tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS - The strange familiar EP

INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS

The strange familiar EP

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveElectroGothicMedieval

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

It’s not that much of a secret that last months Monica Richards was dealing with problems in her private life which made the future of Faith & The Muse more than insecure.
At least we can be happy that this heavenly voice decided to carry on and even more, with her Infra Warrior-project she beats harder back than we ever expected!

The new EP “The strange familiar” is a foretaste from her “Naiades”-album that will be released this autumn and judging on those five songs that are featured here, it looks like we’re dealing with one of the most beautiful things Monica has ever done.
Monica herself describes Infra Warrior as electro tribal but she also states that in the future she wants this project to become more varied. Not that much of a wonder if you see that she has guitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) and Marzia Rangel (cello) on her side which immediately represents a big part of Faith & The Muse.

On this EP we get five songs which shows Monica every time from a different side. Due to its deathrock-sound “Armistice” comes close to the highdays of Faith & The Muse.
Even if we adore the medieval beauty of “The mighty”, we very much liked the remix from “A good thing”. This track that was featured on her “Infra Warrior”-album from 2006 is featured here in some delicious futurepop-jacket.

Great record and with this in mind we’re already longing for the forthcoming autumn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Het is ondertussen al lang geen staatsgeheim meer dat afgelopen maanden Monica Richards privé-problemen heeft gekend die een dop zetten op de toekomst van Faith & The Muse.
Gelukkig heeft deze hemelse stem hier niet lang zitten kniezen en met het Infra Warrior-project slaat ze harder terug dan ooit.

Deze nieuwe EP “The strange familiar” die een voorbode is van de in de herfst te verschijnen “Naiades”-album stemt ons gerust dat we niet te treurig moeten zijn, deze EP is immers één van Monica’s mooiste werkjes geworden.
Zelf omschrijft Monica Infra Warrior als electro tribal maar ze is van plan om in de toekomst nog wat gevarieerder uit de hoek te komen. Op zich verre van een wonder als je ziet dat ze met gitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) en Marzia Rangel (cello) meteen een hele meut van de Faith & The Muse-kliek met zich heeft meegekregen.

Op deze EP krijg je vijf nummers die Monica steeds vanuit een verschillend perspectief tonen. Omwille van de deathrockgitaren doet “Armistice” je zonder twijfel aan de hoogdagen van Faith & The Muse denken.
Ook al vallen wij voor de medievalpracht van “The mighty” is het vooral de remix van “A good thing” die hier met de pluimen gaat lopen. Deze track die reeds op het “Infra Warrior”-album uit 2006 stond staat hier namelijk met een mooi futurepop-jasje te pronken.

Groots en meteen hangt de tong ons uit de bek hopend dat het weer snel herfst wordt.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha
MOBY • Destroyed

 

Other reviews from INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)