tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : IOKOI - Liquefy

IOKOI

Liquefy

MusicCD
ElectronicsTrip Hop

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some releases you better play without asking questions. Not many people know IOKOI. Logic as you won’t find a lot of information about this Swiss electronics artist.

In 2012 she wrote a soundtrack for the movies of fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto and she was on tour in China for four weeks. This composer has something with movies, she wrote live soundtracks for obscure science fiction movies of the 20s-30s and she worked with the Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is her first CD, packaged as a DVD edition, but the ten tracks have a warm synthetic beauty. Each of the ten tracks is based on trip hop, 80s synth music or brilliant bands like Autechre.

We live in a virtual time in which the smartphone is considered more important than the warmth of the person next to you. Bit by bit we become the characters of science fiction stories we always feared: human robots without feelings. Liquefy is therefore the ideal soundtrack for today’s life: icy synth sounds, but the voice of IOKOI reminds us of the warmth of the body.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sommige releases moet je gewoon in de lader schuiven zonder dat je er al te veel vragen bij stelt. Niet veel mensen zullen weten wie IOKOI is. Dat is normaal, zeer veel informatie vind je immers over deze Zwitserse elektronica-artieste niet.

In 2012 schreef ze een soundtrack voor de reportages van mode-ontwerper Yohji Yamamoto en ze was gedurende vier weken op tour in China. Deze componiste heeft wel iets met films, zo schreef ze bijv. livesoundtracks voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 20-30 en werkte ze samen met de Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is haar eerste cd, een beetje onhandig verpakt als een dvd-uitgave, maar de tien tracks getuigen van warme synthetische schoonheid. Stuk voor stuk grijpen de tien tracks terug naar trip hop, 80s-synthmuziek of geniale bands als Autechre.

We leven in een virtuele tijd waarin de smartphone wel eens belangrijker wordt geacht dan de warmte van de persoon naast je. Beetje bij beetje worden we de personages uit sciencefictionverhalen: menselijke robots zonder gevoelens. Liquefy is dan ook de ideale soundtrack voor het leven van vandaag: ijskoude synthklanken, maar de stem van IOKOI herinnert ons aan de warmte van het lichaam.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real