tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence

IRRADIANCE

Dissidence

MusicCD
MetalOrchestralProg

[88/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Mixing classical sounds with metal is nothing new. When a female singer can handle higher levels, then bands like Within Temptation, Illuminata or Symphony X automatically are a reference. So, it is important to stand out. That's what Irradiance does. At first hearing, it sounds like symphonic metal, but the classical influences are diverse and subtle. It also is a kind of concept album, as the CD tells a story that is set during the war years.

Audrey sings at times very high, as in The Soldier And The Child. Technically, there’s nothing to complain about, but I rather prefer the moments when she sings in an lower key. Sometimes the classic approach makes it sound like a metal opera. For example, Theorists of the Void, in which Audrey's voice alternates with a classical male voice. A nice combination with also a great guitar solo. Another Day To Rebuild is cinematic, beautifully and sensitively sung and with an excellent choir. You even hear a big band and later a jazzy sound. Magnificent. A strong song. Forget-Me-Nots also starts with a jazzy piece of music. Until The Last One is progressive/symphonic metal. All My Days is a fragile song with a delicate piano and horns. Her Cold Decision contains a strong and catchy melody.

An excellent album with a good production. Everything sounds perfect. The musical sidesteps make it an adventurous trip. Okay, probably not every metal fan will appreciate the jazzy interludes. But it makes Irradiance unique. And above all, it is well made. So I can only recommend this album to prog metal fans.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Klassiek met metal mengen is niet nieuw. Als men ook een zangeres heeft die de hoge tonen aankan, dan komt men al gauw terecht bij bands als Within Temptations, Illuminata of Symphony X. Het komt er dus op aan om origineel uit de hoek te komen indien je wil opvallen. Dat is wat Irradiance doet. Op het eerste gehoor klinkt het als symfonische metal, maar de klassieke invloeden zijn op subtiele wijze in sommige passages aanwezig. Je kan het ook als een soort conceptplaat zien omdat het album een verhaal vertelt dat zich tijdens de oorlogsjaren afspeelt.

Audrey zingt bij momenten heel hoog zoals in The Soldier And The Child. Technisch niets op aan te merken, maar ik hoor haar persoonlijk liever als ze een octaaf lager zingt. Soms wordt er iets lager en op een klassieke manier gezongen waardoor het soms als een metalopera klinkt. Bijv. Theorists of the Void, waarin Audreys hoge stem wordt afgewisseld met een klassiek zingende mannenstem. Een mooie combinatie met tevens een vette gitaarsolo tussenin. Another Day to Rebuild is filmisch, mooi en gevoelig gezongen en met een uitstekende koorzang. Het tussenstuk begint als een bigband en wordt dan jazzy. Daarna trekt ze met haar stem de song weer op gang. Magnifiek gedaan. Een sterke song. Ook Forget-Me-Nots begint met jazzachtige muziek. Until The Last One is knappe progressieve/symfonische metal. All My Days is een breekbare song met een gevoelig piano en blazers. Her Cold Decision bevat een sterke en catchy melodielijn.

Een geslaagd album met een goede productie. Alles klinkt uitmuntend. De muzikale zijstapjes die men tijdens de songs maakt, vind ik zeer geslaagd, vooral omdat de verhaallijn erdoor worden versterkt. OK, waarschijnlijk zal niet iedere metalfan deze jazzy intermezzo's appreciëren. Doch dat maakt dit project uniek en geeft het een eigen gezicht. En bovenal is het allemaal goed gemaakt. Dus kan ik de plaat alleen maar sterk aanbevelen bij progmetalliefhebbers .

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence 08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent