tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence

IRRADIANCE

Dissidence

MusicCD
MetalOrchestralProg

[88/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Mixing classical sounds with metal is nothing new. When a female singer can handle higher levels, then bands like Within Temptation, Illuminata or Symphony X automatically are a reference. So, it is important to stand out. That's what Irradiance does. At first hearing, it sounds like symphonic metal, but the classical influences are diverse and subtle. It also is a kind of concept album, as the CD tells a story that is set during the war years.

Audrey sings at times very high, as in The Soldier And The Child. Technically, there’s nothing to complain about, but I rather prefer the moments when she sings in an lower key. Sometimes the classic approach makes it sound like a metal opera. For example, Theorists of the Void, in which Audrey's voice alternates with a classical male voice. A nice combination with also a great guitar solo. Another Day To Rebuild is cinematic, beautifully and sensitively sung and with an excellent choir. You even hear a big band and later a jazzy sound. Magnificent. A strong song. Forget-Me-Nots also starts with a jazzy piece of music. Until The Last One is progressive/symphonic metal. All My Days is a fragile song with a delicate piano and horns. Her Cold Decision contains a strong and catchy melody.

An excellent album with a good production. Everything sounds perfect. The musical sidesteps make it an adventurous trip. Okay, probably not every metal fan will appreciate the jazzy interludes. But it makes Irradiance unique. And above all, it is well made. So I can only recommend this album to prog metal fans.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Klassiek met metal mengen is niet nieuw. Als men ook een zangeres heeft die de hoge tonen aankan, dan komt men al gauw terecht bij bands als Within Temptations, Illuminata of Symphony X. Het komt er dus op aan om origineel uit de hoek te komen indien je wil opvallen. Dat is wat Irradiance doet. Op het eerste gehoor klinkt het als symfonische metal, maar de klassieke invloeden zijn op subtiele wijze in sommige passages aanwezig. Je kan het ook als een soort conceptplaat zien omdat het album een verhaal vertelt dat zich tijdens de oorlogsjaren afspeelt.

Audrey zingt bij momenten heel hoog zoals in The Soldier And The Child. Technisch niets op aan te merken, maar ik hoor haar persoonlijk liever als ze een octaaf lager zingt. Soms wordt er iets lager en op een klassieke manier gezongen waardoor het soms als een metalopera klinkt. Bijv. Theorists of the Void, waarin Audreys hoge stem wordt afgewisseld met een klassiek zingende mannenstem. Een mooie combinatie met tevens een vette gitaarsolo tussenin. Another Day to Rebuild is filmisch, mooi en gevoelig gezongen en met een uitstekende koorzang. Het tussenstuk begint als een bigband en wordt dan jazzy. Daarna trekt ze met haar stem de song weer op gang. Magnifiek gedaan. Een sterke song. Ook Forget-Me-Nots begint met jazzachtige muziek. Until The Last One is knappe progressieve/symfonische metal. All My Days is een breekbare song met een gevoelig piano en blazers. Her Cold Decision bevat een sterke en catchy melodielijn.

Een geslaagd album met een goede productie. Alles klinkt uitmuntend. De muzikale zijstapjes die men tijdens de songs maakt, vind ik zeer geslaagd, vooral omdat de verhaallijn erdoor worden versterkt. OK, waarschijnlijk zal niet iedere metalfan deze jazzy intermezzo's appreciëren. Doch dat maakt dit project uniek en geeft het een eigen gezicht. En bovenal is het allemaal goed gemaakt. Dus kan ik de plaat alleen maar sterk aanbevelen bij progmetalliefhebbers .

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence 08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid