tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/02/2013 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - The Goat

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

The Goat

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Resurrection Records
04/02/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

If there is one Pagan Gothic Rock band that will always survive and make music then it will be for sure Inkubus Sukkubus. I lost the count, but somebody told me that this is probably their 14th album! On another note: I just did 6 interviews for Trolls et Légendes (a huge indoor festival) and it's clear that they have never played there, however they would fit in this perfectly! But you'll get the same weekend the chance to catch them in a small club (and I know that they are at best in some small and intimate place) in Belgium: 30 march 2013 at Café Bizarre in Dentergem.

'The Goat' is the first song on this one and directly a major hit! Love the chant during the chorus, just like the guitar! A nice ritual chant that sounds really rocking! We are already bewitched! 'Sweet Fallen angel' is as sweet as Candia can sing and shows off how fragile her voice can be. This is one of the songs (together with the acoustic 'Pagan Born' & 'Forever') that will stay in my head because of the magic of her voice!

I would love to see them play an accoustic set, for sure after these songs! 'Gone' has a tragic sound and grasps you by the throat. 'Two penny whore' & 'Rites of Pan', 'Fire & Ice' are a good stage rockers and I can see them performing it live with a lot of passion and the crowd going wild for it!

'Melancholy blue' is the last song and gave me an 80's impression, even with a touch of The Bangles. I'm leaving it up to you if I'm wrong on that. I also feel some X-mass blues in it. But then there is this rocking twist in the end that changes the direction of the song completely, which is so surprising and aslo lyrically it goes more about a falling angel falling from the sky!

In the end this album has a lot of variation and passion, one of the best albums of Inkubus Sukkubus!

More than worthwhile mentionning is the nice album artwork! I hope to hear more about it during the interview. that soon will be published on these pages..

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/02/2013


 

Next reviews
JOSH WHITEMAN • Shadowplay, The Making of Anton Corbijn
MS30 • T.I.A.
E-CRAFT • The roots
STEPHEN MILBURN ANDERSON • Cash
AN PIERLE • Strange days
MODULATE • Robots EP
QUENTIN DUPIEUX • Wrong
IEN OBLIQUE • Drowning world
NIVEAU ZERO • Jasmine
SAFY NEBBOU • Comme Un Homme

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 30/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Saltatio Mortis, Daemonia Nymphe, Folk Noir & Asynje

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16