tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/02/2013 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - The Goat

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

The Goat

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Resurrection Records
04/02/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

If there is one Pagan Gothic Rock band that will always survive and make music then it will be for sure Inkubus Sukkubus. I lost the count, but somebody told me that this is probably their 14th album! On another note: I just did 6 interviews for Trolls et Légendes (a huge indoor festival) and it's clear that they have never played there, however they would fit in this perfectly! But you'll get the same weekend the chance to catch them in a small club (and I know that they are at best in some small and intimate place) in Belgium: 30 march 2013 at Café Bizarre in Dentergem.

'The Goat' is the first song on this one and directly a major hit! Love the chant during the chorus, just like the guitar! A nice ritual chant that sounds really rocking! We are already bewitched! 'Sweet Fallen angel' is as sweet as Candia can sing and shows off how fragile her voice can be. This is one of the songs (together with the acoustic 'Pagan Born' & 'Forever') that will stay in my head because of the magic of her voice!

I would love to see them play an accoustic set, for sure after these songs! 'Gone' has a tragic sound and grasps you by the throat. 'Two penny whore' & 'Rites of Pan', 'Fire & Ice' are a good stage rockers and I can see them performing it live with a lot of passion and the crowd going wild for it!

'Melancholy blue' is the last song and gave me an 80's impression, even with a touch of The Bangles. I'm leaving it up to you if I'm wrong on that. I also feel some X-mass blues in it. But then there is this rocking twist in the end that changes the direction of the song completely, which is so surprising and aslo lyrically it goes more about a falling angel falling from the sky!

In the end this album has a lot of variation and passion, one of the best albums of Inkubus Sukkubus!

More than worthwhile mentionning is the nice album artwork! I hope to hear more about it during the interview. that soon will be published on these pages..

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/02/2013


 

Next reviews
JOSH WHITEMAN • Shadowplay, The Making of Anton Corbijn
MS30 • T.I.A.
E-CRAFT • The roots
STEPHEN MILBURN ANDERSON • Cash
AN PIERLE • Strange days
MODULATE • Robots EP
QUENTIN DUPIEUX • Wrong
IEN OBLIQUE • Drowning world
NIVEAU ZERO • Jasmine
SAFY NEBBOU • Comme Un Homme

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 30/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Saltatio Mortis, Daemonia Nymphe, Folk Noir & Asynje

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation