tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : IOKOI - Liquefy

IOKOI

Liquefy

MusicCD
ElectronicsTrip Hop

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some releases you better play without asking questions. Not many people know IOKOI. Logic as you won’t find a lot of information about this Swiss electronics artist.

In 2012 she wrote a soundtrack for the movies of fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto and she was on tour in China for four weeks. This composer has something with movies, she wrote live soundtracks for obscure science fiction movies of the 20s-30s and she worked with the Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is her first CD, packaged as a DVD edition, but the ten tracks have a warm synthetic beauty. Each of the ten tracks is based on trip hop, 80s synth music or brilliant bands like Autechre.

We live in a virtual time in which the smartphone is considered more important than the warmth of the person next to you. Bit by bit we become the characters of science fiction stories we always feared: human robots without feelings. Liquefy is therefore the ideal soundtrack for today’s life: icy synth sounds, but the voice of IOKOI reminds us of the warmth of the body.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sommige releases moet je gewoon in de lader schuiven zonder dat je er al te veel vragen bij stelt. Niet veel mensen zullen weten wie IOKOI is. Dat is normaal, zeer veel informatie vind je immers over deze Zwitserse elektronica-artieste niet.

In 2012 schreef ze een soundtrack voor de reportages van mode-ontwerper Yohji Yamamoto en ze was gedurende vier weken op tour in China. Deze componiste heeft wel iets met films, zo schreef ze bijv. livesoundtracks voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 20-30 en werkte ze samen met de Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is haar eerste cd, een beetje onhandig verpakt als een dvd-uitgave, maar de tien tracks getuigen van warme synthetische schoonheid. Stuk voor stuk grijpen de tien tracks terug naar trip hop, 80s-synthmuziek of geniale bands als Autechre.

We leven in een virtuele tijd waarin de smartphone wel eens belangrijker wordt geacht dan de warmte van de persoon naast je. Beetje bij beetje worden we de personages uit sciencefictionverhalen: menselijke robots zonder gevoelens. Liquefy is dan ook de ideale soundtrack voor het leven van vandaag: ijskoude synthklanken, maar de stem van IOKOI herinnert ons aan de warmte van het lichaam.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR