tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS - The strange familiar EP

INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS

The strange familiar EP

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveElectroGothicMedieval

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

It’s not that much of a secret that last months Monica Richards was dealing with problems in her private life which made the future of Faith & The Muse more than insecure.
At least we can be happy that this heavenly voice decided to carry on and even more, with her Infra Warrior-project she beats harder back than we ever expected!

The new EP “The strange familiar” is a foretaste from her “Naiades”-album that will be released this autumn and judging on those five songs that are featured here, it looks like we’re dealing with one of the most beautiful things Monica has ever done.
Monica herself describes Infra Warrior as electro tribal but she also states that in the future she wants this project to become more varied. Not that much of a wonder if you see that she has guitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) and Marzia Rangel (cello) on her side which immediately represents a big part of Faith & The Muse.

On this EP we get five songs which shows Monica every time from a different side. Due to its deathrock-sound “Armistice” comes close to the highdays of Faith & The Muse.
Even if we adore the medieval beauty of “The mighty”, we very much liked the remix from “A good thing”. This track that was featured on her “Infra Warrior”-album from 2006 is featured here in some delicious futurepop-jacket.

Great record and with this in mind we’re already longing for the forthcoming autumn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Het is ondertussen al lang geen staatsgeheim meer dat afgelopen maanden Monica Richards privé-problemen heeft gekend die een dop zetten op de toekomst van Faith & The Muse.
Gelukkig heeft deze hemelse stem hier niet lang zitten kniezen en met het Infra Warrior-project slaat ze harder terug dan ooit.

Deze nieuwe EP “The strange familiar” die een voorbode is van de in de herfst te verschijnen “Naiades”-album stemt ons gerust dat we niet te treurig moeten zijn, deze EP is immers één van Monica’s mooiste werkjes geworden.
Zelf omschrijft Monica Infra Warrior als electro tribal maar ze is van plan om in de toekomst nog wat gevarieerder uit de hoek te komen. Op zich verre van een wonder als je ziet dat ze met gitarist Steven James (Christ vs. Warhol) en Marzia Rangel (cello) meteen een hele meut van de Faith & The Muse-kliek met zich heeft meegekregen.

Op deze EP krijg je vijf nummers die Monica steeds vanuit een verschillend perspectief tonen. Omwille van de deathrockgitaren doet “Armistice” je zonder twijfel aan de hoogdagen van Faith & The Muse denken.
Ook al vallen wij voor de medievalpracht van “The mighty” is het vooral de remix van “A good thing” die hier met de pluimen gaat lopen. Deze track die reeds op het “Infra Warrior”-album uit 2006 stond staat hier namelijk met een mooi futurepop-jasje te pronken.

Groots en meteen hangt de tong ons uit de bek hopend dat het weer snel herfst wordt.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha
MOBY • Destroyed

 

Other reviews from INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You