tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS - The strange familiar EP

INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS

The strange familiar EP

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveElectroGothicMedieval

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

It’s not that much of a secret that last months Monica Richards was dealing with problems in her private life which made the future of Faith & The Muse more than insecure.
At least we can be happy that this heavenly voice decided to carry on and even more, with her Infra Warrior-project she beats harder back than we ever expected!

The new EP “The strange familiar” is a foretaste from her “Naiades”-album that will be released this autumn and judging on those five songs that are featured here, it looks like we’re dealing with one of the most beautiful things Monica has ever done.
Monica herself describes Infra Warrior as electro tribal but she also states that in the future she wants this project to become more varied. Not that much of a wonder if you see that she has guitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) and Marzia Rangel (cello) on her side which immediately represents a big part of Faith & The Muse.

On this EP we get five songs which shows Monica every time from a different side. Due to its deathrock-sound “Armistice” comes close to the highdays of Faith & The Muse.
Even if we adore the medieval beauty of “The mighty”, we very much liked the remix from “A good thing”. This track that was featured on her “Infra Warrior”-album from 2006 is featured here in some delicious futurepop-jacket.

Great record and with this in mind we’re already longing for the forthcoming autumn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Het is ondertussen al lang geen staatsgeheim meer dat afgelopen maanden Monica Richards privé-problemen heeft gekend die een dop zetten op de toekomst van Faith & The Muse.
Gelukkig heeft deze hemelse stem hier niet lang zitten kniezen en met het Infra Warrior-project slaat ze harder terug dan ooit.

Deze nieuwe EP “The strange familiar” die een voorbode is van de in de herfst te verschijnen “Naiades”-album stemt ons gerust dat we niet te treurig moeten zijn, deze EP is immers één van Monica’s mooiste werkjes geworden.
Zelf omschrijft Monica Infra Warrior als electro tribal maar ze is van plan om in de toekomst nog wat gevarieerder uit de hoek te komen. Op zich verre van een wonder als je ziet dat ze met gitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) en Marzia Rangel (cello) meteen een hele meut van de Faith & The Muse-kliek met zich heeft meegekregen.

Op deze EP krijg je vijf nummers die Monica steeds vanuit een verschillend perspectief tonen. Omwille van de deathrockgitaren doet “Armistice” je zonder twijfel aan de hoogdagen van Faith & The Muse denken.
Ook al vallen wij voor de medievalpracht van “The mighty” is het vooral de remix van “A good thing” die hier met de pluimen gaat lopen. Deze track die reeds op het “Infra Warrior”-album uit 2006 stond staat hier namelijk met een mooi futurepop-jasje te pronken.

Groots en meteen hangt de tong ons uit de bek hopend dat het weer snel herfst wordt.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha
MOBY • Destroyed

 

Other reviews from INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer