tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/07/2014 : IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI - Lucid

IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI

Lucid

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothicGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Radiation records
20/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It has been a while since I could review something from them and now I get 6 tracks and jump on it from the moment I get 5 seconds!

'Deep Inside' is the first track. The electronics, the typical Gothic voice and retro electronic drums overwhelm me. At some point I taught it would stay a gothic track, but the electronic sound wins and that isn’t a bad thing! With a bit more pimping up it could even become a dance floor hit, genre 'Sparrows and Nightingales' or 'Dance floor tragedy'! If you know from who these tracks are than you really know what I'm talking about! I love the catchy sound, well worked out! 'Theatre of Rain' reminds me a bit of Deine Lakaien: the pathos and the sound. 'Waiting' is a strange mix of Gothic and electronics. It comes close to 'Love Never Dies' from Silke Bischoff. The sound is pretty catchy; I can see them on stage with this track! 'Incapable' starts with a great piano and a whispering voice, but then they decide to add some electronics and get away from what could become a great piano ballad. Still the sound stays soft and a bit mellow. The more the track evolves, the more energy got pumped into it. 'Papaverland' starts as if it's telling something in German about a dream, pretty soft but nice. It sounds a bit like a mix between The Sisters of Mercy and Clan of Xymox. The sound somehow makes me happy. My German isn’t good enough, but somehow it makes me smile and feel good! 'Deep Inside (Paralyzed Remix), well I talked about a better remix and this one is just it! I really hope a lot of DJ's will use this one, so that they can reach out and play more!

It was pretty much fun. I got a little bit back in time. A time when I was still reviewing in my mother language for a magazine that only had a paper version... Time flies and luckily these folks became stronger and better, not too much sticking in their own sound. Evolution is a great thing. If you don't go with it, well: ask Darwin...

Nice job!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/07/2014


 

Next reviews
ERIC ROHMER • Ma nuit chez Maud
ROGER CORMAN • The Pit And The Pendulum
NOTGHARD • Age of Pandora
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
JAKE HELGREN • Varsity Blood
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
BLACK LUNG • The Great Golden Goal
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

30
09
THE DEMON RIND
Lonely This Evening
29
09
ALSO
Live in Celovec
27
09
JOSH WERNER
Mode For Titan
26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
09
LOLA DUTRONIC
My Name is Lola
29
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
28
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Slow Down
27
09
A CERTAIN RATIO
Always In Love
26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath