tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence

IRRADIANCE

Dissidence

MusicCD
MetalOrchestralProg

[88/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Mixing classical sounds with metal is nothing new. When a female singer can handle higher levels, then bands like Within Temptation, Illuminata or Symphony X automatically are a reference. So, it is important to stand out. That's what Irradiance does. At first hearing, it sounds like symphonic metal, but the classical influences are diverse and subtle. It also is a kind of concept album, as the CD tells a story that is set during the war years.

Audrey sings at times very high, as in The Soldier And The Child. Technically, there’s nothing to complain about, but I rather prefer the moments when she sings in an lower key. Sometimes the classic approach makes it sound like a metal opera. For example, Theorists of the Void, in which Audrey's voice alternates with a classical male voice. A nice combination with also a great guitar solo. Another Day To Rebuild is cinematic, beautifully and sensitively sung and with an excellent choir. You even hear a big band and later a jazzy sound. Magnificent. A strong song. Forget-Me-Nots also starts with a jazzy piece of music. Until The Last One is progressive/symphonic metal. All My Days is a fragile song with a delicate piano and horns. Her Cold Decision contains a strong and catchy melody.

An excellent album with a good production. Everything sounds perfect. The musical sidesteps make it an adventurous trip. Okay, probably not every metal fan will appreciate the jazzy interludes. But it makes Irradiance unique. And above all, it is well made. So I can only recommend this album to prog metal fans.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Klassiek met metal mengen is niet nieuw. Als men ook een zangeres heeft die de hoge tonen aankan, dan komt men al gauw terecht bij bands als Within Temptations, Illuminata of Symphony X. Het komt er dus op aan om origineel uit de hoek te komen indien je wil opvallen. Dat is wat Irradiance doet. Op het eerste gehoor klinkt het als symfonische metal, maar de klassieke invloeden zijn op subtiele wijze in sommige passages aanwezig. Je kan het ook als een soort conceptplaat zien omdat het album een verhaal vertelt dat zich tijdens de oorlogsjaren afspeelt.

Audrey zingt bij momenten heel hoog zoals in The Soldier And The Child. Technisch niets op aan te merken, maar ik hoor haar persoonlijk liever als ze een octaaf lager zingt. Soms wordt er iets lager en op een klassieke manier gezongen waardoor het soms als een metalopera klinkt. Bijv. Theorists of the Void, waarin Audreys hoge stem wordt afgewisseld met een klassiek zingende mannenstem. Een mooie combinatie met tevens een vette gitaarsolo tussenin. Another Day to Rebuild is filmisch, mooi en gevoelig gezongen en met een uitstekende koorzang. Het tussenstuk begint als een bigband en wordt dan jazzy. Daarna trekt ze met haar stem de song weer op gang. Magnifiek gedaan. Een sterke song. Ook Forget-Me-Nots begint met jazzachtige muziek. Until The Last One is knappe progressieve/symfonische metal. All My Days is een breekbare song met een gevoelig piano en blazers. Her Cold Decision bevat een sterke en catchy melodielijn.

Een geslaagd album met een goede productie. Alles klinkt uitmuntend. De muzikale zijstapjes die men tijdens de songs maakt, vind ik zeer geslaagd, vooral omdat de verhaallijn erdoor worden versterkt. OK, waarschijnlijk zal niet iedere metalfan deze jazzy intermezzo's appreciëren. Doch dat maakt dit project uniek en geeft het een eigen gezicht. En bovenal is het allemaal goed gemaakt. Dus kan ik de plaat alleen maar sterk aanbevelen bij progmetalliefhebbers .

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence 08/12/2016 : IRRADIANCE - Dissidence

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown