tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/07/2014 : IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI - Lucid

IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI

Lucid

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothicGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Radiation records
20/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It has been a while since I could review something from them and now I get 6 tracks and jump on it from the moment I get 5 seconds!

'Deep Inside' is the first track. The electronics, the typical Gothic voice and retro electronic drums overwhelm me. At some point I taught it would stay a gothic track, but the electronic sound wins and that isn’t a bad thing! With a bit more pimping up it could even become a dance floor hit, genre 'Sparrows and Nightingales' or 'Dance floor tragedy'! If you know from who these tracks are than you really know what I'm talking about! I love the catchy sound, well worked out! 'Theatre of Rain' reminds me a bit of Deine Lakaien: the pathos and the sound. 'Waiting' is a strange mix of Gothic and electronics. It comes close to 'Love Never Dies' from Silke Bischoff. The sound is pretty catchy; I can see them on stage with this track! 'Incapable' starts with a great piano and a whispering voice, but then they decide to add some electronics and get away from what could become a great piano ballad. Still the sound stays soft and a bit mellow. The more the track evolves, the more energy got pumped into it. 'Papaverland' starts as if it's telling something in German about a dream, pretty soft but nice. It sounds a bit like a mix between The Sisters of Mercy and Clan of Xymox. The sound somehow makes me happy. My German isn’t good enough, but somehow it makes me smile and feel good! 'Deep Inside (Paralyzed Remix), well I talked about a better remix and this one is just it! I really hope a lot of DJ's will use this one, so that they can reach out and play more!

It was pretty much fun. I got a little bit back in time. A time when I was still reviewing in my mother language for a magazine that only had a paper version... Time flies and luckily these folks became stronger and better, not too much sticking in their own sound. Evolution is a great thing. If you don't go with it, well: ask Darwin...

Nice job!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/07/2014


 

Next reviews
ERIC ROHMER • Ma nuit chez Maud
ROGER CORMAN • The Pit And The Pendulum
NOTGHARD • Age of Pandora
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
JAKE HELGREN • Varsity Blood
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
BLACK LUNG • The Great Golden Goal
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty