tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/10/2015 : IRMLER & FM EINHEIT - Bestandteil

IRMLER & FM EINHEIT

Bestandteil

MusicCD
Experimental

[70/100]   

Klangbad
20/10/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Three years in the making and recorded at Faust's studio complex, Bestandteil literally means component or ingredient. It's as apt a title as you could wish to summon up for these two archly experimental musicians - FM Einheit is no stranger to complex rhythmic extremities in music and Hans-Joachim Irmler doesn't exactly have a reputation as the sort of keyboard manipulator that would release Non-Stop Party Anthems anytime soon.

We're immediately plunged into portentous territory when Reset temporarily drones into earshot, before the curiously engaging and hypnotic Brooks takes you on a journey through what sounds like a volcanic landscape just prior to an eruption. Intermittent brushwork ushers in eerie organ stabs, finger-bells, percussion and a rumbling bassy back-drop that threatens to erupt at any moment. Great start.

Irmler and Einheit spend much of the album building layer upon layer of geodesic sounds that bounce around and rumble stormily around an axis constructed from found sounds and dizzying computerised aural crossfire. Streetlife is a case in point and I defy you not to be slightly unnerved by its hostility.

Much of the album is the same until the really beautiful centrepiece The Taking appears. But just as the ethereal voices coax you in, replete with a string-driven coda from the heavens, the track hits an uneven surface and skitters around before some passive-aggressive drums drive the whole thing off a cliff. It's like William Burroughs and Christian Marclay meeting Fennesz on a quad-bike. Before the drugs kick in.

There is little to differentiate between most of the tracks on Bestandteil but it doesn't matter - the whole experience should be consumed in one large dose.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/10/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real