tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : IOKOI - Liquefy

IOKOI

Liquefy

MusicCD
ElectronicsTrip Hop

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some releases you better play without asking questions. Not many people know IOKOI. Logic as you won’t find a lot of information about this Swiss electronics artist.

In 2012 she wrote a soundtrack for the movies of fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto and she was on tour in China for four weeks. This composer has something with movies, she wrote live soundtracks for obscure science fiction movies of the 20s-30s and she worked with the Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is her first CD, packaged as a DVD edition, but the ten tracks have a warm synthetic beauty. Each of the ten tracks is based on trip hop, 80s synth music or brilliant bands like Autechre.

We live in a virtual time in which the smartphone is considered more important than the warmth of the person next to you. Bit by bit we become the characters of science fiction stories we always feared: human robots without feelings. Liquefy is therefore the ideal soundtrack for today’s life: icy synth sounds, but the voice of IOKOI reminds us of the warmth of the body.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sommige releases moet je gewoon in de lader schuiven zonder dat je er al te veel vragen bij stelt. Niet veel mensen zullen weten wie IOKOI is. Dat is normaal, zeer veel informatie vind je immers over deze Zwitserse elektronica-artieste niet.

In 2012 schreef ze een soundtrack voor de reportages van mode-ontwerper Yohji Yamamoto en ze was gedurende vier weken op tour in China. Deze componiste heeft wel iets met films, zo schreef ze bijv. livesoundtracks voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 20-30 en werkte ze samen met de Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is haar eerste cd, een beetje onhandig verpakt als een dvd-uitgave, maar de tien tracks getuigen van warme synthetische schoonheid. Stuk voor stuk grijpen de tien tracks terug naar trip hop, 80s-synthmuziek of geniale bands als Autechre.

We leven in een virtuele tijd waarin de smartphone wel eens belangrijker wordt geacht dan de warmte van de persoon naast je. Beetje bij beetje worden we de personages uit sciencefictionverhalen: menselijke robots zonder gevoelens. Liquefy is dan ook de ideale soundtrack voor het leven van vandaag: ijskoude synthklanken, maar de stem van IOKOI herinnert ons aan de warmte van het lichaam.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo