tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : IOKOI - Liquefy

IOKOI

Liquefy

MusicCD
ElectronicsTrip Hop

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some releases you better play without asking questions. Not many people know IOKOI. Logic as you won’t find a lot of information about this Swiss electronics artist.

In 2012 she wrote a soundtrack for the movies of fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto and she was on tour in China for four weeks. This composer has something with movies, she wrote live soundtracks for obscure science fiction movies of the 20s-30s and she worked with the Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is her first CD, packaged as a DVD edition, but the ten tracks have a warm synthetic beauty. Each of the ten tracks is based on trip hop, 80s synth music or brilliant bands like Autechre.

We live in a virtual time in which the smartphone is considered more important than the warmth of the person next to you. Bit by bit we become the characters of science fiction stories we always feared: human robots without feelings. Liquefy is therefore the ideal soundtrack for today’s life: icy synth sounds, but the voice of IOKOI reminds us of the warmth of the body.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sommige releases moet je gewoon in de lader schuiven zonder dat je er al te veel vragen bij stelt. Niet veel mensen zullen weten wie IOKOI is. Dat is normaal, zeer veel informatie vind je immers over deze Zwitserse elektronica-artieste niet.

In 2012 schreef ze een soundtrack voor de reportages van mode-ontwerper Yohji Yamamoto en ze was gedurende vier weken op tour in China. Deze componiste heeft wel iets met films, zo schreef ze bijv. livesoundtracks voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 20-30 en werkte ze samen met de Swiss Institute of Incoherent Cinematography.

Liquefy is haar eerste cd, een beetje onhandig verpakt als een dvd-uitgave, maar de tien tracks getuigen van warme synthetische schoonheid. Stuk voor stuk grijpen de tien tracks terug naar trip hop, 80s-synthmuziek of geniale bands als Autechre.

We leven in een virtuele tijd waarin de smartphone wel eens belangrijker wordt geacht dan de warmte van de persoon naast je. Beetje bij beetje worden we de personages uit sciencefictionverhalen: menselijke robots zonder gevoelens. Liquefy is dan ook de ideale soundtrack voor het leven van vandaag: ijskoude synthklanken, maar de stem van IOKOI herinnert ons aan de warmte van het lichaam.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets