tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : IOKOI - Liquefy

IOKOI

Liquefy

MusicCD
ElectronicsTrip Hop

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some releases you better play without asking questions. Not many people know IOKOI. Logic as you won’t find a lot of information about this Swiss electronics artist.

In 2012 she wrote a soundtrack for the movies of fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto and she was on tour in China for four weeks. This composer has something with movies, she wrote live soundtracks for obscure science fiction movies of the 20s-30s and she worked with the Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is her first CD, packaged as a DVD edition, but the ten tracks have a warm synthetic beauty. Each of the ten tracks is based on trip hop, 80s synth music or brilliant bands like Autechre.

We live in a virtual time in which the smartphone is considered more important than the warmth of the person next to you. Bit by bit we become the characters of science fiction stories we always feared: human robots without feelings. Liquefy is therefore the ideal soundtrack for today’s life: icy synth sounds, but the voice of IOKOI reminds us of the warmth of the body.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sommige releases moet je gewoon in de lader schuiven zonder dat je er al te veel vragen bij stelt. Niet veel mensen zullen weten wie IOKOI is. Dat is normaal, zeer veel informatie vind je immers over deze Zwitserse elektronica-artieste niet.

In 2012 schreef ze een soundtrack voor de reportages van mode-ontwerper Yohji Yamamoto en ze was gedurende vier weken op tour in China. Deze componiste heeft wel iets met films, zo schreef ze bijv. livesoundtracks voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 20-30 en werkte ze samen met de Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is haar eerste cd, een beetje onhandig verpakt als een dvd-uitgave, maar de tien tracks getuigen van warme synthetische schoonheid. Stuk voor stuk grijpen de tien tracks terug naar trip hop, 80s-synthmuziek of geniale bands als Autechre.

We leven in een virtuele tijd waarin de smartphone wel eens belangrijker wordt geacht dan de warmte van de persoon naast je. Beetje bij beetje worden we de personages uit sciencefictionverhalen: menselijke robots zonder gevoelens. Liquefy is dan ook de ideale soundtrack voor het leven van vandaag: ijskoude synthklanken, maar de stem van IOKOI herinnert ons aan de warmte van het lichaam.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue