tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS - The strange familiar EP

INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS

The strange familiar EP

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveElectroGothicMedieval

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

It’s not that much of a secret that last months Monica Richards was dealing with problems in her private life which made the future of Faith & The Muse more than insecure.
At least we can be happy that this heavenly voice decided to carry on and even more, with her Infra Warrior-project she beats harder back than we ever expected!

The new EP “The strange familiar” is a foretaste from her “Naiades”-album that will be released this autumn and judging on those five songs that are featured here, it looks like we’re dealing with one of the most beautiful things Monica has ever done.
Monica herself describes Infra Warrior as electro tribal but she also states that in the future she wants this project to become more varied. Not that much of a wonder if you see that she has guitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) and Marzia Rangel (cello) on her side which immediately represents a big part of Faith & The Muse.

On this EP we get five songs which shows Monica every time from a different side. Due to its deathrock-sound “Armistice” comes close to the highdays of Faith & The Muse.
Even if we adore the medieval beauty of “The mighty”, we very much liked the remix from “A good thing”. This track that was featured on her “Infra Warrior”-album from 2006 is featured here in some delicious futurepop-jacket.

Great record and with this in mind we’re already longing for the forthcoming autumn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Het is ondertussen al lang geen staatsgeheim meer dat afgelopen maanden Monica Richards privé-problemen heeft gekend die een dop zetten op de toekomst van Faith & The Muse.
Gelukkig heeft deze hemelse stem hier niet lang zitten kniezen en met het Infra Warrior-project slaat ze harder terug dan ooit.

Deze nieuwe EP “The strange familiar” die een voorbode is van de in de herfst te verschijnen “Naiades”-album stemt ons gerust dat we niet te treurig moeten zijn, deze EP is immers één van Monica’s mooiste werkjes geworden.
Zelf omschrijft Monica Infra Warrior als electro tribal maar ze is van plan om in de toekomst nog wat gevarieerder uit de hoek te komen. Op zich verre van een wonder als je ziet dat ze met gitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) en Marzia Rangel (cello) meteen een hele meut van de Faith & The Muse-kliek met zich heeft meegekregen.

Op deze EP krijg je vijf nummers die Monica steeds vanuit een verschillend perspectief tonen. Omwille van de deathrockgitaren doet “Armistice” je zonder twijfel aan de hoogdagen van Faith & The Muse denken.
Ook al vallen wij voor de medievalpracht van “The mighty” is het vooral de remix van “A good thing” die hier met de pluimen gaat lopen. Deze track die reeds op het “Infra Warrior”-album uit 2006 stond staat hier namelijk met een mooi futurepop-jasje te pronken.

Groots en meteen hangt de tong ons uit de bek hopend dat het weer snel herfst wordt.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha
MOBY • Destroyed

 

Other reviews from INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes