tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/10/2015 : IRMLER & FM EINHEIT - Bestandteil

IRMLER & FM EINHEIT

Bestandteil

MusicCD
Experimental

[70/100]   

Klangbad
20/10/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Three years in the making and recorded at Faust's studio complex, Bestandteil literally means component or ingredient. It's as apt a title as you could wish to summon up for these two archly experimental musicians - FM Einheit is no stranger to complex rhythmic extremities in music and Hans-Joachim Irmler doesn't exactly have a reputation as the sort of keyboard manipulator that would release Non-Stop Party Anthems anytime soon.

We're immediately plunged into portentous territory when Reset temporarily drones into earshot, before the curiously engaging and hypnotic Brooks takes you on a journey through what sounds like a volcanic landscape just prior to an eruption. Intermittent brushwork ushers in eerie organ stabs, finger-bells, percussion and a rumbling bassy back-drop that threatens to erupt at any moment. Great start.

Irmler and Einheit spend much of the album building layer upon layer of geodesic sounds that bounce around and rumble stormily around an axis constructed from found sounds and dizzying computerised aural crossfire. Streetlife is a case in point and I defy you not to be slightly unnerved by its hostility.

Much of the album is the same until the really beautiful centrepiece The Taking appears. But just as the ethereal voices coax you in, replete with a string-driven coda from the heavens, the track hits an uneven surface and skitters around before some passive-aggressive drums drive the whole thing off a cliff. It's like William Burroughs and Christian Marclay meeting Fennesz on a quad-bike. Before the drugs kick in.

There is little to differentiate between most of the tracks on Bestandteil but it doesn't matter - the whole experience should be consumed in one large dose.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/10/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked