje noise. Caeland krijgt fluitende synths, maar vooral een stevige basis van roffelende percussie, met allerlei kleine geluidjes ter ondersteuning, terwijl Adrift een hoog filmisch gehalte heeft als gevolg van de toevoeging van een mannenstem.

Kant twee begint met een noiseachtige drone en gezwinde percussie waaraan hogere synths worden toegevoegd (Somorja), terwijl Sweet Cherry Soul donkerder en zelfs een klein beetje industrieel klinkt, maar nooit echt gevaarlijk of luid wordt. Titeltrack Midnight Wave is misschien wel de aantrekkelijkste track, want de fijne huppelende synths, gesteund door drumachtige percussie, creëren en prachtige atmosferische soundscape. Stolen Moment is introspectiever van aard, met nadrukkelijke percussie en belachtige synths, en dobbert rustig voorbij, terwijl Shadow Game, met trompet- en orgelachtige synths, het album op een mooie manier afsluit.

Een mooi album, al durven we niet beweren dat we het niet allemaal al eens eerder hebben gehoord.

William LIÉNARD
16/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation